We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great play area”
Review of Jollie's Barn

Jollie's Barn
Ranked #5 of 25 Fun & Games in Preston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Chorley Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great play area”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our 18 month old loved this play area and it was free for under 2's - bonus! We had coffees which were nice and reasonable. did not eat but food looked good. For kids aged 0-8 ideally and a party room is available. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foodies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    10
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a lovely place”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My son is 1year old and loves jollies. To be honest I think I enjoy it as much as him! The staff are lovely. Everywhere is clean & tidy. Everything is reasonably priced. It's in a beautiful countryside location. What more could you ask for?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicake21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous fun!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a great venue for older and younger children. With its clean and modern interior- this is a great place to visit. In a two hour period, my two children played on a bouncy castle, participated in an Easter egg hunt, painted garden pots and visited Easter Bunny...in addition to all of the usual fun and frolics you'd expect from this type of establishment. Food was lovely and cheap (part of the meal deal). This is great venue for mums to catch up with friends whilst their children play the day away!

I will definitely visit jollies again. This is one of the best play venues I have visited in a long time. Fab fun for all of the family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandygill75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Free entry for our 18 month old, food was average and took 40 minutes to arrive (we were told it'd be 25). It was very busy at the time we were there due to so many birthday parties. The children booked into the birthday parties were all around 5-8 years old so wasn't overly appropriate for an 18 month to be around.
Otherwise great fun, he did enjoy himself lots and we did too.

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Didn't make me very Jollie!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Arranged to meet friends here who usually visit in the peaceful midweek. This Saturday was packed with parties and the staff could not keep up. Not enough seating and uncleared tables created chaos. There were announcements stating that playtime was limited to 2 hours however we weren't told this upon entry and we had to wait 20 minutes for a table before we ordered food. Surely food time is not included in playtime? Our food when it arrived was awful. Kids meals - "Fish stars" contain minimal actual fish and only 2 on the plate. Chicken nuggets are actually as hard and dry as nuggets. You could play a tune on the plate with the dried out bullets and again only 2 (inedible so quantity possibly irrelevant).I had nachos with pickled jalapeños for the first time ever. There was no clean cutlery as they were busy so it was fingers and napkins or plastic forks.
It is difficult to find a position where you can see the kids playing without feeling anxious or going in. It seemed clean and unfortunately it was too wet for the outdoor play to be open.
I would go again on a mid week day and be more careful on food choice to give this place another try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jollie's Barn also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Jollie's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing