We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, with staff who couldn't do enough for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, with staff who couldn't do enough for us”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I arrived at Barton Grange for a family funeral after a day travelling from Berlin via Heathrow and my home 4 hours' drive away. It was raining. Not the best circumstances to arrive anywhere, but the Barton Grange hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming during my 2-night stay.

The bedroom was well-appointed and comfortable (if a little hot), food at the Walled Garden restaurant was excellent and the swimming pool/whirlpool/sauna so relaxing that I used them twice in one day! Breakfast was splendid: everything you could wish for - eggs benedict were great and the bacon super-yummy.

The hotel provided a lovely lunch for the post-funeral gathering and the whole experience was made SO much better by the constant friendliness and attention of the staff. I wouldn't exactly recommend going to stay at Barton Grange for a funeral, but if you have to make such a trip, it really made a huge difference staying somewhere so nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnificat075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    182
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
120
224
26
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

From the friendly woman on the phone who took our reservation to when we checked out, nothing could have been better.
The staff on reception could not have been more welcoming and directed us towards our upgraded executive bedroom.
The room, No: 1, had real WOW factor. A large, bright, beautifully furnished room was beyond our expectation. Huge bed, wonderful fabrics & the quirky chairs. Separate dressing area behind the bed and spacious bathroom. Lovely toiletries, big towels, stocked mini bar, tea tray including teapot, nice touch.
Quirky chairs, beautifully upholstered, seemed to be a theme throughout the hotel. Every member of staff was friendly and extremely well presented, we were always greeted when they passed us.
We were made to feel like friends rather than one night guests just passing through.
Dinner in the Walled Garden restaurant was lovely, attractive presentation, good portions, yummy & reasonably priced. My husband had the "walled garden lamb hotpot" that he said was the best lamb he had ever had. My beer battered fish & chips with mushy peas were lovely, hot & crisp. Again staff were friendly and helpful.
Wallowing in the large deep bath full of piping hot water & then donning the provided robe was lovely. We had a good night's sleep in the kingsize bed.
Breakfast was lovely. Great selection of fresh fruit, pastries, choice of 4 mueslis, cereals etc. My poached eggs, wonderful smoked bacon & tomatoes were cooked to perfection. The table staff were attentive when needed, being aware when toast & refreshed hot drinks may be needed. Again, nothing was too much trouble. One of the waiters greeted other guests by name, a lovely personal touch for guests.
In all, this hotel was an absolute gem to come across and we will definitely return.
thanks to all the staff who make this hotel what it is - somewhere to feel special.
We left with smiles on our faces and reckon it was worth every reasonable penny they charged. Definitely would recommend the special D.B & B rate offered.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signing-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We were given a freebie night here courtesty of our insurance co and enjoyed it so much will definitely make a return trip.
Have stayed in many places in UK and abroad but this is a real little gem of a find! First impressions on driving up weren't what we expected to find inside as does look a little tired on the outside. The rooms are traditionally furnished but have all the contemporary extras that definitely warrant its 4 star status when compared to some chain hotels. If service was to be starred this hotel should be given 5+ stars as not been anywhere for a long time where the personal touch was delivered so effectively and eloquently.
We had the pool all to ourselves and thought the hotel was empty really but plenty of people at breakfast so rooms must be well soundproofed too.
The hotel has a secret garden at the rear which is delightful to sit in and the Walled garden restaurant was absolutely perfect by way of price, ambience and service!
Thankyou to the staff fo our lovely short stay

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Holsutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was my second stay on the £99 dinner bed and breakfast deal which is truly great value. Standard rooms are clean and roomy enough with good facilities including a mini bar. Not exactly modern chic, but nice enough. If you want a real treat book one of the exec rooms which are spectacular (and only and extra £30 I think).
Staff are lovely and Hotel has a great ambiance. We had dinner in The Walled Garden Bistro (£18 contrubution each as part of the room deal) and I cannot think of a nicer 3 course meal I have had in a long time, every course was gorgeous.
Breakfast follows in the same vein, Buffet Style with the usual offerings, hot full English options using great quality ingredients (sausages and bacon a dream!!). In addition there is an alternative breakfast menu with items such as smoked haddock & poached eggs, eggs benedict, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.... you get the picture.
We live in Preston and use the hotel as a little treat to ourselves, will be back again soon

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyMumPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Cannot fault the quality of the Hotel nor the excellent staff.Recommend that you specify the quiet part of the ccomodation unless you are there for a wedding reception.We took the dinner bed and breakfast deal at £99 per night.You get an £18 voucher each towards the cost of meals on the a la carte menu.Quality of the food was excellent with plenty of choice albeit a bit nouvelle cuisine.Breakfast was buffet style and superb with lots of choice. Leisur club for residents was deserted at lunchtime so very relaxing.if you want to avoid typically high drinks prices in the Hotel and wedding parties try the pub just a short walk away.Other than their own garden centre which is 2 miles from the Hotel there is very little in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I stayed at Barton grange the night before and the night of my wedding. From the minute you walk through the door you are welcomed by friendly members of staff who go out of their way to help you. The rooms are fantastic, i was in an executive room which was absolutely gorgeous but the standard rooms are also really lovely. We ate in the 'Walled Garden' restaurant at the hotel and the food was exceptional.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definately be going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed here for one night on our drive to the south coast and were so impressed that we shall make it our usual stopping place on future trips. The staff were very friendly and professional; the room had everthing we required, was comfortable and clean with a stylish new bathroom and the food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent.
We also enjoyed our swim and sauna at the lovely pool.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
962 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
5.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
12.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange
Barton Grange Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing