We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss Chloe Rushworth”
other travellers have booked this property
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
The well equipped kitchen in the spacious open plan area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
The well equipped kitchen in the spacious open plan area
Dining area for 6
Cosy up to the log burner on a cold winters night
Seating for 6, a large 40' TV with freeview or relax in the window seat watching the world go b
Dine al fresco and soak up the views
Open the large patio doors and bring the outside in
Sit on the patio looking out over the lake and  . . . Just relax!
After a stroll in the countryside rest your bones in a hot bath
Downstairs bedroom
Perch at the breakfast bar
A room with a view
Just relax
The master bedroom and ensuite is accessed by the attractive spiral staircase
The staircase opens up the room
The master bedroom
The master bedroom with a glass balustrade overlooking the lake
A large shower with fixed head and hand held spray in the ensuite
Afternoon tea in the sunshine
There are tables and chairs dotted around the cottage to sit and enjoy the views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CRushwort...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Miss Chloe Rushworth ”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I can not put into words how amazing our stay was at this cottage this weekend (13/11/2015-15/11/2015). The pictures you find on the internet do not do this cottage any justice. It is set in a picturesque setting with sheep and a lake in the view. It has everything you will need for a short or long stay, the only thing you will need are your clothes and food you fancy eating. The mood lighting makes this place feel like home, with candles lit and the heating on it is perfect for anyone who is after a country retreat. No matte what the weather I have to advise you must use the hot tub, at 40 degrees you forget it's cold outside, especially when you see the perfect view. Myself and my boyfriend did not want to leave, it felt like a home away from home. It was beyond what I was expecting, spending our nights with the log fire lit and looking out at the amazing view. I for sure will be highly recommending this place to family and friends and will definitely be booking to stay again. I loved everything about our stay. Thank you Sally!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinkjan81
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We're four ladies from one family celebrating mums 80th birthday. What a fantastic time we had. Beautiful setting fabulous cottage and amenities. Lovely helpful owners. We will be recommending it to others.......but not too much in case we can't get booked back in! !!

Fabulous we'll be back.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beth O
Hindley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in perfect locatoon”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Absolutely loved the cottage! Has everything you need for a week away or short break! Views are stunning and the standard of the cottage is amazing!
Hot tub is a lovely addition although even without it would be fab!

Good location for garstang, Preston and Blackpool. We visited the south lakes zoo in the lake district from here. About 1 hour away! Great day out.

Would 100 percent recommend a viewing and I will be returning for sure. Thanks sally and rob xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic "a special place"”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent a totally relaxing break at the cottage, which we knew we would. Having visited before we knew the area but found new places to walk. We were blessed by some warm weather and spent breakfasts on the patio just admiring the beautiful view in peaceful surroundings. Hot tub was great after a long walk just to relax in. Will be back again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorle123
Bonn, Germany
1 review
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very restful cottage, beautifully designed, inside and out. Woodland gardens attract many birds, including herons. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view to the small lake
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Truly Wondeful place to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just had such a lovely, relaxing weekend stay with friends. Just perfect for chilling in such peaceful and scenic surroundings. It was hard to move away from the lovely cottage but we ventured into Garstang which is a lovely place to just wander around and we took tge short drive up to Beacon Fell country park, amazing views! We would def visit again for longer period to enjoy all tge local area has to offer, some lovely walks and country pubs. We coukd not reccomend this plae enough, the cottage has everything you need for a comfirtable stay, tge wildlife, chicken and animals are lovely to watch and we loved sitting in the hot tub under tge stsrs with a nice glass of wine! Rob was on hand and made the effort to visit, nothing is too much trouble and we will def return Many Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage facilities, peaceful surrounding & location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing