We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel. Superb Staff. Superb Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel. Superb Staff. Superb Stay.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Preston Central Premier Inn for three nights in late July 2014.

We were very happy with our stay. Our room (no. 422) was lovely. It was clean, modern, spacious and had excellent air conditioning which was much appreciated as we stayed over when the weather was really hot. It was on the fourth floor so we had a nice view of the outside world. Plenty of comfy pillows and clean towels provided.The rooms were cleaned every day without fail.

The staff all round were excellent from the cleaners, restaurant staff and reception all we received was polite, professional and friendly service. They do say Preston is one of the friendliest towns in England and I can vouch for that now as most places I went I was met with a smile and a kind word..such a totally different attitude to the miserable grumpy faces I have to contend with living in South London..it was a breath of fresh air for me and the missus.

The hotel is situated very close (easy walking distance) to the main railway station and the High Street with plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants to visit. The location couldn't really be any better placed for convenience.

Now a couple of mini gripes..no place is perfect and I should mention them. The breakfasts are fantastic, if you go for the full English you can help yourself to a lovely buffet and eat as much as you like but at £8.75 each it works out not short of nearly 20 quid for breakfast for two, which in my opinion is pretty steep. There is however a Wetherspoons pub about 300 metres away on the main ring road that does a good breakfast for half that price so if you don't want to start every morning with a full belly but empty wallet that is the place to head for.

Another petty moan is being charged to access wifi coverage for your laptop or tablet. You've already paid for your stay and most pubs, hotels etc. nowadays give you wifi as part of the price but not Premier Inn..they charge you 3 quid to use their wifi for 24 hours. OK..OK..so I know it's not a lot of money but it just seems like they're trying to squeeze a few more pennies out of you on the side.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Five Stars well deserved.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlfonzeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi There,

Wow what a fantastic review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, i;m so happy that you enjoyed your stay and your comments will be feedback to the whole team here, so they can see what a great job they do.

Thanks once again for the 5 star review!

Kind Regards

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    270
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
314
267
111
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at premier inn central because we were visiting friends, location was not all that how ever the premier inn itself was outstanding room was clean and fresh, staff were very welcoming breakfast was great and staff were REALLY REALLY friendly, they catered for your dietary needs. Only downside is parking if you don not find space on the white lines outside the premier inn you have to park about 5/10 mins away and pay £8 for 24 hours. Overall great stay and a great night sleep for all of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdibaA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of Preston Central, i'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and i'm also very proud of all the team for going the extra mile .

Kind Regards

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a room late after a very bad experience in Blackpool at gr8 hotel.. receptionist was very helpful with check in. Room clean.. smelling fresh and comfortable. Fabulous power shower. Bathroom clean.. lovely breakfast and pleased to see kids eat free.. will be back . Thank you

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Karen,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review, i'm so happy that you and the family had a great time here and we hope that you will come back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton In Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

rooms are clean and well worth the price .great to amenities,but it is in the center so some traffic noise and views are not to much to look at .Breakfast is well worth a go could eat as much as you like(cereals,cooked breakfast help yourself, crumpets,toast,croissants-great choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Paula,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of Preston Central, i'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and also the breakfast, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the Premier Inn here, stayed here over graduation so ideal location for that. Staff for very friendly from arrival - where I was greeted with a friendly face explaining how I check in, to breakfast time where you could have a laugh and a joke with the staff. On one morning, they even kept the breakfast open as I was a bit late coming down so I could have some hot breakfast - now that is what you call good service! I had a great couple of nights sleep with comfy bed! My only criticism was the WiFi was a pain on the first day for a few hours, and wouldn't let me connect when I needed to do work, but in the end it worked.

I would definitely stay there again, if I were to travel to Preston again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Ste,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review of our hotel, i'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay with us again if you returned to Preston.

Many Thanks Again

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, West Sussex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Premier Inn for a weekend as we were attending a wedding in Preston. Check-in took few minutes as there were automated checking in machines where you typed your last name for your booking. Immediately 2 room key cards were dispatched below with a slip stating your room number. This new technologically advanced method of checking in was efficient and not at all time consuming.
Our family room was clean, fairly spacious, with AC, bright and looked very new and unused. There were toiletries in the bathroom and we got a good nights sleep in the comfy cosy beds.
Our room was on the 4th floor, on the back side, away from the noise of the clubs, so we slept ok.
I can imagine if your room is on the lower floors facing Fox Street (front end of hotel), you are most likely to be disturbed from rowdy revellers in the early hours. Tip - ask for rooms on a high floor facing away from Fox Street.
Staff here were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is nestled in the heart of Preston Town Centre off the main high street.
There is a cash point machine nearby and on the same street, night clubs can be found.
A Tesco Express in town for your essentials can be found nearby.
The hotel does not have its own car park, which makes unloading your luggage difficult as there are double yellow lines across both sides of the road outside the hotel and traffic wardens can be seen patrolling the area.
Luckily, there is a 24hours Euro Car park literally behind the hotel, 2 streets away, where you can park your car. We paid £8.00 for a 16hour park. 24hrs parking is £10.00, so fairly reasonable.
The parking compound is safe as it is manned by a member of staff 24hours, daily.
Wi-if is available at the hotel but chargeable.
We had a fantastic stay at this Premier Inn without any problems and thoroughly enjoyed it.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is exceptional value, being a budget hotel situated in a prime location.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on the highest floor facing away from the Main Street. This will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWorld78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi There Travelworld78,

Thank you so much for posting this really positive review of Preston Central,i'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to all your friends. This type of feedback is greatly appreciated and i will show your comments to the whole team so they can see for themselves what a fantastic job they are doing.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here before joining the Cumbrian Mountain Express (Settle / Carlisle Line).Needed to join the train at Preston Central so stayed here the night before and the night after. Got a good deal with the bed and breakfast plus evening meal. Staff very friendly and efficient, room excellent, meals also excellent with a wonderful choice both at breakfast and dinner, they even provided Gluten Free bread.This was our first time staying at a Premier Inn, we will be staying at more after this experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D, Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
HI Bill and Sheila,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review of Preston Central,myself and all the team are very happy and proud that you enjoyed your stay here with us and its great to hear that you will be coming back again.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Sharon D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Address: Fox Street, Preston PR1 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#1 Best Value Hotel in Preston
#2 Family Hotel in Preston
#3 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has 140 modern rooms and an adjoining Thyme restaurant situated in the city centre of Preston. Great access to Preston station less than half a mile away and easily accessible for visitors to Preston North End Football ground. The University of Central Lancashire, Preston College and the Guild Hall are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Central Premier Hotel Preston
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing