We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel good leisure facilities friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel good leisure facilities friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Nice hotel staff friendly and polite, room quite small and very noisy! Leisure facilities good although the steam room was unavailable due to a technical fault which had been reported. Which was a same as we had booked this hotel for relaxation purchases!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewheelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    345
    160
    65
    50
See reviews for
226
351
33
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Last stayed approximately 5 years ago and returned this weekend just for 1 night. We arrived to find an updated & quite luxurious reception and was greeted by very friendly reception staff. Our room was ready despite having arrived very early before 11 am. We booked a double double room like last time in the newer part of the hotel. The room was large and very well kept. We ventured into Preston for shopping via the bus that stops at the end of the drive. No 41 I think. £6.80 for 2 return. Not bad and it meant we could leave the car and have a few drinks. For dinner we ate at the Gate of Bengal though it promised great things it was very bland food indeed.Nowhere near as good as our local restaurants.

There was a pub across the road that did a good menu but we couldnt even get near the bar due to a private party.

We had a good nice sleep in comfy beds and went for breakfast. I have to say that it was a better breakfast than some 5 star hotels. Service was excellent and food freshly cooked by the breakfast chef. The overall breakfast experience was outstanding.

All in all, a great stay & exceedingly good value for the low price we paid on a members e break.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbieb5red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

One of the reasons I use Marriott hotels is that my Gold level status with them guarantees the room; you can't be bumped to another hotel.

Or so I thought until I booked with Preston Marriott via the Marriott website.

During up to the hotel late at night , I received a phone from them explaining that they were overbooked and that they had made a reservation for me at another hotel. After pointing out to them that my Gold status guaranteed the room , they confessed that they have 2 reservations systems which are manually linked; a central used by marriott.com and their own. The Preston Marriott had not indicated to central reservations that they were full and hence the overbooking had happened.

I'd advise anyone thinking of booking a room with the Preston Marriot via marriott.com to call the hotel directly after booking to make sure that the room exists.

Also if you do get bumped, my experience of the equivalent hotel revealed it was no such thing. It was awful.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank blartfast47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Very easy to find, not far from M6 which was ideal for us. The bed was very comfortable. The room was a good size and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mowEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

stayed over xmas to escape stayed in a suite which was lovely tho the chairs wre uncomfortable pool was greattho kids spoilt my swim on xmas eve only drawback was banging doors late at night and early in the morning i complained and reception did their best did nit like the serve yourself brek tho the staff went out of their way to be helpful young girl called kacey was especially nice would defo return to marriott preston

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank coronets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I've been staying here for about 15 years now & have been Marriott Rewards (and before that Honored Guest Awards) member for almost 25 years.

The rooms are still in lovely condition with spotlessly clean bathrooms and plush furnishings.

Staff are friendly but when problems arise nothing is ever done to resolve them until several complaints are made.
I really hate complaining and would prefer issues to be solved on the first contact.

On my last 3 visits to this hotel, including the last 2 Christmases, my stay has been blighted by loud, unruly children. This time, our Christmas day was ruined by children running and shouting very loudly through the corridors for a full 8 hours before the staff insisted that the parents control their children. As my partner was unwell and we had the "do not disturb" sign hanging prominently on the door, to have this confrontation take place right outside our door was entirely unacceptable and disrespectful. It didn't end there, though; we still had doors clashing and loud adult voices until almost 3am most nights.

The leisure club is suffering badly from lack of maintenance and indifferent staff. Children are allowed to run through the pool area unchecked by parents or the on duty staff, "bombing" in the pool and opening doors into sauna & steam room then walking in & out. Poolside showers are freezing (beware the left one!!) and sauna & steam room often have smelly drains due to lack of routine cleaning. Again, indifferent staff often do nothing about this once it's brought to their attention with the same problems & visible, unhygienic dirt still being present the next day.

I'm sorry, Preston Marriott, you're a lovely hotel in a beautiful location and I'll miss not coming here but at over £1,000 paid across your counter for my last 3 stays you're not good value for money any more and it's particularly galling to see large groups, including gangs of kids (sports groups perhaps?) who misbehave and are obviously staying with you because you're cheaper than the budget hotel down the road without any regard to the other residents.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Could have not been better, the way the booking was handled right through to exceeding our expectations on Christmas Day. We orginally were looking at Farrington Lodge, but their lack of ability to cope with a party including children made us realsise that we should look elsewhere. The Preston Marriott was a great choice nad exceeded our expecations.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Property: Preston Marriott Hotel
Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing