We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and great entertainment!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary

Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sited at the rear of GARDEN CENTRE Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary is a pure volunteer based, non profit group of volunteers.The flying display give you the visitors, Children & Adults, the chance to participate in the flying display and have our birds land on your gloved hand as they fly to you for their food.We have a collection of over 80 birds of prey including eagles, hawks, falcons, owls, vultures and more unusual species.All the birds are housed in large open fronted aviaries, sheltered in a woodland setting. We assist conservation and education of these beautiful Birds and we are involved with an average of 50 rescues each year.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value and great entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have just spent a very enjoyable day at Turbary woods with my 4 and 7 year olds. The children loved every minute and we're able to handle lots of the birds. All in all an excellent trip and superb value. I highly recommend Turbary woods!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    130
    18
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“For children more than adults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

It is really good that this group works so hard to rescue so many beautiful creatures, many of which have been bought by folk who are unable to look after them. There are many aviaries with beautiful birds with reasonably good interpretation notices on each aviary. However as a visitor attraction it's rather lacking. The person who took our money had no social skills. A smile and a welcome would have been nice. The highlight of the visit is supposed to be the flying display between 1:00 pm and 3:00 pm each day. We had assumed that someone would tell us about each bird and that we would be able to watch them fly and catch bits of dead food. In fact the display consists of a procession of birds which are encouraged to fly a few feet from the arm of the handler to the arm of volunteers from the audience. There is no interpretation or information offered about the birds. What little the handlers do have to say is virtually inaudible as there are no microphones and no amplification system. The 'arena' is bordered on one side by what appears to be a junk yard with several old vans in various states of disrepair and a couple of old caravans. This should at the very least be screened from the audience if it can't be removed. The children in the audience obviously enjoyed the experience of getting close to beautiful birds of prey but for adults the 'display' in particular was sadly lacking in content. That said, the entry price is reasonable so it would be worth a visit especially if you have children in the party. But based on our experience don't expect a warm welcome or an informative experience!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnfaeaberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place was an absolute find, very well priced and excellent value for money. The children thoroughly enjoyed the show as the handlers were very knowledgeable, really friendly and gave everyone an opportunity to handle the birds. We went with children and grandparents who all thoroughly enjoyed themselves, would recommend for any age.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I visited the sanctuary on Sunday 24-8-2014. When we arrived we paid our £5 each fee for entry, I also had to pay an extra £5 because I would be using a professional camera to take photographs. Ok I thought and paid the extra £5.
When we got inside I was really impressed. There was lots of Owls & Birds of Prey to see and you get very close to them as well. We also watched one of the flying displays that they have during the day. The display started at 13.00 and was on until 15.00 and displayed 15 different Owls & Birds of Prey. During the display you get the chance to wear the leather glove on the left hand and the birds will fly onto the glove.
We all see common birds daily, magpie's etc, but when you see these ones close up you will be totally amazed, some are huge. The keepers are very professional as well and will answer any questions you may have.
One thing that impressed me a lot is that the keepers and the handlers are all volunteers and give up their spare time to do this. Brilliant and well done to you all.
My final words on Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey sanctuary is this. An excellent day out for all ages and well worth a visit. The only negative I have was we could only stay for a hour or so because we had other plans later, otherwise we would have been there for a good few hours easy.
I managed to take several photos from our visit, some I have posted here

Thanks for a great day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pleasant attraction without crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Sadly the day we went the heavens opened as we got to Preston so we knew we may not see any displays. However as we had travelled so far we still made our way to the attraction, not the easiest place to find but the sat-nav did its job. We paid our money a very reasonable £13 for four of us and made our way around the exhibits. As it was raining several of the birds were indoors and we were escorted into a shed with several birds inside and basically left with them. This was fantastic the kids could not believe they were so close to the birds without any cages and they could hear them chirping. All of the birds looked well cared for and the people who were working appeared to genuinely care for the birds. Will go back again as we would of loved to have seen the show.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joep735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing