We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a second stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Worth a second stay..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I had an early morning breakfast meeting a few miles away, so stayed just for an evening and shot off early.

It was a shame I had to go early, as I would have liked to report on the breakfast too, as everything else was top notch. Even the car park was large, well lit and spacious.

I booked in with wonderful smiling lady, who couldn't be more helpful. She let me know where everything was and was one of the most courteous of receptionists I've ever encountered.

My room was reasonably spacious if a little dated, but everything worked as it should and the bed was large and comfortable.

At dinner, where you have the option of relaxed lounge/bar style or full blown dining room, I again found the staff remarkably polite and efficient. The food was very very good and I washed it down with a lovely chilled lager. The ambience was never spoilt, even though the place was busy (and this was a Monday night!!). It would seem it's a favoured haunt of the locals, which is always a good sign.

A good nights sleep (quiet hotel), shower and I was away after a quick efficient check out. Apparently reception is manned 24hrs, which is brilliant for the odd hours I operate sometimes.

I will definitely stay a second time when I'm next in the area, as I want to experience the full Barton Grange hospitality. I don't think I will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDavidRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    178
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
113
218
26
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here on 18 th nov for 1 night there was a group of us , we were very pleased as it is sometimes difficult to find a good hotel when you do not know the are.
After a number of conversations with the lovely Pam in reservations we got sorted , all of us were very happy with our room a good size and standard, my husband and I arrive at about 2pm checking is was very good and the receptionist was very friendly , we then went down to the swimming pool and sauna which were lovely as we had that to ourselves ! Very relaxing ( perhaps a nice bit of music would be good) then when all of our of friends arrived we went down for dinner this was also extremely good a good evening had by all.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to coming again when we are next up shooting in the area.
Well done to all the staff keep up the great work.

Room Tip: We had room 115 and this was good it's not luxurious but more Han adequate for a good nights sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornts04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for one night the food here is excellent the room was ok but unfortunately too close to the lift so I didn't have a good nights sleep, but I would definitely stay again as the food was so good I would just make sure that is asked for a quieter room away from the lift shaft avoid room 216!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rummy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed hear before and the decor was a bit tired. However, there has been a revamp. The rooms are well decorated and have great amenities - nespresso machines in the room and a choice of other drinks. The shower room was spacious, although the power on the water could have been better.

The walled garden restaurant, whilst a little expensive (extra veg comes at a cost), provided excellent food, hot and well prepared.

The gym and pool were also well appointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I was glad to read that you have been pleasantly surprised with your stay, we have just refurbished some of our rooms and as you mentioned have installed Nespresso machine, and are also in the process to install some Bluetooth speakers and some luxurious toiletries for the bathrooms.
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to an Evening Night Do at this hotel. The food was really good so I would recommend anyone to have their wedding there. Make sure they get there Coffee right though! It was so weak you could see through it!! but they did change it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Brilliant review, thank you very much!!
best wishes
Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed nov 13- very busy in the hotel. The rooms are quite small and dated if I'm honest but have some good qualities. Fridge, wine glasses, good selection of tea and coffee facilities. The bed was really comfy. However they could be made better. Dated furniture, stained wallpaper in places, small bathroom, and the cleaners don't do a great job, we found a condom wrapper behind the bedside cabinet!!! The real problem was the noise! We were in room 114 on the first floor right next to the lift!! Every time it went up and down it made a real racket and the people getting out of it were talking and we could here every word! Very annoying!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ljm81x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I was sorry to read that you felt your room was "dated, we have just refurbished 14 rooms and are planning to have more done early next year. I do hope that when next in the area you will consider staying with us again.
Regards
Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I held our wedding reception here on the 9th August, a lot of our guests were also staying over. All I can say is wow the staff here are the best I have ever come across ever they make sure your stay is perfect nothing is too much trouble. Must make a special mention to Tania who went above and beyond on our special day and made it so amazing she was there all day and night and even managed to say bye the following day, all the staff that waited on did and excellent job of making sure all our guests were very well catered for. Thank you so much to everyone for making our day perfect, mr and mrs church

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for a great review, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
5.3 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
11.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange
Barton Grange Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing