We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome to a super hotel, well managed and friendly”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm welcome to a super hotel, well managed and friendly”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

From arrival the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful organising taxis and giving local advice. Our room had a four poster bed and a large corner bay window which made the room special and spacious. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay (iron, kettle, en suite etc). The hotel is a well preserved traditional character property and the entrance hall has a superb tiled floor. We had a great breakfast in the comfortable dining room with plenty of choice, you could stay for a week and have something different every day! If we ever stay in Preston again we will certainly return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    55
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
73
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

No problems with this hotel used for overnight stop en route to southampton. room clean and nicely decorated. parking space in grounds and excellent breakfast arrived early and walked to marina area for look round.Also pub in village within walking distance for food if required

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived at Park Hotel as pre arranged earlier than usual check in time due to us attending a wedding, which was wonderful as we could get ready for our 11.30am wedding. Our room was amazing, clean, comfortable - bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was really good, lots of choice - fruit juices, cereal, a full English breakfast. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We felt really at home here and would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Preston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My daughter lives in Preston and we booked this for one night to attend a party. Very close to center but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Booked over the phone and lady was extremely helpful. Room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed, TV, tea & coffee making equipment (plenty of milk and tea & coffee as well). Breakfast was superb - no other word for it.
Only criticism would be that the pillows were not very comfortable - but everyone has personal preferences.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having lived in Preston for years we were returning for a couple of nights to visit family. I chose The Park Hotel because of it's closeness to where my sister lives but also I was impressed by the rooms shown on their website. Having passed Tulketh Road numerous times as a youngster I did not even know the hotel was there! Booking the room was easy over the telephone.

When we arrived the hotel was a lovely old house with extensions. The reception area was small but ample for the size of the hotel. The staircase leading from the reception to the upstairs rooms looked like the original from an old house. It was lovely and added to the homely feeling of the hotel.

We booked an Executive double which was a ground floor room. We arrived earlier than standard check in time, pre-arranged by telephone the day before. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room which was exactly as shown on the website. The room was spotless and well furnished. The bathroom was excellent with a lovely shower. The tea / coffee facilities were great and were replenished for the second day of our stay. We ate at the hotel in the evening. The service was good and the food okay. We stayed in the bar in the evening and were joined by a number of other residents. The hotel was busy however there was a good friendly and indeed homely feel to the bar area. There is only cans of beer but ample spirits and wine available which not massively over priced. Breakfast was good with a good selection of cereals, fruit and fruit juices. The breakfast menu is good and although the hotel was busy and most people came down for breakfast around the same time you did not have to wait long for your meal.

The room was well furnished and the bed very comfortable and although we were using the hotel for leisure we could see that it is also well equipped for the business traveller and is well located close to the dock area and not far from the town centre.

We are returning in July and have already booked. We will be arriving late and leaving early. We were a bit worried that we would not have time for breakfast although during the week it is served from 7.15 to cater for business clients. We were assured that if we were in a rush we would be fed...they would not let us go hungry. We really felt like part of the family...very kind, considerate and caring. We would definitely recommend the hotel for both leisure and business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Only booked hotel after screw up with Ibis hotel in Preston but certainly wasn't second best choice. If I'd known about this little gem earlier, I would have picked it first.
As a base for a golf party, it's ideal.
Only criticism I would have is that the bar prices could do with being a bit cheaper but didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymcv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Golf trip with 10+ mates all of which agreed the hotel was exceptional.
Excellent service throughout.
Rooms were immaculately clean with all amenities; showers were hot and powerful.
Staff were so engaging and could not do enough for all of us.
Breakfast was everything you could ask for, and even served ahead of time when we asked.
The decoration and fittings in the whole place is fabulous, clean and so befitting the period of the magnificent building.
Parking is ample and secure, very well positioned for travelling or getting into town.
If I am ever to stop again anywhere in this area, this is where I would recommend without any hesitation or reservation for family, business and golf trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopAFGSGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#10 of 15 in Preston
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
947 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
693 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 209 Tulketh Road | Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is 3 Star AA Edwardian Manor House built in 1903.We are the only 3 star hotel that is independently owned and run in Preston, as as such, we feel that we can offer a better, and more personal service for your stay,The Edwardian Mansion house dates back to 1903, and retains its wonderful period features. The main house has a bar and dining room, and six traditional double rooms, a studio apartment for a family, and our two new superior rooms,An annex at the rear of the property adds another 10 single and twin rooms which have been finished in more modern style,We can accommodate functions and business conferences, and our location in the lovely Ashton area of Preston offers fresh air and large open parks, whilst only 5 minutes drive from Preston town centre,So whether it be business or pleasure for your visit to Preston, we're sure that your stay at The Park Hotel in Preston will be enjoyable, and memorable, We have 19 beautifully designed rooms, Lounge bar with a wide choice of drinks,Sun Terrace to enjoy drinks,Intimate restaurant with 22 seats, Free private car-park with CCTV, Free WIFI throughout the hotel so for the discerning guests who dare to stay away from the characterless chain hotels with their uniform rooms and sterile service, we present the charming and unique Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Preston
The Park Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing