We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed here as a stop over on a long roadtrip and it was fantastic! Great room - very clean and modern. Great service - very friendly! Great breakfast - delicious! Would stay here again as a base to explore the area. We didn't see what Preston had to offer, but it's location to the lakes district and price make it a gem!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PondCrosser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    56
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
75
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have stayed in many hotels in many cities and therefore feel in a good position to be able to comment comparatively. I have stayed in The Park for 2 nights a week over the last 9 months whilst in Preston on business. I really would not wish to stay anywhere else! The ambience is very good, the accommodation very comfortable and the food is good. Louise and Bev go out of their way to make you welcome and are great ambassadors for the hotel trade - they could teach others a lot!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Echoes of its early life as Whinny-Clough (the first mansion built in the Ashton area in 1903) abound at The Park Hotel: the mosaic tiled lobby floor; the dining room's high ceilings, crystal chandeliers and marble fireplace. This ambiance is only surpassed by the warm, caring, helpful attitude of Bev and Louise and their smiling staff. The quiet, residential location is close to a bus stop or a short drive or cab ride to city centre. Breakfasts are excellent. The bar is a charming snuggery with stocked bookshelves and an outdoor deck great for relaxing. As a senior solo traveller from Canada I was delighted with my stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveliz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The Park Hotel is a find, Louise and Bev go out of their way to welcome their guests and to provide good food and service. I and nine other women from Ireland stayed in The Park Hotel, Wed 23rd June to Fri 25th, we were all over for the MU world wide AGM. A yearly outing for us all, which changes venu each year. This year thanks to this lovely hotel and staff, it was agreed that it was the best trip yet!! If travelling for business or pleasure I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2016hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We wanted to visit a special event in the locality so it was ideally situated. Bev and Louise made us very welcome and the breakfasts were excellent. It's an easy bus ride to the town and everything we wanted was in close proximity.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tc2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Fabulous staff who were always accomodating. Would return for pleasure.
Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verityowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I can't praise this small hotel enough. I stayed there in April as my mother had just died. Even though I come from Preston and I had my family around me, I was so glad of Bev and Lous love and support. Not only did they allow me to invite my family back to the hotel to carry on with the wake but they also held a birthday party for my son. They did my washing, cooked breakfast for us when we slept late. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A big thank you to Kamilla and Izzy too. Stayed there twice now and I now consider it my home away from home. Fantastic people and fantastic place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DohaRosequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#11 of 15 in Preston
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 209 Tulketh Road | Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is 3 Star AA Edwardian Manor House built in 1903.We are the only 3 star hotel that is independently owned and run in Preston, as as such, we feel that we can offer a better, and more personal service for your stay,The Edwardian Mansion house dates back to 1903, and retains its wonderful period features. The main house has a bar and dining room, and six traditional double rooms, a studio apartment for a family, and our two new superior rooms,An annex at the rear of the property adds another 10 single and twin rooms which have been finished in more modern style,We can accommodate functions and business conferences, and our location in the lovely Ashton area of Preston offers fresh air and large open parks, whilst only 5 minutes drive from Preston town centre,So whether it be business or pleasure for your visit to Preston, we're sure that your stay at The Park Hotel in Preston will be enjoyable, and memorable, We have 19 beautifully designed rooms, Lounge bar with a wide choice of drinks,Sun Terrace to enjoy drinks,Intimate restaurant with 22 seats, Free private car-park with CCTV, Free WIFI throughout the hotel so for the discerning guests who dare to stay away from the characterless chain hotels with their uniform rooms and sterile service, we present the charming and unique Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Preston
The Park Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing