We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation for family gatherings”
The large detached, light filled Piggeries cottage has amazing views across to the coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large detached, light filled Piggeries cottage has amazing views across to the coast
Large, light, spacious comfy living area, with huge stone fireplace and wood burning stove. Spacious double bedroom en suite, full length windows, juliet balcony, en suite bath and shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The large detached, light filled Piggeries cottage has amazing views across to the coast
Large, light, spacious comfy living area, with huge stone fireplace and wood burning stove.
Spacious double bedroom en suite, full length windows, juliet balcony, en suite bath and shower room
Fully equipped hand painted Mark Wilkinson kitchen with Aga stove, french doors to landscaped garden
Lovely conservatory with french doors opening to private landscaped gardens with outdoor furniture
Family bedroom with en suite and juliet balcony with fantastic views across the countryside.
Impressive entrance to the Piggeries with tradtional, beautiful heavy oak main door.
Piggeries Cottage at night
Beautiful and fully equipped with Aga stove, electric oven and gas hob, dishwasher, fridge & freezer
View from the kitchen terrace across the countryside, an ideal spot to relax and enjoy the view
Beautiful dining kitchen with breakfast bar and dining table, with french doors to terrace & garden
Attractive, light and bright Orangery style dining room with table to seat 9.
New, attractive en suite Villeroy & Boch bathroom with separate shower
Feature vaulted ceiling in the spacious dining kitchen.
Guests are welcome to play on our well maintained all weather doubles tennis court.
Spectacular sunsets and amazing views from the cottage
Lots of visiting wildlife in our fields and quiet country lanes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janjohnst...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation for family gatherings”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Loved this house. We had three family groups staying and there was more than enough room for all of us. All bedrooms had en suites which was perfect. Fantastic kitchen with both aga and gas cooker/oven. Plenty of seating and space in lounge which had a large conservatory attached. Underfloor heating was a great bonus as weather wasn't too good. Lovely hosts who brought us home made cakes and brownies. Kids loved the animals at the pet farm. You do need a car as not to near shops but you can get deliveries. Half an hour drive into Blackpool or 10 mins into Garstang for pubs and shops. A gem of a place. Would love to go back when weather better to take advantage of the outside patios and garden

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie G
Ashton in Makerfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are just back from a weekend stay at the The Piggeries. I was a little apprehensive as it was an 80th birthday celebration for my mother so there were 14 people involved and four families, but Sue guided us through what would be the best cottage for our needs, both her and Terry could not have been more helpful.

Upon arrival Terry met us. The cottage was beautiful, with lots of different areas for the family to mingle. The bedrooms and bedlinen were 5 star and I can see why they have got the rating that they have.

We had a large dinner party on the Friday night for all the family and there was everything in the kitchen that you could possible need to do this.

On the Saturday night we went to the Cartford Arms for dinner, fantastic and well worth the 20 min trip.

Garstang is a lovely little town with a Booths and Aldi and lots of small independent shops to supply your every need and its only 15 mins down the lane.

The cottages are in spectacular surroundings, very tranquil and from the conservatory if it is clear you can see Blackpool Tower and the sea!

The icing on the cake for my youngest son was going outside at night, you have never seen such black starry skies...just magical!

So all in all I could highly recommend these beautiful cottages and we look forward to returning there soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamara200...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Luxury for families.”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed every single day at the Piggeries. It was the perfect launching spot for our day trips to the Lakes, Lytham St Anne, and Manchester -a tour of Old Trafford for all the boys (big and small). And of course the beautiful Inn at Whitewell.

And then returning after our adventures it was luxurious to pop a pizza in the Aga and have a drink while enjoying the views. It was wonderful to be able to host our relatives nearby. The kids & their British cousins (whom they had never met) took over the TV area and became the best of friends.

Thanks for all the great recommendations, and special details.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lini51
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic home, well furnished and with lots of space”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at The Pigerries for a week, great scenery and lovely walks from the doorstep. Lancashire is a beautiful undiscovered county. Many places to visit in a short distance and a drive through the Forest of Bowland is a must. It felt like home, coming back each day, the chickens ready to greet us and the aga ready to use.It is much more than a rental cottage and was very clean. All of our party loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location and the most welcoming of hoasts!”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Piggeries is the most fantastic place to stay with a large group of people. Very homely and each room done out to a great spec! This is perfect for a large group of people as its huge, but still retains that homely country house feel aswell! The countryside around the house is also beautiful with spectacular views!! We used this as a filming location for a documentary we were making and was a perfect space and the owners were brilliant with us, very welcoming and there to help if we needed them. Can HIGHLY recommend this place! I want to book to go back with my family asap!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niknoo196...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, superb and extremely special”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Piggeries was for a special birthday and was made extra special by the luxurious surroundings the extra attention to detail in the cottage. Sue, Terry and family were lovely people and on hand for an queries. The extra attractions of chickens, sheep and the tennis court kep the younger members amused, there was no mention of I'm bored for my nephews!!! There was a large party of us and it exceeded all of our expectations. I have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and this far outweighed all of them. We would definitely book again. It is the perfect place to stay to visit Lanacashire and all it has to offer. A truly special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms with views.
Liked least: Stairs into the lounge
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation,extremely high standard”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Recently refurbished to a very high standard, top of range appliances: Aga,Mielle,Villeroy and Boch etc Very comfortable and spacious .We travelled with family effectively 5 adults plenty of room all bedrooms en suite. Very nice area and very pleasant hosts . We are regular visitors to Barnacre ,Piggeries has to be new favourite cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tennis court
Liked least: no downside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing