We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful woodpecker cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
The well equipped kitchen in the spacious open plan area Dining area for 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
The well equipped kitchen in the spacious open plan area
Dining area for 6
Cosy up to the log burner on a cold winters night
Seating for 6, a large 40' TV with freeview or relax in the window seat watching the world go b
Dine al fresco and soak up the views
Open the large patio doors and bring the outside in
Sit on the patio looking out over the lake and  . . . Just relax!
After a stroll in the countryside rest your bones in a hot bath
Downstairs bedroom
Perch at the breakfast bar
A room with a view
Just relax
The master bedroom and ensuite is accessed by the attractive spiral staircase
The staircase opens up the room
The master bedroom
The master bedroom with a glass balustrade overlooking the lake
A large shower with fixed head and hand held spray in the ensuite
Afternoon tea in the sunshine
There are tables and chairs dotted around the cottage to sit and enjoy the views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roy563
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful woodpecker cottage”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from woodpecker cottage,I just want to say thanks to Rob and Sally,you should be proud of the little gem you have got there.When my daughter's booked this for Christmas present we were thrilled.But when we arrived we were blown away with location,views and a fully equipped cosy and relaxing cottage,you could not want for more.Rob dropped in to check if ok after arrival,and never bothered us again.The views thru doors onto grounds were amazing even Oscar our dog just sat and watched the world pass .You should try this cottage if you want to really relax,believe me we didn't want to leave,we will be back.Thanks Rob and Sally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it
Liked least: Had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien T
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here with friends, Amazing place very clean, peaceful, would give the cottage 5 out of 5.
The hot tub was great, the position of it lets you enjoy the views
We had a visitor....a turkey lol
Would defiantly go back again, fresh eggs there when we arrived, books, cards, DVD player and dvd's home from home
The log fire was a bonus, we had snow, the weekend we went, although with the under floor heating the cottage was lovely and warm
The cottage is very hard to find in the dark, phone call to the owner and she directed us in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beff01
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing..x”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My hubby booked this cottage as a 30th birthday surprise. i can honestly say it was the best surprise ever, we had an amazing stay. we stopped 9th jan to 11th and didnt want to leave. the place is amazing and if you need somewhere to cut off from the rest of the world its the perfect place. cant wait to return it felt like heaven.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamhanway
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas at Woodpecker Cottage!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Woodpecker Cottage for 8 nights over Christmas and had a fabulously wonderful time. Everything we needed was there from the log fire to the hot tub and all the essentials to cook a turkey dinner on the 25th!
There was space to have friends and family visit who all loved the views, tranquility and peacefulness at the cottage, as well as our hospitality!
On a practical level, the chairs sofa and beds were all very comfortable, the kitchen was fully stocked with pots pans and utensils, along with tea/coffee etc. The bathroom and shower were perfect and towels and bedding all provided, including a hairdryer.
I can honestly say Sally and Rob have thought of everything to make Woodpecker Cottage a lovely home-from-home, which made our Christmas with friends and family very special - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub with view!
Liked least: No wifi/internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRushwort...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Miss Chloe Rushworth ”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I can not put into words how amazing our stay was at this cottage this weekend (13/11/2015-15/11/2015). The pictures you find on the internet do not do this cottage any justice. It is set in a picturesque setting with sheep and a lake in the view. It has everything you will need for a short or long stay, the only thing you will need are your clothes and food you fancy eating. The mood lighting makes this place feel like home, with candles lit and the heating on it is perfect for anyone who is after a country retreat. No matte what the weather I have to advise you must use the hot tub, at 40 degrees you forget it's cold outside, especially when you see the perfect view. Myself and my boyfriend did not want to leave, it felt like a home away from home. It was beyond what I was expecting, spending our nights with the log fire lit and looking out at the amazing view. I for sure will be highly recommending this place to family and friends and will definitely be booking to stay again. I loved everything about our stay. Thank you Sally!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinkjan81
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We're four ladies from one family celebrating mums 80th birthday. What a fantastic time we had. Beautiful setting fabulous cottage and amenities. Lovely helpful owners. We will be recommending it to others.......but not too much in case we can't get booked back in! !!

Fabulous we'll be back.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing