We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“The Old Stables was a wonderful, comfortable...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Woodpecker cottage light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodpecker cottage light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove
Huge, bright, light and spacious open plan kitchen/living/dining area in Woodpecker, door to balcony Old Stables , huge magnificent oak Mark Wilkinson designer fully equipped kitchen with Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
Woodpecker cottage light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove
Huge, bright, light and spacious open plan kitchen/living/dining area in Woodpecker, door to balcony
Old Stables , huge magnificent oak Mark Wilkinson designer fully equipped kitchen with Aga
Mole End, lovely, large Mark Wilkinson designer hand painted and oak fully equipped kitchen with Aga
Partridge cottage, fully equipped Mark Wilkinson designer hand painted kitchen
The Piggeries!
A great living/dining/kitchen space in Woodpecker Cottage, opening to the light filled orangery
The Old Stables living area with  comfy sofas and woodburning stove - logs provided
Old Stables conservatory opening off the huge kitchen, over looking the private garden for sole use
The Piggeries orangery style dining room
Old Stables family bedroom
Huge en suite family bedroom in Woodpecker, king size bed, two single beds, sofa and armchair
Mole End spacious and attractive twin bedroom
Woodpecker cottage with covered picnic bbq area, amazing views across the countryside to the coast
The Piggeries at night
Fluff our pet pony, also pet lambs and chickens
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff along the nearby river 10 minutes from the cottages,
Walks in beautiful countryside minutes from our door with Callie and Fluff the pony.
Down a quiet country lane, up a long driveway, our small, private hamlet of five luxury 5* cottages
Spectacular sunsets and amazing views across the countryside to the coast
Lots of visiting wildlife to the cottages and down our country lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
19 Bedrooms, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janet C
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Stables was a wonderful, comfortable, spacious place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We all enjoyed our holiday in this lovely place. It was a celebratory week and this superb place gave all of us the space and comfort to enjoy ourselves.
The children loved the play area and the tennis courts were used happily by all age groups.
The cottage is ideally situated for trips to the Lakes and to explore the beautiful Trough of Bowland.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: I liked the kitchen and conservatory areas
Liked least: suite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatCatCat...
mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simly Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed in Mole End with my wife, younger son, grandad and great aunt. We had a ball.

The cottage was immaculate, and so warm, we live out the UK in a very hot country so the under floor heating, Aga and wood fire were fabulous.

Everything worked perfectly in the cottage, the views were outstanding, you could see Blackpool Tower on the horizon. Pheasants running around everywhere too.

Excellent food shopping in Garstang15 mins by car through the beautiful countryside.

Enjoy!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The coziness of the cottage.
Liked least: Weak internet, however it was in the middle the countryside......
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great holiday at barnacre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is our fourth trip to barnacre. The accommodation is superb, very cosy cottage and well equipped. We love the tennis courts, walking and cycling. There are plenty of local attractions for our 9 yr old children- beacon fell country park, wild boar farm, cycle tracks, Blackpool zoo and guy's hamlet is a great local family restaurant. Barnacre's owners Terry and Sue are very welcoming and obliging. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall...
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“The Quintessential England Country Holiday Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Our large family group of 10 from Salt Lake City, UT visited England together for an extended trip in August. We looked for a location to stay in the Preston area within reach of all the interesting sites of northwest England. We found the Barnacre cottages on the Internet. Since it was our first trip of this sort, we did not know what to expect. Needless to say, we were very, very pleased to find this cottage. It met all our needs and more. It is situated in the lovely countryside on a hillside overlooking the area of Garstang. Driving the country roads meandering though the region took some getting used to; it is off the beaten path, but not too far away from access to the M6 and the city.
We stayed in the Old Stables cottages. It fit our needs perfectly - we could not imagine better accomodations. The rooms were immaculate, the kitchen and dining area modern and functional. The solar room was a great place to rest and relax, and see the chickens walking across the yard. The tennis court and play area were great for the kids to use; with an impressive view of the surrounding area all the way to Blackpool and the ocean. The location makes for lovely sunset scenes.
The Sharples were delightful hosts; friendly and responsive in arranging the reservation, introducing us to the cottage, and answering queries.
All family members agreed that we would definitely stay here again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristy3
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in Mole End Cottage for Christmas. The cottage is wonderful, tastefully decorated and a real home from home. The location is fantastic with views out to the sea and surrounded by woodlands and country walks. I have stayed in many rentals and this one is the nicest ever. If you want a traditional English country experience with full 5 star luxury then this is the place. Congratulations to the owners on providing such a wonderful holiday rental.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lmaclachl...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Child Friendly Cottages in Glorious Farmland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We booked the 'Piggeries' cottage for the Easter Weekend as we were looking for somewhere for a short term let and that was set in the countryside. The Barnacre cottages website was very informative and packed with info on where to go in the local area. I was particularly impressed by the speed of response to my booking enquiry and to the various email communications I had with the owner Sue. One of the major attractions was that in the cottage grounds, there were likely to be lambs for the kids to feed and also a pony.

On arrival at the property (easy to find with Sat Nav) I was greeted by Sue's husband, Terry, who showed us into the property (which was very beautiful from the outside) and pointed out all the main amenities. At the heart of the living room is a fantastic wood-burning stove which Terry lit for us and which we basically kept burning most of the time which gave the cottage a fantastic homely feel. The cottage is very nicely decorated in keeping with the name of the cottage, which lots of little clever touches of pig-related decorations, mugs etc. Both bedrooms were very comfortable and towels, bedding etc were all provided. Another nice touch was that the owners had provided us with some home bakes on arrival and some easter eggs for the kids.

The thing that struck us throughout our stay is just how friendly the owners are and the effort they make to help keep the kids entertained. Right opposite the cottage was a newly built barn area for the Pony (Fluff) and 4 Lambs. This provided the kids with a great experience as they were able to give the lambs their milk every morning and evening and got to feed and ride the Pony. The owners really enjoyed seeing the kids enjoying themselves so much and made sure that they scheduled a time for the feeding/Pony riding with us each day.

The cottage is nicely situated to be able to visit the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales and also Manchester/Liverpool/Blackpool, although I would encourage you to avoid Blackpool at all costs. It was a nightmare with young children (5 and 7) who wanted to fritter money away on machines and on rides which were really not very good at all.

I would strongly recommend a stay in any of the cottages at Barnacre - the larger ones also looked amazing and Terry explained to me that they were often used as a meeting place for families north/south of the border or even for ex-pats returning to the area for a while.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Homeliness of the cottage and the friendliness of owners - kids would say the animals!
Liked least: no complaints at all about cottage. I liked my visit to Blackpool the least.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Joanne1...
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Barnacre lived up to all expectations and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The whole family had a very enjoyable week in Woodpecker cottage. Sue and Terry were delightful hosts, the surrounding area is spectacluar and the cottage and grounds fullfilled the needs of all age ranges who stayed. The children loved the park area and enormous tennis court, the chickens were welcomed visitors also.
Woodpecker cottage was first class, the decor and appliances were beyond our expectations, every aspect had been thoughtfully considered.
Thank you to Sue and Terry and we will certainly re-visit and recommend Barnacre.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space and homely feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Getting used to using the aga!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing