We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* Property & 5* Welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Bright and light, The Old Stables Conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and light, The Old Stables Conservatory
Huge conservatory in Woodpecker, magnificent fireplace & woodburning stove. Amazing panoramic views Huge dining table & seating in Woodpecker. Ideal for a large gathering. Lovely crockery & glassware.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Bright and light, The Old Stables Conservatory
Huge conservatory in Woodpecker, magnificent fireplace & woodburning stove. Amazing panoramic views
Huge dining table & seating in Woodpecker. Ideal for a large gathering. Lovely crockery & glassware.
Huge, fully equipped with Aga stove, oak Mark Wilkinson kitchen.
Huge, comfy seating area in the Old Stables with stone fireplace and woodburning stove.
Huge, spacious, living, dining, kitchen of Woodpecker.  Ideal for large groups of family & friends.
Comfy seating area in Partridge cottage. Stone fireplace with woodburning stove.
The Piggeries! Aga stove for real country living - plus a separate electric oven.
Mole End, lovely, large Mark Wilkinson designer hand painted and oak fully equipped kitchen with Aga
The Piggeries orangery style dining room
Enjoy relaxing & comfortable mealtimes in all the cottages. Lots of crockery, cutlery & glassware.
Partridge cottage, fully equipped Mark Wilkinson designer hand painted kitchen
Old Stables kitchen, lots of beautiful crockery, and crystal glassware in all the cottages
Woodpecker, with covered bbq area, huge new fire & seating, amazing views  countryside to the coast
The Piggeries at night
Huge en suite family bedroom in Woodpecker, king size bed, two single beds, sofa and armchair
Newly refurbished family room, with double & single beds in Old Stables.
Pretty, newly refurbished double bedroom in Old Stables
Newly refurbished twin bedroom in Old Stables
Pretty groundfloor bedroom in the Old Stables
Pretty & comfortable twin bedroom, newly refurbished in the Old Stables.
Mole End, pretty twin bedrooms with en suite bathroom
Spectacular sunsets and amazing views across the countryside to the coast
Ground floor en suite bath/wet room in Mole End
Ground floor en suite wet room in Mole End
Ground floor en suite bath/wet room in Woodpecker cottage.
Ground floor, newly refurbished, spacious en suite wet room in Woodpecker, grab rails & seating.
A little motto, for an outlook on life - sometimes!
Lots of visiting wildlife to the cottages and down our country lane
Walks in beautiful countryside minutes from our door with Callie and Fluff the pony.
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff along the nearby river 10 minutes from the cottages,
Fluff our pet pony, also pet lambs and chickens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
19 Bedrooms, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie W
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5* Property & 5* Welcome”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in two of the Barnacre Cottage properties over New Year 2016 - The Piggeries (slept 9) & Mole End (slept 7).

Our key feedback would be:-
(1) Very high quality accommodation, fixtures & fittings - there is a real attention to detail in this regard
(2) A tremendously warm, personal & friendly service provided by the owners (Terry & Sue), with notable items such as the freshly baked cake on arrival as mentioned in previous feedback
(3) A fantastic location from which to explore on foot and by vehicle - we managed trips to Blackpool, Lancaster, Garstang (& environs) and Preston, plus several of the local walking trails. Both properties had great views out to Morecambe Bay.
(4) A perfect venue for large / extended family groups. We used The Piggeries as the primary location for our evening entertainment, with it's spacious living area and dining options that could accommodate 16 guests (6 children in the kitchen and 10 adults in the dining area).
(5) The Aga provided a true 'country' feel, as did the chickens that arrived at our back door each morning for their 'feed' of scraps….. the younger members of our family in particular enjoyed the opportunity to feed both the chickens and Fluff (the horse)

Whilst we stayed at the properties during winter, The Piggeries has a lovely outdoor area with picnic tables which would no doubt be great on those long summer evenings….. we hope to visit again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bifty
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed in two of these gorgeous cottages as part of a new year celebration. I stayed in the Piggeries and was delighted to find a lovely homemade sponge in the large and luxurious kitchen, gorgeous bedding in the bedrooms and fabulous views from the large lounges downstairs in the property.The owners Terry and Sue could not have been more helpful in terms of emails before our stay and advice on where to go during our stay.
We would highly recommend these wonderful cottages to everyone and will definitely stay again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullD...
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

As an extended family of 32 spanning four generations from 90 down to 2 years, looking to celebrate the 90th birthdays of both members of Generation 1, we had some pretty specific needs. We rented all but Partridge Cottage from the Barnacre site and it was perfect for everyone. Sue and Terry's website gives a clear insight into what to expect but on arrival, expectations were exceeded. The properties are all beautifully appointed, very spacious with superb views right out to the coast. The huge amount of safe outside space in the form of decking, patios, gardens, play area, tennis court and field makes these properties stand head and shoulders above anywhere else we researched. The setting sun silhouetting a dozen great grandchildren playing football and cricket in the field, will live long in the memory. Sue and Terry's help and advice when planning the weekend's celebrations was invaluable. Recommended local suppliers and caterers were used and all proved to be first class.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 Star quality of all aspects of the properties
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary W
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wondeful week!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A group of 18 of us, from all over the world, met for our biennial reunion, taking three of the cottages - The Piggeries, Partridge, and The Old Stables. Americans and Canadians are well known for their insistence on everything being right, and they complain (quite rightly!) if it isn't. During this week, not a single complaint was made. This is because Sue and Terry have taken every effort - and a lot of capital, I guess - to make sure that everything is as perfect as is humanly posible. The freshly-baked sponge cakes in each cottage, made with eggs from their own hens, was just the start!
The furnishing and equipment is to the highest standard (one of the party wanted to take the whole kitchen back home with him!), the beds were very comfortable, the site itself is right in the heart of some of the best countryside in England, with extensive views across the Fylde to Morecambe Bay and the Lakeland Fells.
When I went to view the cottages, I thought that there was no way that we would be able to afford them but that turned out to be completely wrong - th rebtal is incredibly modest, even if the standards were lower than they are. Most of my Am,erican friends, when told of how much it would be per person for the week, thought that this was per night, and still thought it reasonable!

I have tried to be balanced, and come up with something negative and I can't.
I most thoroughly recommend this as a wonderful place to take a hopiday.
There are

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the spring bank holidays and from the moment we arrived the kids were completely entertained. They made friends with some other children staying in the other cottages and played non stop the whole time we were there. The tennis courts and play were superb and the owners were so accommodating and very friendly. We went for a meal to the Italian orchard while staying at Barnacre and it was superb, top quality food in a very upmarket yet child friendly environment. We can't speak highly enough of this place and will definitely come back. Thanks so much for your kind attentive service which helped make our break one to remember.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Stables was a wonderful, comfortable, spacious place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We all enjoyed our holiday in this lovely place. It was a celebratory week and this superb place gave all of us the space and comfort to enjoy ourselves.
The children loved the play area and the tennis courts were used happily by all age groups.
The cottage is ideally situated for trips to the Lakes and to explore the beautiful Trough of Bowland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the kitchen and conservatory areas
Liked least: suite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatCatCat...
mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simly Wonderful”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed in Mole End with my wife, younger son, grandad and great aunt. We had a ball.

The cottage was immaculate, and so warm, we live out the UK in a very hot country so the under floor heating, Aga and wood fire were fabulous.

Everything worked perfectly in the cottage, the views were outstanding, you could see Blackpool Tower on the horizon. Pheasants running around everywhere too.

Excellent food shopping in Garstang15 mins by car through the beautiful countryside.

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness of the cottage.
Liked least: Weak internet, however it was in the middle the countryside......
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing