We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and disgusting”
Review of The Ancient Oak

The Ancient Oak
Ranked #225 of 576 Restaurants in Preston
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Visit The Ancient Oak in Cottam for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Cottam, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our weekly quiz, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings. We also have a Function Room available for hire.
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Called in for a drink around 7.00
Place looked like a bomb had hit it!
Ordered large glass of wine to be told they had no large wine glasses only half pint glasses.
When we looked around we understood why most tables were covered with used glasses and uncleared food plates
Outside was full of used glasses
We could not find a clean table to sit at
If that's how public area is kept I dread to think about the kitchen areas
Won't be going again

1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ancient Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi,

I'm sorry you had such a poor experience on your visit to the Ancient Oak. The pub has since had a full refurbishment and is under new management.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Regards

Ciaran
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stopped going to this pub because of a change of menu, however a friend suggested we try it again as it's all changed. Clearly not for the better.

The menu is ok for a 2 for 1 menu, however when they run out of basic things like cheese it's not great value

It's also annoying that the kids running round after the play area closes. I'm not against kids at all however I don't like then climbing on the furniture Im eating next too.

The worst part of our evening was the impromptu disco that kicked off at 730 during our meal. Couldn't hear a dam thing from anyone at our table, I'm 26 and therefore don't mind a good few beers and a nightclub. But not at the local when we're eating especially when it's not advertised.

On the whole, bad food, screaming uncontrolled kids, random extremely loud music. Not the best go up the road to the Guild Merchant much better pub

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thedoctor05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ancient Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi,

I'm sorry you had such a poor experience on your visit to the Ancient Oak. The pub has since had a full refurbishment and is under new management.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Regards

Ciaran
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Thought i would try this venue for first time in many years. Bar Service was excellent and the beers of a good range and standard, from that point on the standard deteriorated to a amazing level. Ten of us ordered our meals and it as always been my understanding starters arrive before your main meal. Not in this place, Breaded Mushrooms form the Starter Menu absolutely tasteless hot on the outside still frozen on the inside. Surely that is a Baked Alaska?
Bread served straight out of the fridge not a good sign of things to come.
Main Meals arrived, well some of them did, absent what was advertised and ordered on the Menu. And a burger which looks like four fish fingers.
We where told someone would come back with a Sweet Menu but after waiting thirty minutes walked out. No wonder this place demands payment before service or no one would pay.
Never Going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dave_nelson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ancient Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi,

I'm sorry you had such a poor experience on your visit to the Ancient Oak. The pub has since had a full refurbishment and is under new management.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Regards

Ciaran
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We came to The Ancient Oak earlier this evening to enjoy a family meal, we got our drinks and sat down on a nice round table in the middle of the restaurant. Now I have to admit we were a bit sceptical about returning as the last visit (around a year ago) was somewhat dissapointing to say the least. However we were pleasantly surprised upon returning to see what improvements had been made. Although it was quiet, the atmosphere was pleasant and we were very warmly welcomed by the two members of staff on shift, a tall man with dark hair and a young girl with long red hair. They both went out of their way to ensure we got the best out of our experience and were both extremely polite, attentive and enthusiastic. The food we ate was delicious and there was plenty for the money; both my partner and I couldn't finish our mixed grills! Overall this visit has restored my faith and I felt the need to write this review as I don't believe the pub recieves all the credit it is due. Will definitely be visiting again shortly!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ancient Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi Brian

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

The Ancient Oak has been fully refurbished and is under new management since your last visit.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Ciaran
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

went for a family birthday .. all 20 of us , table ready and waiting , great deals 2for 1 offers on main meals. when the food came it was well presented, and nice & hot .. the staff were amazing , friendly and very obliging .. we were not limited to a "2 hour" stay like some places. there is a large play area for the children ..... it was our first visit ,, but it will not be our last . would recommend to anyone ..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MADALINE W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ancient Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi Madaline

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

The Ancient Oak has been fully refurbished and is under new management since your last visit.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Ciaran
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ancient Oak also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Ancient Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing