We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great out of town location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,116 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,387 helpful votes
“Great out of town location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

As a Gold member, I stay at many Marriott hotels and this one maintains the very high Marriott brand standards. Out of town but within walking distance of an excellent Indian and a Vintage Inn. There is a bus stop immediatly outside the hotel if you want to go into the City Centre or taxis are available. Great environment in the public areas and quite a few congerations of bedroom and location within the hotel.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the newer built section slightly bigger than those in old house building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    340
    156
    64
    47
See reviews for
223
348
32
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for three nights, with our last night being on New Year's Eve. We generally found everything satisfactory overall. The building itself is beautiful and there is ample free parking available. However, on arrival, we noted that the front windows (looking out from the dining room) were dirty, with children's handmarks on practically every window, and the general appearance of the front entrance was untidy and not particularly welcoming, which does not give a good first impression. However, our room was large and clean and had all the usual benefits of excellent bed linen, bathroom products etc which were of the usual high standard, which you expect from Marriott. Our bedroom was not hoovered the whole time we were there, which I feel should be addressed. The noise from the corridors outside our room on New Year's Eve was horrendous, with unsupervised children running up and down from 11 pm to well past 1.45 am. We expected some noise of course, being New Year's Eve, but would have expected hotel management to moniter noise levels in the public areas, especially after midnight. We did report this to reception, but no action appeared to be taken. Breakfast at this hotel is excellent. Plenty to choose from, great variety and the hot breakfast is fresh and tasty. Breakfast service was efficient and friendly and the breakfast staff were excellent. Unfortunately, the carpets in the breakfast restaurant had not been hoovered and still had signs of the party from the night before, which was a shame. All in all, a nice stay, comfortable room, excellent breakfast but housekeeping should be addressed, for the reasons above.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

All good at this hotel, Nice pool, decent restaurant menu, nice clean rooms, everything worked etc etc.

However still resent being charged for wi-fi in room (1 hour free in public areas). Rip-off.

On the whole, recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

The reception staff were very friendly, but God only knows how they can work in the reception with that air freshner, it nearly knocks you out. Needs dropping down a tone.
I had 4 kids with me, got interconnecting rooms, rooms really clean. Small but clean and comfy, no complaints.
Pool is a bit awkward, i think the gym members use it and they dont seem to want to have other people in it. OK i have 4 kids, but i have paid a lot of money and if we want to use the pool i think we should be able to without feeling guilty. Incidently my little girls clothes got stolen from the changing rooms as she forgot to put them in a locker, this wasnt nice but not hotels fault.
Evening meal, the waitress was really really nice and was by far the friendliest face there. Nice to have someone like that in a hotel.
Wife also had spa treatment and said it was really professional.
It is a nice stay but it feels a little souless, Breakfast really nice, plenty to choose from unless your veggie.
All in all nice, not cheap but clean. Just needs a bit more character and loose the air freshner in reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinlong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

This was our third or fourth visit. We tend to stay here for Room and breakfast only whilst visiting relatives nearby. As usual our stay was great with a fuss made of our little boy with a letter from Santa etc.
My only gripe was trays of leftover food and drink were left on the floor outside rooms for at least 12 hours on Christmas Day.
The large coach parties did not bother us as we were not using the common areas such as the bar or restaurant

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveholidays961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel - between Christmas and the 1st January. The stay was ok overall (despite the heavily scented reception... made us feel queasy every time we walked in), but we were gobsmacked when on our last night (which happened to be New Year's Eve) we were told we couldn't sit at the bar for a drink because they were holding a NYE event there. They had set aside 2 tables for hotel guests (which were full!), and if we wanted bar food, we had to go and order room service! NOT impressed at all!
We asked to speak to the Duty Manager, and he handled the situation terribly. He said we were lucky - someone had cancelled and he would let us have a table, but he was grumpy and left a nasty taste in our mouths. We had one drink and went to our room (not great with an 11 month old) - we were hungry!
Why didn't they mention that the facilities would be limited on NYE? This should have been mentioned when making the reservation, or at the very least when checking in.
This hotel seems to put the desire to make additional revenue above the basic needs of its paying residents. Whoever heard of a hotel in this category who did not provide a basic bar area? We won't be returning.
Other than that, the hotel was fine, despite the room being very small.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper2766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here on New Years eve and had a lovely stay. We paid £115 for the room including dinner that evening and breakfast the following morning which we thought was excellent value.

The best bit was the fabulous breakfast. We liked the comfortable beds and the overall cleanliness. The conservatory lounge was very relaxing and the bar menu was good. We had a turkey club sandwich which was delicious (and quite large!)

Drinks prices were as to be expected in a 4* hotel, I think it was around £7 for a large glass of wine and about £4 for a pint of beer. Check in (and out) staff were friendly and efficient.

The service on New Years eve in the lounge was really slow... We waited about 20 minutes for someone to come over to ask what we would like for our starters, even though our menus were placed on the table. It was worth the wait though as the food was excellent. Loved the seabass & mushroom risotto.

Our room was right by the stairs so a bit noisy but ok for one night.

The worst bit - the shower blew very hot and then very cold, unfortunately half way through washing my hair. Quite uncomfortable!

Overall we were happy with our stay and would return, however Marriott - Please reduce your wi-fi prices as they are ridiculous!

Room Tip: Room 101 and 102 are right by the stairs, so if you need a quiet room don't let them give you on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlissaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Property: Preston Marriott Hotel
Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing