We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant cottage”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rwlbuyoc
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant cottage”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in woodpecker we are family of morethan 15 around 20 including children..
The place spot on there was loads of open spaces outside front and back of the thouse for children to run around add the tennis court that we played..inside the woodpecker each room ensuite except for one single room which is good fot teenagers...it was an lounge dinner open plan that gives alot of space and the conservatory add plus on it.terry was very accommodating a big thank you to you..

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Heaven!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I are just in love with Barnacre Cottages. Every time we visit we are pleasantly welcomed. We honestly cannot fault anything. The cottages are beautiful and the views are stunning. This is the perfect getaway.

Most importantly, the family are just wonderful. After not visiting for over 6 years or so, we were greeted so warmly. Even with their busy schedule they always find time to pop in for a chat and are always extremely attentive.

It really is just home from home and we will definitely see you soon!

The Walker Family x

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearless6...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage and surroundings suited equally for disabled and able bodied people, and pets.”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an exceptionally brilliant weeks stay at woodpecker cottage in Garstang. It was chosen because it was one of very few wheelchair friendly and pet friendly cottages available, and we were ALL extremely happy with the choice as it was also a very beautifully presented and maintained cottage. Everything and I do mean everything was thought off! From toiletries through to a very well equipped kitchen.

We had several concerns about our up and coming stay at the cottage with our disabled father which we did discuss with the owners Sue & Terry. However we needn't have worried about anything as true to their words they took care of a couple of possible issues we had raised before we arrived. The wet rooms were very well equipped and very spatious and just right for both wheelchair users and others. To be completely honest all the bedrooms and bathrooms were exceptional.

We had booked the cottage for a few celebrations and invited several friends and family to participate in these. They too were very impressed with the sheer size and beauty of the cottage along with the amenities.

I cannot express our gratitude to the owners and their daughter for making our stay so special so much so that we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay, and several weeks later my disabled father who doesn't usually leave his own home still recalls the beautiful cottage and it's wonderful views and wildlife nearby. We were made to feel so welcomed by Sue & Terry and they even baked us a beautiful cake upon our arrival.

I could go on writing a lot more about the place and the owners but nothing would give it the actual justice that it deserves and that you would get by actually staying there and experiencing it for yourself. All being well we would definitely be returning.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margy D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellant family get together”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 15, three generations and have just spent a weekend at Woodpecker Cottage. What a wonderful property. Magnificent views and so much space for us all. Huge table to seat us all and so many plates, dishes and cutlery. The furnishings were beautiful and the whole décor very tasteful.
We enjoyed a BBQ and sitting round the fire pit late into the night. Children played and played on the grass just across from the cottage, little ones loved the swings and big ones played tennis. They said it was the best holiday they had ever had. The adults said it took them back to their childhood, playing without a care in our garden. We had a very competitive game of rounders (hope we wernt too noisy)
Thank you for the scrummy welcome cake. We had a fabulous time.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorJC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Woodpecker Cottage absolutely perfect house for larger groups”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked both Woodpecker Cottage and Partridge. Woodpecker has wonderful views right across to Blackpool, Morecambe and the coast. It's a lovely house, perfectly designed for larger groups, even more so since the addition of a beautiful, large conservatory. Both cottages are very well appointed. Owners Sue and Terry are friendly, helpful and so welcoming (Sue's victoria sponge is absolutely the best ever, made with their own hens eggs and her lightness of hand). They were also especially kind, patient and cooperative with us over our booking of Partridge, as there were health issues with one of our group which needed time to resolve. Happily all was well in the end and we had a sunny, fabulous four day stay. The Trough of Bowland has stunning countryside to enjoy with walks straight from the properties.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denimpala...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury hidden getaway”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I call it a hidden getaway - and it really did feel like that, but in reality it only took us ten minutes to get back into Garstang so not too far off the beaten track.
We have recently spent a gorgeous weekend in woodpecker cottage - we were a group of 13 ladies and were celebrating a special birthday.
The whole booking to staying process was incredibly easy and Terry and Sue (the owners) were more than happy to answer my many questions.
The quality of the cottage itself was of a very high spec. With lovely attention to detail (the homemade Victoria sponge was delicious)!
We had a spa day at the local Acresfield spa which again I can't recommend highly enough.
It was the perfect getaway and anybody considering a weekend away - I would urge you to choose Barnacre Cottages!!! We'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTra...
1 review
“The coldest wettest weather but the most cosy and comfortable cottage we've stayed in.”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

All Three generations of us had never visited this area of Lancashire before (except for myself who lived in Morecambe for 3 years starting in 1945) To show my family this part of my history was one reason that we searched out Barnacres for a Christmas Hoiday.

For the past 20years I have treated my Family to an annual Cottage holiday in the UK and Europe and we can honestly say Woodpecker Cottage was by far one of the best.

The weather was appalling but the Cottage was clean, warm, welcoming, comfortable
and equipped to a high standard. We could see the Farm was well sited with distant views over the coast when gaps appeared in the rain clouds. Those of you who visit in the summer are in for a real treat.

Took a bit of time to get used to the numerous roads surrounding Barnacres but this was the charm of the area including the mysterious Bunkers 'with ears'. Never found out what they were.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.