We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, staff, value - room choice important”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've had 3 stays at Preston Central, the latest one in August 2013. Overall the hotel has definitely met our expectations. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast plentiful and decent quality. Good value especially if booked well in advance. Good location for city centre and rail station.
On our last stay we were allocated a low floor room overlooking Fox Street. There was a lot of noise from a mini cab office and their customers (through to 5am), as well as smoke drifting up into room. As the hotel had few guests at the time I was mystified why we weren't given a quieter high floor room, as requested when booking. I raised my concern promptly after a sleepless night. We were moved to a much quieter room next day. Also later received a refund for one night room cost. Premier Inn staff communicated well and resolved my problem.
Overall I would definitely stay again but would avoid the rooms mentioned above unless you're a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floor rooms directly overlooking Fox Street near mini cab office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowleyrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, we welcome all types of feedback so that we can fix and hopefully prevent any future problems. I'm happy that you are satisfied that we did our best to resolve the problem and that you received a refund under the good night guarantee. I hope that you will come and join us again in the future and we will make sure that you are allocated on the quieter side.
Many Thanks
Sharon D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Congratulations to Premier. We stayed here for 11 days over the Christmas period as our house is rented. It would be difficult to fault. The attention to every aspect of the design and organisation is excellent. The staff are polite and friendly (as to be expected of course), the food was very good with various breakfast options - from a 'grease out' in the restaurant to a 'grab and go' out or to your room.. The rooms are very well designed, such as the location of the hair dryer, bath available instead of just a shower, the cloth storage space limed to essentials, etc, etc. a good nights sleep is guaranteed and we can confirm this.

Room Tip: There are two taxi offices directly opposite the main entrance, a few steps away. Parking is extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaPhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi Brenda,
Thnak you for posting such a wonderful review of our hotel, myself and all the team take great pride in providing quality food and accommodation. And i'm so proud that we helped you enjoy you xmas break here in Preston.
Please come and stay with us again next year, you are more than welcome!!
Regards
Sharon D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This has been open about 3 years, and although I visit Preston often it is the first time I have stayed here. We were booked in for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. There is a very secure entrance and the hotel occupies the upper floors, accessed with a key card (once you have checked in) I found this very reassuring as it is in the town centre and without this security anyone could walk in. The whole place feels well maintained and comfortable and the public areas are well set out. The restaurant area is lovely, but we only had breakfast (good) so can't comment on the dinner menu. Rooms are pretty much what you expect at PI - clean, comfortable and adequately equipped. The staff are very friendly; approachable and helpful.
Location was important for my trip - close to town - and there is a taxi office directly opposite which was very handy. Also on Fox Street are a couple of really good bars - Kuckoos Boutique Cocktail Bar is amazing - go there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wintersunseeker411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for such a fantastic review of our hotel here at Preston Central, i'm so happy we helped make your xmas a memorable one and hoped you had a great New Year. Please come and stay with us again and we will try to make your stay "perfect" once again.
Thanks from everyone at Preston Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a very comfortable and great value for money hotel! Is is very fresh and clean and is right in the centre of Preston. Very helpful staff. Only downfall is paying for parking which was £10 for 24 hours. Not bad if you're going shopping for the day in Preston

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hi Lora,
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review of Preston Central, i'm really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will join us again in the future, with regards to the car park we are in constant contact with the Euro car park to try and get the best deal for our guests and hopefully the price will come down in the future.
Thank you again and i hope you have happy New year
Regards
Sharon D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked a room (non refundable) of £29. Lovely clean big room. Big bed (although a little hard, but pillows lovely!). Nice bathroom, good tv and had tea/coffee and some toiletries which I was not expecting.

Staff very friendly and everything was as it should be - no noise from outside I heard and the self check in machines in reception were brilliant!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hi Mish,
Thank you for posting such positive review of Preston Central, i'm so happy everything was to your satisfaction ( except the hard beds) i will pass this on to the housekeeping team and get them to look into this.
Thank you once again and i hope you have a Happy New year.
Regards
Sharon D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is one of these modern towerblock Premier Inns. It might seem a bit Soviet on the way in, but once up in the lift and at reception it is pleasant enough, if corporate. Room was very comfortable. Bar was very good as they kept it open to about 2am for our party. Breakfast is good but hot stuff is served by the waiter, only cold is a true buffet. Generally a good hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hi Kev,
Thank you for your review of our hotel here at Preston Central. on the whole it was a very positive review so thank you for taking the time to post it. I'm afraid there is nothing we can do about the building design being "soviet" ha ha. But your feedback will be passed on to head office so who knows in the future.
Thanks again for your review and may i wish you a happy New year from everyone here at Preston Central.
Sharon D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

When we arrived I was warmly welcomed by the reception staff, and the children were treated to a selection box from under the Christmas tree. I soon came to realise that I had booked the stay on the wrong day when my reservation wasn't found. The staff were really helpful in accommodation us for the night and offered outstanding service. The stay was very warm and comfortable and very spacious. The hotel is very handy for the train station with only a 5min walk, and very easy to find! I would like to take this opportunity to thank the 2 members of staff that were on hand that day and made us feel very welcome and were very helpful, because of this I would definitely stay again and it will b my 1st point of call if I were to stay in Preston again, thank you very much for helping my family :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Hi Charlotte, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. I'm so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Preston Central and i will pass on your comments to the reception team Jason and Leanne, who checked you in yesterday.
Once again thank you for the great feedback and we all wish you and the family a very merry xmas ;)
Sharon D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#8 of 15 in Preston
634 reviews
3.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
2.9 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
766 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel

Address: Fox Street, Preston PR1 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#1 Best Value Hotel in Preston
#2 Family Hotel in Preston
#3 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range: £45 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has 140 modern rooms and an adjoining Thyme restaurant situated in the city centre of Preston. Great access to Preston station less than half a mile away and easily accessible for visitors to Preston North End Football ground. The University of Central Lancashire, Preston College and the Guild Hall are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Central Premier Hotel Preston
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing