We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation,extremely high standard”
The large detached, light filled Piggeries cottage has amazing views across to the coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large detached, light filled Piggeries cottage has amazing views across to the coast
Large, light, spacious comfy living area, with huge stone fireplace and wood burning stove. Spacious double bedroom en suite, full length windows, juliet balcony, en suite bath and shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The large detached, light filled Piggeries cottage has amazing views across to the coast
Large, light, spacious comfy living area, with huge stone fireplace and wood burning stove.
Spacious double bedroom en suite, full length windows, juliet balcony, en suite bath and shower room
Fully equipped hand painted Mark Wilkinson kitchen with Aga stove, french doors to landscaped garden
Lovely conservatory with french doors opening to private landscaped gardens with outdoor furniture
Family bedroom with en suite and juliet balcony with fantastic views across the countryside.
Impressive entrance to the Piggeries with tradtional, beautiful heavy oak main door.
Piggeries Cottage at night
Beautiful and fully equipped with Aga stove, electric oven and gas hob, dishwasher, fridge & freezer
View from the kitchen terrace across the countryside, an ideal spot to relax and enjoy the view
Beautiful dining kitchen with breakfast bar and dining table, with french doors to terrace & garden
Attractive, light and bright Orangery style dining room with table to seat 9.
New, attractive en suite Villeroy & Boch bathroom with separate shower
Feature vaulted ceiling in the spacious dining kitchen.
Guests are welcome to play on our well maintained all weather doubles tennis court.
Spectacular sunsets and amazing views from the cottage
Lots of visiting wildlife in our fields and quiet country lanes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation,extremely high standard”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Recently refurbished to a very high standard, top of range appliances: Aga,Mielle,Villeroy and Boch etc Very comfortable and spacious .We travelled with family effectively 5 adults plenty of room all bedrooms en suite. Very nice area and very pleasant hosts . We are regular visitors to Barnacre ,Piggeries has to be new favourite cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tennis court
Liked least: no downside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
425Joanne...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic luxuriously relaxing home from home”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone. From the outside it looks stunning and inside it dosen't dissapoint. It was spotlessly clean and decorated throughout to a high standard and as soon as you walked through the door you felt totally relaxed and at home. There were even added extra touches such as books for all ages, jigsaws and board games. Even with nine people in the property there was still plenty of room, very spacious. The children enjoyed feeding the chickens and petting the pony . On arrival we were also welcomed with a freshly baked home made cake which was delicious. We definately hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to go home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olga54
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 3 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

A friend and I stayed in The Piggeries, which can sleep four. It's a delightful cottage, with not only central heating but also a wood burning stove in the lounge area. There's a bird table just outside the French windows to the dining area, which provided endless fascination over breakfast, not least when the chickens decided to fly up on to it. The cottage is spotless, very cosy and homely, with specially commissioned pictures of pigs and mice on the walls. We had everything we needed for self-catering, including very attractive Villeroy et Boch crockery. The owners, Terry and Sue, were extremely pleasant and friendly, and ensured we had a relaxing break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleone...
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A true Gem”
Reviewed 9 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We stayed in the Piggeries for the week after Christmas into New Year and what a wonderful break we had; it has been added to our list of best New Years. The cottage sleeps up to four so was ideal for the two of us + dog! The lounge, dinning room, kitchen is all in one which I thought might be cramped but it isn’t. The very comfy leather sofa and chair in front of the log burner were well used and the free logs were greatly appreciated.
Terry and Sue are really special people and have created a small haven with their cottages. They were really helpful and very generous. They also clearly take a great deal of pride in making sure everything is right for their tenants. I would commend these cottages to anyone wanting to rent a cottage in this area and can see why they have won a 5 star award.
We walked out from the cottage for a really good day’s stomp a couple of times, doing different routes and could have done many more, of course always incorporating a coffee/tea shop stop. The lakes and Yorkshire are in easy reach but there is much to see and do locally and the surrounding area which is easy to explore and rivals the lakes in many ways. The footpath signing is very good with easy available maps and guides detailing a multitude of walks of different lengths and abilities.
We needed a relaxing break away from it all and that's what we got. Within easy driving distance is a fabulous farm shop and also a local Booths supermarket plus the usual culprits. There are many local eating places which Sue and Terry provide useful information about. In fact Sue provides a folder packed full of helpful information.
We are really looking forward to going back to stay here and will be recommending to our families and friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing