We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barton Grange Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$85
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashwood Hotel(Preston)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
391
200
68
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
200
68
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled gardenpool and saunanespresso machinefriday fizzwine and dineleisure facilitiesfamily weddingsky tvsuperior roomdance floormaster of ceremoniesfresh milklovely meallovely hotelwedding receptionwithout exceptionevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here overnight for a conference event earlier this month and have done so once before. The rooms are well appointed and very clean but nothing really to write home about. Bathrooms are adequate although the water pressure wasn't great in my room on this stay. Some rooms have Nespresso machines which are a nice touch. The staff have always been very pleasant and attentive and it seems like a well-run place.

The restaurant (The Walled Garden) is very good - I've eaten here a few times both when I've been staying at the hotel and for separate visits. The food has always been of a high standard and service good. Breakfast is also a very good spread in the morning if you're staying over.

If you're here for a while, the restaurant across the road (The Sparling) is also very good and worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a Nespresso machine
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Barton Grange Hotel, I really appreciate your feedback.

Great to hear you like the new addition of the Nespresso Coffee Machines, we have also fitted Ruark Blue tooth speakers in our Deluxe and Executive rooms.

Best wishes

Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were fortunate enough to be invited to a wedding at the Barton Grange, we had been to the hotel some years ago and were really impressed then, this opportunity was every bit as good and we had a fabulous time!!

The staff were very attentive and warm, the service was exceptional, the speed the food was delivered to the 100 guests was staggering, the food was excellent, lovely moist chicken with perfect vegetables.

The bedroom in which we stayed was very clean and well equipped, we enjoyed a very restful nights sleep, the Breakfast was sumptuous, a good choice of continental & English, well prepared and not stored in the usual bain maries that dry the food out...

Overall an awesome stay and one I would highly recommend...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review!

I am thrilled you enjoyed the Wedding and stay over at the Hotel
Come back and see us soon!


Best wishes
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed for two nights at this hotel; the first was an evening with friends and close family and the second was a wedding. Having stayed in many hotels for business and pleasure over the years, I could not help but be blown away by this place. Immediately greeted by the "looker afterer" on reception on arrival, it sounds clichéd but there is absolutely nothing that is too much trouble for the staff here. The food was amazing and the bedrooms were lovely. The best part about this hotel is its "quirkiness". I love the unusual seats in the lobby, the olde worlde feel of some parts of the hotel and the modern areas that compliment them superbly. The Walled Garden was a delight to visit, and the food was top notch. It really gives you that "home from home" feeling and I have never, ever experienced that in another hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are well worth the additional charge, although the standard rooms are lovely too.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Wow what a really fantastic review.

I am thrilled you got the “home from home” experience, as that’s exactly what we strive for.

Hope to see you again soon at BG

Best wishes

Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely wedding at this hotel.The staff and the food were very good and a good time was had by all.The events manager called Rob was excellent and really made the wedding very good and kept it all together until about 1am.We stayed in the hotel and found some of the reviews cruel about the bedrooms.The rooms were comfortable and very clean and the beds were very comfy .The bathrooms are dated but very clean and adequate.all in all a very good hotel for a wedding and a nice play to stay with a very good choice of breakfast.

Room Tip: the back of hotel is probably better
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 464BarbaraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at Barton Grange Hotel.

I will certainly pass your fantastic comments to Rob and the rest of our very hard working team!
Come back and see us very soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked the Barton Grange Hotel for a recent family occasion. Both on the run up to and at the event itself the staff were absolutely brilliant going the extra mile to help in any way they could.

The food provided on the evening was absolutely delicious and superb value for money In addition the quantity served was extremely generous.

All the guests who attended the event could not praise the venue enough for the quality of the food and service.

Would definitely go to the Barton Grange hotel again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andy_wig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Barton Grange Hotel for your family occasion.

I am absolutely thrilled your guests praised the venue, food and service and very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews