We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, perfect for our Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, perfect for our Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here in the original room 1 for one night for our anniversary. It was amazing. The staff were lovely and ever so friendly. We were impressed by the facilities.
Although it is by the A6, you cannot see the road and it feels quite secluded.
We had room service that was brought to our room by a very polite gentleman, it was delicious.
We were so impressed we ended up asking for a wedding brochure and being shown round by Kath, and we were shown a wonderful garden that is so secretive, I was so surprised.

We will be back, no doubt about that.

Thank you for an amazing stay Barton Grange,

Becks & Tom

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becks222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    178
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
112
216
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at the Barton Grange Hotel with our 3 year old and 10 month old baby on our way home to Aberdeen after a holiday in Cornwall. The hotel is only minutes from the M6 motorway and very easy to find.

On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist and checked in without any delay. Our room was large with a king size bed plus a rollaway for our toddler and a cot set up for the baby.

Dinner in the "Walled Garden Bistro" was very good and breakfast the next morning was excellent. All in all, a great break in a long journey plus a room rate of £95 B&B represents excellent value.

We'll definitely be back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billowingflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Just stayed one night. Rooms were clean and good quality if a little warm. We were well supplied with tea, coffee, good biscuits and fresh milk!. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good quality with a good selection of fruit and cereals and well prepared cooked breakfast. Nice public areas. There is even a bar billiards table! Very easy to get to the motorway. All round a very enjoyable stay and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafflesthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Four of us, myself, my wife, my mother - in her eighties, and my mid-twenties daughter had Sunday lunch here. The staff were really friendly and efficient. The surroundings were lovely and peaceful. The food was very good indeed; there was a very wide and flexible range from light snacks to full Sunday roast. All was all home made and so, for example, there were some excellent puddings. We haven't been to this hotel for some thirty years and were delighted to find that it's standards were still as high as ever.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scot
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at the Barton Grange on our way home. We were not aware of the area and booked the hotel the previous day. When we arrived we were welcomed by a nice receptionist. We did not have swimwear with us or we would have taken advantage of the leisure facilities.

We booked dinner, the menu was varied, you can get a two course meal for under £10 or you can eat from the full Dinner menu. This was the last night of our holiday and decided to eat from the Dinner menu. The food was excellent and very nicely presented. The staff cannot do enough. There are lovely areas in this hotel to sit or read a paper.

My only complaint was that you could hear the guests in the next room speaking and having showers. We had a standard room, which had a nice comfy bed with a nice bathroom. Overall we were very happy and would return to the Barton Grange again, although next time I think we would taken an upgraded room. Very enjoyable

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

I have been staying at the Barton Grange Hotel for several weeks now and cannot fault it. As a seasoned business traveller I have encountered many hotels in the country and I have to say this is the best. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are excellent with free wi-fi and Sky sports and the restaurant is very good. There is a small gym, sauna and swimming pool with towels and water cooler. They seem to understand the importance of the little details and I am always noticing some new nice 'touches'. The first that strikes you when you check -in is the informal reception area (usually with a bowl of assorted sweets!).
My first night in the hotel was spent in the Annex which is not quite as nice as the hotel main building and you have to walk across the car park for breakfast. However, the annex appears to be used only as an overflow at busy times.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I have done already to many of my collegues. I have never felt moved to write a review on a hotel before but I thought I'd like to share what is really a gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinBWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

booked to stay four nights on being shown the room in the annex which we had been assured were king sized beds found out they were not (we have king sized at home) so do know the difference.The staff were lovely very helpful we also stayed here one night last year and did find the room very gloomy as was the annex.The food in the walled garden is wonderful the breakfast was very good the staff great it is such a shame about the beds and room's

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
9.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange
Barton Grange Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing