We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dads birthday meal”
Review of Nabs Head

Nabs Head
Ranked #49 of 631 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Nabs Head Hotel is situated in the hamlet of Nabs Head, Samlesbury within the picturesque countryside just outside the city of Preston and not far from Blackburn & Chorley. This delightful pub is the ideal watering hole for weary travellers (cyclists, walkers, runners, families, etc.), We serve proper Lancashire food in a warm and friendly environment. In partnership with Daniel Thwaites Brewery we have 4 Beer Engines showcasing seasonal ales and guest beers from the Crafty Dan Brewery.
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent and nothing to much trouble 10 in the group and everything came together . Prices were very good to and was great with the kids , cant wait to go again x

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

large car park,very warm welcome beer well kept .A pleasure to visit a warm friendly pub
with lovely fire. Well lite plenty of seating. I had the black pudding stack, my wife had the breaded mushrooms for starters,& we both had meat pie, what a feast(and the main course was only a small portion absolutely delicious )prices very reasonable, main have two prices £6 & £9 , so it is not to heavy on the wallet.& they also have a specials..all in all a lovely visit. We will certainly visit this lovely pub again.the menu was mid range and the prices were low

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank normnmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Have been here quite a few times over the last 12 months and have always had an excellent meal. Sometimes you just want to go somewhere that does good honest pub grub at a great price, and the Nabs doesn't disappoint. I'm a pie man and the mince and onion plate meat pie is just fantastic, great pastry and packed with delicious quality meat, and added to this you can have many options of how you get your potatoes and sides, and all at a really good price. Always made to feel welcome from the man behind the bar (the owner i think), and a great pint to boot
See you again soon

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank catkin652017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Small pub that serves gluten free food and knowledgeable staff. Service for food can be a little slow if pub over 1/2 full. Food portions large, even small portions and price very reasonable. Only negative comment I have is why serve tinned carrots?

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank akf0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabs_Head, Owner at Nabs Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hello and thank you for your review.
In response to your comment about carrots we source all our vegetables from a Preston based company and prepare and cook them in-house. I will pass your comments onto our chef and we will look at cutting them in a different way so as to avoid confusion.
There will always be a longer wait when we are busy as we prepare as much as possible of our menu to order, we are however in the process of hiring extra staff so as to reduce waiting times.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the Naps Head for lunch yesterday. Excellent memu good choice. The food was well cooked and excellent service by the friendly staff. Would highly recomend it.
Good choice of beers.

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank TonyB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nabs Head also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Woodplumpton, Preston
 
Preston, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Nabs Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing