We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Pub Food Fare”
Review of The Yew Tree

The Yew Tree
Ranked #68 of 555 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Yew Tree offers a great new look and fantastic menu. Now open for breakfast from 9.00am to 11.30am, then the full menu is served all day through till 9pm Monday to Saturday and *pm on Sundays. We are family friendly and have a kids menu, high chairs and baby change facilities. As well as benches to the front of the pub we also have a decked terrace for alfresco dining and relaxing afternoons! We revised our dogs policy in January 2016 and now welcome dogs and their well behaved owners in the top bar area and adjacent carpeted area. Obviously weather permitting they are also welcome on the tables at the front or on the decking area. Water bowls and dog biscuits are available. We hope to see you soon!!
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Quality Pub Food Fare”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Took lunch here at 1.45 pm; sat outside on upper deck in glorious sunshine; good Menu choice and food proved highly satisfactory although service was a bit on the slow side; would certainly revisit and can recommend this establishment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPckls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at The Yew Tree, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for the brilliant review!! Sounds like you made the most of the sunshine, and I can only imagine that many others were enjoying it too so sorry about the wait! Thanks for the recommendation!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    70
    46
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good pub grub and atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Popped in midweek for tea - great choice on the menu and a specials board too. The food and service was very good and the atmosphere very relaxed. This is a pub for all ages, large tv's everywhere for sports fans, but no volume for those who don't want to hear it. Family friendly and outdoor seating. My only complaint they don't do Peroni on draft - but you can't always have everything !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at The Yew Tree, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Martin, Thanks for the great overall review and love how you spotted the subtle things like "no volume" on some TV's and how there's something for everyone! I think I've said before but as a leased out whose ultimate owner is Heineken we are some what restricted on the products we can sell hence no Peroni! I hope you find something else you like! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yummy brekkie”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for the first time since the refurb, we have avoided it as the food was never up to scratch,we all ordered a traditional full English and it was lovely. We sat on the extended raised patio area which had Rattan furniture. Food even though took a while was yummy( it was quite busy). Will be back to sample main menu soon. Must mention the girl taking our orders was really good, keep it up yew tree.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank raleighallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at The Yew Tree, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for the great review. Fantastic to see we have restored your faith in The Yew Tree! We know there can be a bit of wait but we'd rather cook all items to order which does take a little longer, but seems like it was worth the wait! I'll make sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff and we hope to see you soon when you put our main menu to the test! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Work colleagues had visited The Yew Tree last weekend & said how nice the meal was. So my partner & I visited yesterday & were not disappointed. The pub inside is lovely, fresh & clean. The service which is waiter/waitress is friendly, quick & efficient . We both had the gammon which I have to say is the best gammon I have ever had eating out. The homemade chips were hot & tasty. It was accompanied with a pint of Yew Brew which I am told was lovely & I tried the Apple & Passionfruit Old Moat Cider, delicious. The only disappointment was that we were to full to try a dessert, maybe next time. We will definitely be returning to The Yew Tree which in my opinion is sooner the better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guild_-Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Manager at The Yew Tree, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for the brilliant feedback! Great to hear word is spreading and that you weren't disappointed!! Those gammon steaks really are quality!! Hope to see you both again soon for desserts!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We went last night for a pre cinema meal. The food and service were first class the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was excellent. The portions were huge and even with our healthy appetites we had to leave some. We chose the cheese and onion pie but they had run out the lady serving us could not have been more apologetic and it gives us a great reason to visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at The Yew Tree, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Elizabeth,

Thanks for the amazing review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal and the portion sizes!! We hope to see you again soon for Cheese, Potato and Onion Pies all round!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yew Tree also viewed

Chorley, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Bamber Bridge, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Yew Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing