We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barton Grange Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No.10 Preston(Preston)
US$129
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashwood Hotel(Preston)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Claremont Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
391
200
68
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
200
68
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled gardenpool and saunanespresso machinefriday fizzwine and dineleisure facilitiesfamily weddingsky tvsuperior roomdance floormaster of ceremoniesfresh milklovely meallovely hotelwedding receptionwithout exceptionevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Myself and my my wife stayed at the hotel for two nights and we were very impressed. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and it had tea/coffee facilities and a well stocked mini bar. The food in the restaurant was terrific (quite an extensive menu) and the breakfast was great also. We used the pool and gym both days and my wife made good use of the sauna and jacuzzi. All the staff we encountered were very helpful, friendly and polite. If we are back in Preston we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul777m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I arrived at Barton Grange for a family funeral after a day travelling from Berlin via Heathrow and my home 4 hours' drive away. It was raining. Not the best circumstances to arrive anywhere, but the Barton Grange hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming during my 2-night stay.

The bedroom was well-appointed and comfortable (if a little hot), food at the Walled Garden restaurant was excellent and the swimming pool/whirlpool/sauna so relaxing that I used them twice in one day! Breakfast was splendid: everything you could wish for - eggs benedict were great and the bacon super-yummy.

The hotel provided a lovely lunch for the post-funeral gathering and the whole experience was made SO much better by the constant friendliness and attention of the staff. I wouldn't exactly recommend going to stay at Barton Grange for a funeral, but if you have to make such a trip, it really made a huge difference staying somewhere so nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magnificat075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

From the friendly woman on the phone who took our reservation to when we checked out, nothing could have been better.
The staff on reception could not have been more welcoming and directed us towards our upgraded executive bedroom.
The room, No: 1, had real WOW factor. A large, bright, beautifully furnished room was beyond our expectation. Huge bed, wonderful fabrics & the quirky chairs. Separate dressing area behind the bed and spacious bathroom. Lovely toiletries, big towels, stocked mini bar, tea tray including teapot, nice touch.
Quirky chairs, beautifully upholstered, seemed to be a theme throughout the hotel. Every member of staff was friendly and extremely well presented, we were always greeted when they passed us.
We were made to feel like friends rather than one night guests just passing through.
Dinner in the Walled Garden restaurant was lovely, attractive presentation, good portions, yummy & reasonably priced. My husband had the "walled garden lamb hotpot" that he said was the best lamb he had ever had. My beer battered fish & chips with mushy peas were lovely, hot & crisp. Again staff were friendly and helpful.
Wallowing in the large deep bath full of piping hot water & then donning the provided robe was lovely. We had a good night's sleep in the kingsize bed.
Breakfast was lovely. Great selection of fresh fruit, pastries, choice of 4 mueslis, cereals etc. My poached eggs, wonderful smoked bacon & tomatoes were cooked to perfection. The table staff were attentive when needed, being aware when toast & refreshed hot drinks may be needed. Again, nothing was too much trouble. One of the waiters greeted other guests by name, a lovely personal touch for guests.
In all, this hotel was an absolute gem to come across and we will definitely return.
thanks to all the staff who make this hotel what it is - somewhere to feel special.
We left with smiles on our faces and reckon it was worth every reasonable penny they charged. Definitely would recommend the special D.B & B rate offered.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Signing-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We were given a freebie night here courtesty of our insurance co and enjoyed it so much will definitely make a return trip.
Have stayed in many places in UK and abroad but this is a real little gem of a find! First impressions on driving up weren't what we expected to find inside as does look a little tired on the outside. The rooms are traditionally furnished but have all the contemporary extras that definitely warrant its 4 star status when compared to some chain hotels. If service was to be starred this hotel should be given 5+ stars as not been anywhere for a long time where the personal touch was delivered so effectively and eloquently.
We had the pool all to ourselves and thought the hotel was empty really but plenty of people at breakfast so rooms must be well soundproofed too.
The hotel has a secret garden at the rear which is delightful to sit in and the Walled garden restaurant was absolutely perfect by way of price, ambience and service!
Thankyou to the staff fo our lovely short stay

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Holsutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was my second stay on the £99 dinner bed and breakfast deal which is truly great value. Standard rooms are clean and roomy enough with good facilities including a mini bar. Not exactly modern chic, but nice enough. If you want a real treat book one of the exec rooms which are spectacular (and only and extra £30 I think).
Staff are lovely and Hotel has a great ambiance. We had dinner in The Walled Garden Bistro (£18 contrubution each as part of the room deal) and I cannot think of a nicer 3 course meal I have had in a long time, every course was gorgeous.
Breakfast follows in the same vein, Buffet Style with the usual offerings, hot full English options using great quality ingredients (sausages and bacon a dream!!). In addition there is an alternative breakfast menu with items such as smoked haddock & poached eggs, eggs benedict, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.... you get the picture.
We live in Preston and use the hotel as a little treat to ourselves, will be back again soon

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyMumPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews