We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local museum that should be supported”

Ribchester Roman Museum
Ranked #16 of 63 things to do in Preston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum contains informative and colourful displays about the prehistory and Roman history of Ribchester, using many archaeological finds from the site, including coins, sculpture and metalwork. There are also remains of the Roman fort and baths outside the museum. Regular events and temporary exhibitions take place throughout the year. Pre-booked guided tours and educational visits can be arranged by email.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Local museum that should be supported”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A small local museum describing finds in Ribchester. Entrance for adults is £3.00. Unfortunately, the Roman site itself is not visible. The museum is informative - lots of information boards. The exhibits are relatively few, but interesting. There are foundations of Roman baths nearby. Ribchester itself is a pretty village in a beautiful setting. So, a low-key, pleasant afternoon visit. (Incidentally, if you like to see what the Romans did, visit Caerleon in South Wales.)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey Merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ribchester museum and Ribchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Ribchester is a beautiful village in the Ribble Valley. Found it quite by accident whilst driving around the area. There are lovely country pubs and tea shops which serve delicious home cooked food. The Roman Museum and Baths are really interesting. Take a picnic and relax by the side of the river which has lovely view over the valley. Definitely worth a visit if you are in that area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gmstikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“waste of my time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

we where all very disappointed i really did think very boring, very little of interest well not to us,
would i recommend no

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank stuartN455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Walk where the Romans walked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Our first ever visit to Ribchester . Museum is small but well laid out & staff friendly. Lovely Church next door is also worth a look. The Roman granary is interesting and the Roman bath house a short walk away looks very interesting but sadly we couldn't get close to it as access is in summer months only. The village is very pretty with lots of old buildings & pubs . The walk along the river is probably best done in drier weather - currently very muddy in parts after the dreadful weather recently . Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank lizgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I last came here about 15 years ago, and was very pleasantly surprised to find it had been redone. The displays are informative and well laid-out, and there are some impressive monuments. The museum is just the right size for children (not so big that they lose interest!) I thought it was very good value for the £3 adults entrance fee. I love how it's tucked away in a corner of Ribchester, a beautiful village that is well worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Atraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ribchester Roman Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ribchester Roman Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing