We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PARIS
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“SUPER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

One of our best stays. We stopped there after our visit to the Lake district. The staff is very helpful, the bedrooms are great and very comfortable, the dinner was excellent !
I asked for cream tea the following day, and the hotel ordered some clotted cream specially for our party of 6 !
We benefited from an excellent deal on Groupon. We shall go again. Thanks a lot to Leisha and her mother !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l-anglais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    25
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at this "tucked away" hotel, for our wedding anniversary. We used a Living Social voucher.
This is not an hotel you will "stumble upon", since it is tucked away, far from the madding crowds, in lush countryside, but once found, you won't want to forget where it is, for future. The house is lovely, and the gardens, beautiful. There's a really peaceful atmosphere, and the proprietors and staff couldn't be more helpful. We were hoping for a nice meal to celebrate with, but the food surpassed any expectations we had. Three wonderful courses, served in quite a cosy dining room, and the chef deserves praise indeed for his wonderful cod, in a delicious sauce. We will return one day, and meanwhile, would recommend anyone to visit, especially if "relaxation and really good food" are the objective.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a lovely view. I suspect, however, that all rooms are "quiet" due to the locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had an overnight stay with breakfast included through a Groupon voucher and stayed in springtime 2014. We had visited the hotel briefly before as wedding guests at a reception a few years previously and thought the manor house itself was beautiful. When we stayed there were only a few other guests. The room was large, airy, clean and bright with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, telephone etc. Very comfortable bed where I had the best night's sleep in ages! Free Wi-Fi available in the rooms, just ask for the code when you book in. Wi-Fi worked fine. I had read another review that stated there had been a problem with getting hot water. There was a note in the room explaining that hot water just needs a few minutes to run through, which it did and was piping hot from then on so no problems. Possibly a slight delay due to age of property? Bedroom beautiful but I felt the ensuite bathroom was probably next for a refurb as although perfectly functional, the shower head, curtain, bath and grouting looked a little tired. Had a meal in the restaurant and was not disappointed. Chef very accommodating with an adaptation of an order and beef and duck were beautifully tender and tasty. Vegetables cooked perfectly and good portion sizes. House red very good. Would visit again and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swallow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Arrived at the hotel to an apologetic owner explaining that they have no electricity,we didnt mind as was daylight still and the electric co. had promised it would be back on by 7 pm ,and it was .Our room was ok ,shabby chic sort of .Our dinner last visit was outstanding ! This time was absolutely awful,like a re heated roast dinner .no one asked how are food was ,the table opposite were complaining too .on checkout no one asked how was our stay or dinner ...lacking service,attention to customer and quality in food .will not be returning ,shame really

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideMike1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have had meals many, many times here in the past & were introduced to it initially by the Hi-Life diners card and have used it's facilities for special occasions such as my Mum's 70th in 1990 but have never had Christmas Day lunch here possibly because of the price to be honest but this year my wife & I decided to indulge ourselves & at £69.95 each it is very indulgent. I can agree with other reviews that it does get on the chilly side in the Hotel especially in the conservatory area but the day's weather was like an autumnal day & with additional heaters being on in that area we never felt cold throughout the time we were there. If it had been chilly it would definitely have been overbalanced by the extremely warm welcome that was given us throughout our time there from being welcomed at the door when we arrived all the way through to us leaving. The staff serving on in all areas were genuinely happy to see us and to meet our needs throughout, nothing was to much trouble even to us asking for an extra cracker to take to an aged friend of ours. What we both loved about the whole dining experience was the pace at which we were served, very nice and relaxed, there was not at any time a rushed feeling to get us on our way. We were shown to the bar area on our arrival to be offered complimentary drinks & then into the conservatory seating area where very enjoyable canapes were brought to us whilst looking through the lunch menu. We ordered our starter and main both opting for the traditional turkey with all the trimmings but there were another five mains to choose from. On a day weather wise as it was the view at the back of the property is quite stunning and we were allowed ample time to take photo's both of the scene and of ourselves by the Christmas tree etc. Nice and relaxed. We were then shown into the dining room which took my wife's breath away throughout the meal, it was so nicely set out even down to the table display. The meal was superb through all the courses, nice and warm, fresh ingredients and very nicely presented. We found no fault with any aspect of the meal and we were asked through the courses if everything was alright and even asked if we wanted any more vegetables, potatoes etc and in my greed I requested more potatoes which came swiftly and nicely presented. Maybe where they struggle on such occasions is seating areas before and after the meal when larger numbers come in and fortunately there were two seats for us in the front lounge but it could be clearly seen that lounge seating was becoming strained and to capacity. Another very slight niggle is with us not seeing the advertised menu online and in booklets prepared one of which we read in the lounge we saw that cheese and biscuits were given as an additional course but we feel wasn't shown in the restaurant menu presented or mentioned by the waitresses and it felt uncomfortable to back track once served our tea, coffee and mince pies and in all honesty we felt well fed. All in all it was a very enjoyable dining experience and if you do feel indulgent next Christmas then I can without any reservation heartily recommend it. Just to point out they do lunches for Christmas Eve and Boxing Day as well which may be more affordable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The Georgian manor house itself is beautiful and in pretty surroundings which is the type of hotel/manor house we like to stay in.
Sadly it was cold from the moment we walked in - the bedroom was really cold but there was a plug in heater so it did warm up after 15 mins.
The lounge was cold where we had a drink before dinner and again the dining room cold.
The food was just average - we had lamb which was more of a pub grub Sunday dinner and a complimentary glass of wine was included served in a cheapy, tiny wine glass (I like a nice wine glass).

We turned the electric heater off for the night but we were so cold so sleep was interrupted in the early hours and we needed it back on.

Breakfast wasn't freshly made apart from the egg and toast, clearly it had all been pre cooked the bacon must've been sat in its oil for a while.

It's a shame because they are simple issues that make all the difference to a relaxing stay.

We would return but only if we check trip advisor to see a remarkable difference in reviews.

The staff did seem really nice and service was good and attentive.




Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

stayed for one night at the springfield house hotel and although the room was small and not very warm when we arrived we were determined to enjoy our stay.there is not much to see in pilling and the hotel is very remote but ideal for a quiet retreat.food at dinner was served in a lovely room and the quality of food is excellent .sleep quality was poor due mainly to an uncormfortable bed and a claustrophobic room.breakfast was more like a guesthouse with limited choice served in the dining room and as there was no menu, were just asked if we would like a full english.
we must say that the owners were very nice people and the whole house has a comfortable feel about it and is certainly worth a visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
12.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
10.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House Hotel

Property: Springfield House Hotel
Address: Wheel Lane | Pilling, Preston, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Springfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield House Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing