We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishergate Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishergate Guest House
Ranked #12 of 12 Preston B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The first room I was shown was very dirty, with black grot under the shower cubicle rubber mat. Also noisy from the main road outside. The room I attempted to sleep in looked better and had no traffic noise as it was at the back. But I was repeatedly woken by loud groaning noises from the plumbing. eventually I gave up and at one in the morning went to stay at the Premier Inn. Rooms have no carpets, but only Lino on the floor, doors from other rooms were banging and the smell of smoking (presumably in the back yard) drifted up even though my window was closed. The night manager refused to contact the owner when I wanted a refund but, to be fair, the owner did refund me in full the next day, though I had to go back twice to receive the full sum. A real doss house. Never go there!

Room Tip: Don't go there! There are other similar priced b and b's in the same road which are a world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snazzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
1
1
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed One Night in fishergate guesthouse and were very dissatisfied. Our room was Dirty, there were for Exampel red stains on the white Wall and the furniture. The bed was very uncomfortable. The bathroom wasn't much better: the mirrow, the towels and the floor were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I travelled from North Wales, Aug 2012 to Preston

I stayed at this bed and breakfast the one night and was given a double room with ensuite bathroom with its own shower.

The location of the bed and breakfast is excellent as the railway station is a minutes walk and the bus station is only fifteen minutes.

The venue itself is comfortable with nice beds, a TV and well decorated rooms appointed in neutral tones.

The breakfast I had was a full English breakfast but other cereal and toast is available. The staff are friendly and whilst I was there I smelt damp in the room I was offered but they allowed me to change it. However this did not detract from the quality from my stay which overall was excellent and I was well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My experience of this guest house was very good. The price was excellent, the rooms clean and tidy and I had a very good breakfast. It is budget accommodation but excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkStrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.3 mi away
Whitburn House Hotel
Whitburn House Hotel
#13 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishergate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishergate Guest House

Property: Fishergate Guest House
Address: 68 Fishergate, Preston PR1 8BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Fishergate Guest House Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing