We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely walks in beautiful surrounding”

Brockholes Nature Reserve
Ranked #9 of 72 things to do in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Brockholes is a new kind of nature reserve, an unreserved reserve. Everyone is welcome at Brockholes, whether you're a naturalist or a beginner, we have something for you to enjoy and lots of chances for you to get close to nature! On the site of an old quarry, the Lancashire Wildlife Trust have used their expertise to create habitats for lots of different wildlife. You can take a stroll by the River Ribble, explore our woods or enjoy the lakes on site, which have all been specially designed to attract all kinds of wildlife for you to see! Our spectacular floating Visitor Village means that you are as close to nature as possible providing stunning views across the lake. You can also discover our interactive Welcome Centre and learn all about the wildlife that you could see on-site, discover the exciting play area and explore our network of walks and trails (including shorter ones for little legs). After exploring the reserve you can sit back and relax in our restaurant where you can enjoy the beautiful lake view with a coffee and a tasty treat or a long leisurely meal. The Nest, our Brockholes gift shop is brimming with an inspiring collection of gifts, jewellery, books, toys, arts & crafts and other exciting treasures to remind you of your day and are sure to put a smile on the faces of people young and old. A fantastic new addition to the Visitor Village is The Gallery at Brockholes. The Gallery will showcase a range of art and craft by guild members which includes fine art, photography, textiles, ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood and furniture. The Gallery at Brockholes is run by the Art & Craft Guild of Lancashire, made up of a wide range of the finest local artists, designers and makers.
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Found this by accident while staying locally, visitor centre and facilities are really good. Went for some lovely walks the weather was nice and we spent an enjoyable 3 hours following the various trails.
The entrance is free but there is a £5 parking fee with no concessions, also quite difficult to find way in and out.

1  Thank mojones55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. By visiting us, you are helping to support our conservation work on the reserve and therefore the wildlife that calls Brockholes home.

Sorry to hear that you struggled to find your way. We have invested heavily in the Brown Tourist highways signage off the M6 and around our junction to assist our visitors, but one or two more are on our "wish list" as and when funds allow!

Now that you know all about us, do come and see us again when you are next in the area.

Thank you once again for supporting our work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car park"
in 149 reviews
"visited brockholes"
in 39 reviews
"floating village"
in 37 reviews
"wildlife trust"
in 29 reviews
"play area"
in 84 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 28 reviews
"bird watching"
in 24 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 18 reviews
"parking fee"
in 18 reviews
"lovely place"
in 46 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 16 reviews
"zip wire"
in 14 reviews
"information centre"
in 18 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 32 reviews
"guild wheel"
in 49 reviews
"all ages"
in 50 reviews
"soup"
in 17 reviews
Filter

234 - 238 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife were cycling the guild wheel when we went past. The wheel practically goes through the area so we though, why not grab a bit to eat. The scenery is fantastic, perfect place to sit and relax. Large outdoor play area for the kids and plenty of walks to unwind and check out the local birds that are common in this area. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks for the great feedback Liam! Brockholes is popular stop for Guild Wheel Cyclists. Burning off all those calories justifies lots of cake!

Do come and see us again soon and thanks for supporting our conservation work by visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Nice walks (despite the weather!) and a great little visitor centre and cafe. Would be great for children to run around in, with a nice park for them too.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Becci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks for the great feedback Becci - it's much appreciated by all of us at Brockholes.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Blow the cobwebs away with a scenic walk around the lake and Brockholes Visitor Centre. Dont forget your camera for taking lots of photographs! Plenty of interesting bird and wildlife information which will stimulate young minds, for school projects etc. Rest a while and visit the cafe. Its a nice place to visit.

1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks Christine for the lovely words.

You sound like a keen photographer, so why not have a look at our website for details of our monthly photography competition? There is a prize for the winner plus your photo will be on display at Brockholes on our wall of fame!

If you use social media, why not follow us? We have a really active community of photographers who share their amazing photos with us. We are a great reserve for spotting fungi, so expect to see lots of stunning images over the next month or so!

Thanks for supporting our conservation work by visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Went in the six week holidays with my 8 and 7 year old, we went to the craft area were it's a pound to decorate a bug. Then the kids did the map where they had to find the different animals around the reserve and at the end they got a certificate and some chocolate. Then we had a picnic on the benches and played on the big park. Good value for money day out the kids loved it and we will be back again.

Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks for the lovely feedback Emma! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great value family day out with us over summer.

Have a look at our website - our October Half Term Activity Programme is now out and we are now taking bookings. We've got loads planned including our ever popular pumpkin carving competition, Halloween Xplorer Challenge and even the chance to make your own slime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brockholes Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Samlesbury, Lancashire
 

Been to Brockholes Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing