We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, homely hotel with a family feel.”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel in Preston close to the City centre. Friendly, warm staff. Always bending over backwards. We had a family birthday celebration held there with guests staying in the hotel overnight and everyone was impressed by the service standards, staff helpfulness and hotel cleanliness. A very pleasant stay. Definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Park Hotel makes an enjoyable alternative to the many, perfectly reasonable, chain hotels. I only had a stay of one night, but my room was clean and very comfortable, and even if the bathroom was pretty small, it was all more than adequate. A very comfortable bed ensured that I got a good nights sleep, and the bath linen was of unusually good quality for a hotel at this price. I had dinner in the bar - good value and a good choice. Breakfast in the morning was even better - plenty of options and good quality. The only downside - it took quite a time for the hot water to run through to the taps, but there was plenty of it when it got there.

Overall, if you want a pleasant alternative to the "anytown" anonymity of the major hotels chains at the same sort of cost, you could do a lot worse than to pick the Park Hotel. I'd definitely stay there again if I'm ever back in Preston.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swarf_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have been staying at The Park at least once per week since January 2011. I could stay at Premier Inn or Holiday Inn instead, but wouldn't consider it. Something in the region of 130 nights spent there is the best endorsement I can give.

As others have stated, Louise and all the other staff are always very accommodating, and this is the hotel's biggest strength. If you need something, just ask - they'll always do their best to help you.

The food is always freshly cooked, and the menu offers home-cooked style dishes, ranging from sandwiches to rib-eye steak and more. Breakfast is delicious too, with just about anything you could ask for.

Other benefits include free wifi (no annoying sign-in pages, fuss free), free parking and nice refreshments in your room - good quality biscuits, mineral water and hot chocolate in addition to the usual tea & coffee.

If you are going to be visiting Preston, and want somewhere more homely than the corporate chains - this this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here after a long drive from loch ness (7 hrs) , we checked out this place via booking.com , however we phoned the hotel direct and got a  better deal,   than the advertised booking.com price . 
Also impressed with  Louise keeping the kitchen open late for our arrival. Doubt the premier inns of this world would do that !! 
Good Food , great Craic over a couple of beers !!  All finished off with a lovely breakfast .  Big thank you to Louise she was a great mine host .

Rory and Fraser 
Cobbs Cakes Loch Ness 

Room Tip: Phone hotel direct for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise p, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely review it was lovely to meet you both. We have no problem in keeping our restaurant open a little later for guests wishing to dine with us after long journeys, as long as they ring ahead as you did to let us know it is not a problem for us, unlike the chained hotels in the area that are just managed, that's the beauty of being an independant hotel. We hope your business meeting went well in Preston and hope you return soon as most of our business clients often do. Thanks Louise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed here with my wife over the weekend, and had to write a review as a way of thanking the staff for their "nothing is too much" style of hospitality!
The hotel is a wonderful building from around 1900, and the first thing that hits you is the amazing tiled floor and winding staircase in the grand reception. We were greeted by Louise who checked us in and straight away felt like a friend we’d known all of my life!
We were taken to one of the traditional rooms in the main bit of the manor, and were a little concerned after I had read the previous review saying the rooms were cold. The room was absolutely fine, and I couldn't see how it could be cold, as not only was there adequate heating, but there was also an oil heater too in case you like it really hot!
We ate out in Preston City Centre for our evening meal, but couldn't resist the 'Award winning breakfast'. No wonder it won an award, it was superb!!! Real quality meat, and perfectly done eggs - the only way to start the day. Like the last reviewer, the breakfast room was quiet, but rather than feeling like a morgue, we enjoyed feeling like we were the lord & lady of our Downton Abbey house. Again, hats off to Louise for really caring for us during our stay.
If I could give this place 6 stars, I would. Definitely coming again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DNezmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Disappointing! we wished we has stayed at Premier Inn. We arrived after a 5 hour journey on a minus 5 degree freezing night and the heating had only been on an hour and then it switched off for the night, we were cold throughout the night. The shower screen would not close so stayed inverted over the bath which was dangerous trying to have a shower with a glass window sticking in your ribs and they charged for an executive room!!!! Cold draughty reception room for breakfast and like a morgue so us 3 pairs of guests where whispering and whimpering! I write this because I am fed up trying to support local hoteliers only to find they are overpriced and don't provide the service they sell you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitefirestaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great hotel it was very clean and comfortable.Excellent breakfast with very good service there seemed to be a lot of business people using the hotel .The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castle536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#8 of 15 in Preston
634 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#10 of 15 in Preston
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Address: 209 Tulketh Road | Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range: £45 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is 3 Star AA Edwardian Manor House built in 1903.We are the only 3 star hotel that is independently owned and run in Preston, as as such, we feel that we can offer a better, and more personal service for your stay,The Edwardian Mansion house dates back to 1903, and retains its wonderful period features. The main house has a bar and dining room, and six traditional double rooms, a studio apartment for a family, and our two new superior rooms,An annex at the rear of the property adds another 10 single and twin rooms which have been finished in more modern style,We can accommodate functions and business conferences, and our location in the lovely Ashton area of Preston offers fresh air and large open parks, whilst only 5 minutes drive from Preston town centre,So whether it be business or pleasure for your visit to Preston, we're sure that your stay at The Park Hotel in Preston will be enjoyable, and memorable, We have 19 beautifully designed rooms, Lounge bar with a wide choice of drinks,Sun Terrace to enjoy drinks,Intimate restaurant with 22 seats, Free private car-park with CCTV, Free WIFI throughout the hotel so for the discerning guests who dare to stay away from the characterless chain hotels with their uniform rooms and sterile service, we present the charming and unique Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Preston
The Park Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing