We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Didn't see a member of staff till breakfast, had to phone hotel phone number to be told keys to our room were left at the desk for us. Greeted in the morning by "tea or coffee?". No bar, no evening meals, no bedside lamps, no hairdryer, no shampoo and no-one about to speak to! Room was dirty and had to hold shower head to allow each other to shower.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iangrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    29
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
27
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I booked this hotel for my brothers 40th, April 22nd 2011. We went to set up in the afternoon and the staff were very accomodating, helping us out and letting us decorate the room however we wanted.
We booked the buffet for the guests, and brought our own DJ / karaoke via the rock band and guitar hero on the wii, staff let us use their projector screen and encouraged us to turn the music up late into the night.
The biffet was fab, cold meats, butties, quiche, chicken goujons etc - loads of food and more than enough variety and quantity for all, they also brought out a selection of sweets.
The bar staff were friendly and attentive.
This place has just been taken over and I would say the staff are more than willing to do whatever they can to meet the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathyevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times now, and the new owners are totally fantastic. A brilliant warm welcome greets you, It's a great location especially for when I am over working in Preston.
Breakfast is cooked to perfection, and the Bar has been redecorated and refreshed since I last stayed there too. The Wi-fi is free, fast and reliable so great if you need to catch up on some work. The rooms I have stayed in have been really comfortable and clean and its in a quiet enough area so you get no trouble.
I most certainly recommend this Hotel, and I look forward to staying there again each time I am in the area!
Some of the older reviews on here really show that the new owners have turned this place around. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I booked the claremont on the internet and then was horrifed at the reviews i read, as there was a charge because i didnt have enough notice it cancel i went ahead and stayed there. I am so glad i did these reviews are so out of date, the hotel was clean, tidy and the couple who run the hotel are lovely and very helpful.

the hotel is under new management and i would recommend staying here as it is in an ideal place to visit preston, do not read the other views.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgilder3589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

Clearly run by Basil Fawlty, last updated in 1980s and probably last cleaned then as well. The sign writing outside doesn't even have 01 at the start of the phone code it's that out of date. No menu to speak of , don't waste your time here go to the travel inn nearby instead

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClockhouseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

I stayed here for one night following a night out in Preston. The hotel is in a great location, close to the town centre. It's around a fiver for a taxi into town. We had a twin room and I was pleasantly surprised to find 2 double beds rather than the usual 2 singles. Unfortunately I wasn't able to make it to breakfast so I can't comment on it. Staff were friendly. I'd definitely stay here again next time I'm having a night out in Preston.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hezz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2006

I had the displeasure to experience a shambolic booking system - asked to stay three nights and they only booked for two nights. I'm five months pregnant and was basically told that it was not their problem and as they needed the room me and my partner had to vacate it. They were extremely unsympathetic and would not accept any responsibility for what was their error. Not a happy trip that I would want to repeat. Beware!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank experiencedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claremont516, owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2009
please take this review off as it refers to the blackpool hotel not the preston claremont i was dismaid to see this on my review board
please dont get the two claremonts mixed up as my hotel is totaly diferent to the blackpool one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 516 Blackpool Road | Ashton-On-Ribble, Preston PR2 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claremont Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing