We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Preston”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great choice in Preston”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently spent a week at the Park Hotel during the Open Golf Championship. The location is very convenient to Lytham and St. Anne's as well as Southport. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast was very good. We ate dinner three nights at the hotel. Not an extensive menu, but all well done. Really a very comfortable and pleasant stay. Also a good value. Nice small hotel size with personal attention. If in the area, we would not hesitate to stay at the Park Hotel again.

Room Tip: The large room on the east side of the original building is quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtgoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    56
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
75
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I am a local in the area and arranged a 70th party here for my brother and family visiting from different parts of the country. Thank you to Louise and Bev for giving us exactly what we wanted (and more). From giving us help arranging our choice of menu, Louise seemed happy to give us whatever we wanted, to helping with our (changing) number of place settings.
From the moment we arrived in the beautiful entrance hall we were made to feel very welcome, a sentiment echoed by all of my family. The hotel is a very successful mix of traditional and contemporary accommodation, each with its own charm.
Our food was excellent and the staff were very attentive making sure we had everything we wanted.Thank you to Danni who manned the bar, she was friendly and efficient. And not forgetting the others who took down our decorations after we ate, leaving us free to enjoy the rest of the evening. Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and plentiful with a great selection to choose from.
This was a thoroughly enjoyable occasion and my family congratulated me on my choice of venue.
Thanks again Louise and Bev, hope to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original part of the house are spacious with high ceilings and traditional decor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieg34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The old house reminded me of Fawlty Towers - but there the similarities ended (thankfully)! Lovely entrance hall, opening out to communal areas, and then some guest rooms in the house itself with others in an attached annex (good facilities in the rooms). Lovely staff who were helpful and very friendly and great welcome and attention to detail on arrival and throughout from Bev and Louise. My stays (on business) included several nights at a time over about 9 weeks and I would thoroughly recommend The Park Hotel. Thank you all.Sue T.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a lovely big walk in shower - great for people with difficulty stepping in/out of a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked the dining room for my mothers 90th party , about twenty guests
We had the place to ourselves
the rates were very good only cost about £350 for the evening inclucing buffet
the staff and manager were very attentive and always available
we had a buffet menu which can be tailored to your needs,
The house is a late Victorian house withe original features and well maintained and a perfect
backdrop for an intimate occassion.
This is the sort of place that is difficult to find these days
Luckily we didn't want the previous weekend as jools holand and his entourage had booked the place for his performance at the guild hall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathangan, Co Kildare
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have just spent just short of 4 weeks at the Park Hotel while working on a business project in Preston and the experience was excellent. The staff could not do enough for me. The room was newly renovated and had everything I needed including a dvd player with a range of dvds to watch. Breakfast was lovely and the coffee wasvery good (hard to find thesedays). As a vegetarian I found the dinner choice a little limiting but there are plenty of shops nearby. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was my second visit to the Park Hotel and it was every bit as good as the first. The owners are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the newer rooms generally being smaller than the older ones. Good location - close to University, Station and shops. Even found a beautiful park close by on this visit.Blackpool is just a short drive away.
Big plus is actually meeting the owners of the hotel, rather than the 'front desk staff' of a big chain.
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Have just spent the weekend at The Park on a training course.Lovely little hotel more like a big B and B.Good sized room with modern newly renovated en suite which was pristine.Very helpful staff and excellent food.Would highly recommend if wanting to stay in small hotel with personal service.Could not fault,would stay again if ever back in Preston.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 209 Tulketh Road | Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is 3 Star AA Edwardian Manor House built in 1903.We are the only 3 star hotel that is independently owned and run in Preston, as as such, we feel that we can offer a better, and more personal service for your stay,The Edwardian Mansion house dates back to 1903, and retains its wonderful period features. The main house has a bar and dining room, and six traditional double rooms, a studio apartment for a family, and our two new superior rooms,An annex at the rear of the property adds another 10 single and twin rooms which have been finished in more modern style,We can accommodate functions and business conferences, and our location in the lovely Ashton area of Preston offers fresh air and large open parks, whilst only 5 minutes drive from Preston town centre,So whether it be business or pleasure for your visit to Preston, we're sure that your stay at The Park Hotel in Preston will be enjoyable, and memorable, We have 19 beautifully designed rooms, Lounge bar with a wide choice of drinks,Sun Terrace to enjoy drinks,Intimate restaurant with 22 seats, Free private car-park with CCTV, Free WIFI throughout the hotel so for the discerning guests who dare to stay away from the characterless chain hotels with their uniform rooms and sterile service, we present the charming and unique Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Preston
The Park Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing