We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Well we had stayed at this hotel before and had great service, really nice room and everything was great which is the main reason we decided to go back.
This visit was not the best we had book a queen sized executive room which had the usual extras including robes, slippers etc and this was £30 more than the standard room. When we got to the room it was a twin room with non of the extras so we went back to reception to complain, so they said they would move us so the receptionist showed us to the room but couldn't get in as her card wouldn't work so the housekeeper let us in whilst she went to get new cards, we was looking round there was one robe in the wardrobe and no slippers so when she returned we told her and she said she would sort it. So went for a walk to the spa to see whether it was busy and when we got back there was two robes but still no slippers.
So we decided to get change to go to the spa and I out the robe on that was there from the beginning only to find it had already been worn and had dirty tissues in the pocket. We went to the spa that was really relaxing and came back and had a sleep and then went to have a shower only to find that the value to change it from the bath jets to the shower head was completely stuck so no shower.
We went to dinner which was ok apart from the Pepsi that they served was tasteless and flat and after changing it twice and still no good I gave up but they still charged me over £6.00 for these drinks which we didn't drink.
Breakfast the next morning was good with plenty of choice but some of the hot food could of been hotter and the fried eggs where to be desired as they was rock hard and rubbery.
So we would really consider hard whether we really wanted to return there again.

Room Tip: Away from the function room if there is a wedding reception or party on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve456_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The exterior, grounds and reception are very smart. We had reserved a basic room. First impressions were positive although surprised that there was only a bedside lamp on one side of the bed. However a problem arose. After dropping a wet tissue on the floor of the bathroom it was black when we picked it up. The floor had clearly not been cleaned for some time. A call to reception produced a commendably swift response. A member of the reception staff turned up with a key for another room and we were moved to an upgraded room which was spotless. Well done to the staff concerned.

The breakfasts were very good. A good idea to have a chef on duty. We had one dinner. The food was basically good except that the red wine jus on the salmon and risotto was totally over reduced and tasted like bisto. However the rest of the dish was good.

One final gripe; in this day and age a four star hotel which is obviously directed at the business community should not be charging for wifi in the bedrooms. A top tip - our room was close to reception and the free wifi which is available there could be picked up in the room provided that I stood by the room door

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Extremely disappointed in this Marriott. The room was small and could not fit a king size bed in it. Yes, I'm spoiled and like a king size bed. This hotel has no air conditioning. We stayed on ground level and the windows only opened a few inches. No way to get air in to cool down. The staff was nice, but not fabulous like one generally gets at a Marriott. We did like the location and it did meet the usual standards of cleanliness one always gets from a Marriott.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestonMarriottFO, Senior Nights Supervisor at Preston Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Preston Marriott Hotel.
Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant departments. We value your feedback to ensure our rooms are up to the Marriott standard expected.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Marriott at Easter weekend, we were part of a large group for my sons football tournament, the rooms were immaculate, food was simply delicious and the staff were very friendly and courteous, the hotel very kindly gave us a conference room each night to accommodate all the boys and parents which was very appreciated. The bed was the comfiest bed we have slept in. The hotel grounds were beautiful. All in all it was a fabulous hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a weekend at the Preston Marriott, our second visit here. Very impressive from the minute we arrived. Aswell as the hotel being clean, bedroom of excellent standard and the facilities also great, above all, the staff were fantastic ! Every single staff member delivered outstanding service from the reception staff to the staff in the dining room, the chef at breakfast, the young man who cleaned our room, the leisure club reception staff and even staff who you were just walking past were friendly and courteous. As for the quality of the breakfast - wow ! So much choice and the quality again was excellent, all very fresh and the chef didn't lose his cool once even when it was extremely busy on a sunday morning. Well recommended and I would visit this hotel again and again. The Recruitment Manager deserves their salary as they know how to spot a good staff member when they see one - well done !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paterson124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

On arrival the hotel grounds are wonderful and free parking. Check in very quick and very friendly. The room is the smallest one we have ever had at a Marriott but clean. Great pool and spa area again one of the best for a Marriott. Bar area is nice but expensive. The room at night well the mattress had collapsed so we met in the middle then we had a free ride on the bed it just kept moving around and then during the night the drains seemed to start making noise so bad I got up to check the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the staff in the breakfast room were fab. When I told the guy on the front desk he said he would upgrade us next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ormsklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding reception held at the hotel. The Reception staff are very polite and helpful. checking in is easy and rooms easy to find. Standard rooms (146) had a king size bed with crisp clean towels and bedding as you would expect for a 4* hotel. I agree with some of the comments on parts being a bit tired and needing some TLC. The outside grounds are very well kept.
The food provided for the Wedding reception was plentiful. Bar prices are ok for a hotel of this type.
Breakfast is buffet style and plentiful and full of flavour.
Wifi is free in the lounge, bar and reception. BUT WHY OH WHY DO THEY CHARGE £10 FOR ACCESSING IN THE ROOM. Marriott must move with the times and make Wifi free in all parts of the hotel.
We would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
672 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
752 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing