We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We got married here on Friday 25th April 2014 and I couldn't not leave a review.
We viewed a couple of other places before here but right from the offset we knew this was were our wedding should be held. We were made to feel relaxed, reassured & they were very flexible with their options, making sure everything suited us exactly as we wanted. Communication was good before hand & on the day everything ran smoothly.

We got married in the 'Grange Room' which is the smaller of the two rooms but no less perfect and was the perfect intimate setting we wanted. We also had our day and evening reception in the 'Grange Room' too. The room looked stunning from the ceremony right through to the evening reception with guests hardly believing it was the same room (we had a gorgeous twinkle light backdrop right round the room provided by Add a Little Sparkle at a very reasonable price).
A massive thank you must go to Tania who overlooked everything, she guided us through the whole day so we knew at all times what was going on & she has clearly been doing this job a while because she's very professional whilst being approachable with an extremely friendly manner.

We chose tomato soup for starters, lamb for main & giant profiteroles for dessert & we cannot fault the food at all. It was delicious! The portion sizes were perfect & the lamb was so soft, all washed down with the wine that was included in our package which was constantly being topped up by the hard working staff (who are an absolute credit to Tania). If any guests weren't drinking alcoholic drinks through the wedding breakfast soft drinks were free of charge, a nice touch we thought. We had sausage & bacon barms accompanied by the yummiest chips ever for guests later on which was just what people needed after a few drinks.

The hotel itself is lovely, the reception area is warm & welcoming but with a grand feeling about it. It's decorated quite traditional but in a modern, plush way as opposed to 'old'.
We were given a gorgeous, executive room included in our package which was very luxurious with a roll top bath & a huge bed and although we didn't spend a lot of time in there it made it all the more special and was a nice touch. All our wedding party guests that stayed over were impressed with their rooms ranging from classic to superior. The superior rooms are bigger than the classic & modernly decorated.
We ate breakfast in the walled garden restaurant which was a buffet breakfast. Although there wasn't a huge amount of food to chose from technically, there was everything you could of wanted & I have to say, it was delicious. The scrambled eggs being some of the nicest I have ever eaten! The restaurant it's self is lovely, very traditional feeling also & with a lovely atmosphere. We certainly look forward to dining here on our first wedding anniversary which was also included in the wedding package.
We made use of the leisure facilities after breakfast, using the pool, which is of good size, followed by the sauna & steam room. The facilities were very clean & heated which made it a comfortable swim.
We cannot recommend Barton grange hotel enough and we had a perfect wedding which was genuinely faultless. We can't thank the hotel and staff enough for making our special day even more precious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWhillians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am thrilled Barton Grange Hotel provided the Perfect Wedding day for you and making your special day even more precious.

You review was an absolute joy to read and share with Tania and the team. It’s such a big decision in choosing the right venue for your special day and we are so pleased you selected us.

It really is fantastic to read such positive comments about your whole Barton Grange Experience.

I really look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon and just wanted to wish you both all the very best in your married life together.

Geraldine

P.s Room 5 is the executive room with the roll top bath (it’s one of my favorites to!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    182
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
118
222
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a perfect day, even the sun came out! Everything was organised, to how we requested, and we didn't have to worry about a thing on the day. Tania and the rest of the staff did a great job. The ceremony was perfect, the wedding breakfast was delicious and the evening reception was fantastic with a great buffet. The DJ, Rob Falcon, was with us all day and was thoroughly entertaining. We had lots of great comments from our attending family and friends too, everyone had a great time.
Thank you to all involved in making our day special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing Barton Grange Hotel. I am thrilled to read you had a prefect wedding day.

I have passed on your fantastic comments to Tania, Rob and the team.

I wish you both all the very best for your future life together and look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again very soon.

Best wishes


Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Took Monday lunch at The Walled Garden Bistro, part of Barton Grange Hotel. Opted for the £15 3 course menu. Tasty Halloumi cheese and smoked bacon salad for starter followed by Lancashire cheese and shallot tart, beetroot chutney and Waldorf salad. Tart ok but lacked flavour and was a little dense and mushy. My guest had a smoked haddock and pea risotto to start which was rated a good followed by chargrilled bacon chop with whole grain mustard mash and green beans. Bacon chop was a little on the salty side. Neither of us managed dessert. Service was friendly and efficient and venue cosy and relaxing. Overall, good value for what we got and a nice venue for a meal with friends. Hopefully they will introduce a 2 course option in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnsrLarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Walled Garden Bistro. I have noted your comments and will discuss with the team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was good and service was very good. Rooms were large with new refitted bathroom. If i was being negative, shower was weak, but I would go back!
Hotel has an excellent restaurant and food is very good.
Swimming pool was very good and well looked after. Overall, rooms were comfortable and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlNicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is really beautiful, family friendly.
We went there with our 1 year old twins and really enjoyed our stay.
We took 2 family rooms and they were spacious even with the 2 travel cots and really well maintained.
The restaurant was very good and they did their best to make us feel welcome.
I really recommend it!

Room Tip: family rooms can accommodate 2 travel cots and still have enough space left
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
What a great review and thank you for the recommendation!

I look forward to welcoming you back at Barton Grange Hotel soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is what my grandmother would have called "all top show" the reception, walled garden restaurant and bar are clearly recently refurbished and look quite impressive. However, peel back the layers and go to your bedroom (24) then you see the real lack of quality, tatty, out of date rooms with lumpy, squeaky mattresses (funny that the general manager doesn't seem to accept the mattress problem and defends that "no one else has complained) look at the other comments! My experience in the walled garden restaurant was a bit of a shock
The waitress came over to me and said the kitchen were busy and were not taking any more orders and could I pop back later!
I decided not to wait for the chef to catch up and went to eat at the restaurant across the road (the sparling) decent place. I will be giving this place a miss in future in favour of the Marriott down the road

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markieb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I am so sorry your recent stay at the Hotel was not a positive experience.

Rest assured your comments will not be ignored!!

I would really like the chance to have a chat with you about your recent stay and can be contacted on 01772 867059.

I look forward to chatting with you soon

Best wishes
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here overnight for a conference event earlier this month and have done so once before. The rooms are well appointed and very clean but nothing really to write home about. Bathrooms are adequate although the water pressure wasn't great in my room on this stay. Some rooms have Nespresso machines which are a nice touch. The staff have always been very pleasant and attentive and it seems like a well-run place.

The restaurant (The Walled Garden) is very good - I've eaten here a few times both when I've been staying at the hotel and for separate visits. The food has always been of a high standard and service good. Breakfast is also a very good spread in the morning if you're staying over.

If you're here for a while, the restaurant across the road (The Sparling) is also very good and worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a Nespresso machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barton Grange Hotel, I really appreciate your feedback.

Great to hear you like the new addition of the Nespresso Coffee Machines, we have also fitted Ruark Blue tooth speakers in our Deluxe and Executive rooms.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
945 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
5.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
9.3 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange
Barton Grange Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing