We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely x”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stanley Villa Farm Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely site and a lovely atmosphere! Main lodge was clean and well kept even at the end of the season! When we arrived there was only one other family staying on the site.

The only bad thing I could say about the pods is how cold it was over night, it was Baltic! But then what do we expect camping in November! Other than that the pods were clean and perfect for what we needed, we popped into a local town for supplies and lit a fire on the 2nd night!

Would deffo recommend people to go but please go in the summer, November is not the best time :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Danni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Although sometimes branded 'glamping' Stanley Villa is not really 'glam' - not that that is a bad thing! But set your expectations accordingly. Think of it as camping with guaranteed dryness - but take plenty of light sources and warm clothing/bedding as when it gets dark it gets DARK! For me and my partner this mixture of a camping atmosphere with a little added warmth and dryness was perfect. We lit a barbecue and watched the sun go down - there weren't that many midges either which was nice!

The pods are very clean, such that we took proper bedding rather than sleeping bags and were perfectly clean and comfortable.

Its lovely that Alex sells firewood but it could be nice to sell barbecue charcoal as well as we had to trek off to find some and we would have happily paid to start our barbecue there and then!

The real highlight for us however was the location. I had never thought about the countryside around Blackpool but this is a proper rural location, we saw birds of prey in the sky around the lake and birds and critters darted across the road whenever we drove in and out of camp. I chose Stanley Villa mostly for the pod experience rather than the location but the location and the things we saw were a nice surprise.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank goingplaces171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I took our 3 children (10,7,5) to these lovely pods in October.the pods themselves are really just a shed with a bed and defiantly not for a family of 5 or even 4! We had to but the provided beds (which were comfy) in a L shape then the 3 children in a line on the floor with their feet under the bed! Good job the door opened outwards as we would have had to move a bed to get out! We had pod number 1 which was lovely by the lake and we could have our car next to us which was a must as we had no other space in the pod but it didn't have gravel In front of it so as it had been raining the whole time it was very muddy we had to take our shoes of on the little step then put the muddy shoes in the pod under the bed as there was no other covered space.
The large lodge is a great idea but the kitchen was to small for the 21 pods and the weekend we were there it was pretty much taken over by a large group/family who used up all the fridge and cupboard space and made the large room a compleat tip with kids games all over the floor and their wet cloths and coats hanging off every radiater they even left their own toiletries in the bathrooms which made us feel as if we weren't surposed to be in there.so I just ran in made a brew and went back to the pod.
A second toilet block is very much needed if this new business is a success.
Wish you luck Alex as it's a great idea but there is a lot of work to be done to get people to come back.
Oh and we had a lovely breakfast at the fishing lake and cafe that's about 4 mins away in the car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night as a group of 6 in August. We loved it!!! We had the worst heavy rain all day got absolutley drowned,lost while on a walk geocaching but we had the best time.
Beautiful place,away from all noise,lake is lovely,lodge is great!
Pods are warm and dry and you can hear no outside noise from in them.
I would advise to take a gazebo if the weather forecast is not good. We couldnt have done without ours,with it we managed to have a bbq at night after the rain had cleared and sat under for breakfast in the morning. All other campers seemed to go out of site for tea as the rain was so bad they couldnt bbq so it was worth the extra luggage taking that with us!

Recommended to everyone!!

Thanks Alex

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEP154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a nice stay here recently. The owner, Alex, was lovely - very helpful and available for any questions or queries we had. The pods were basic but warm and perfectly functional. I fail to see how you could fit any more than 3 in one - which may make it difficult for larger families, unless you book a couple of pods (which may make it an expensive trip). My only real gripe was with the communal lodge. It was just far too small for the number of people there, and having a combined shower/toilet thing doesn't work at all. Mornings were a nightmare with people queuing up, and I had to wait nearly 45 minutes just to use a loo! The kitchen area is also small, the fridges were both full when we arrived so we struggled to fit our bits in. I heard that Alex is building another lodge soon, which I'm sure will make a big difference in terms of comfort and appropriate facilities. We would return once there is another communal lodge, but would book 2 lodges next time as 1 is just too small for a family of 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scallywagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexYoung123, Manager at Stanley Villa Farm Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review and some of your kind comments.

I agree the lodge does feel busy when everyone is using it at similar times of the day. We will be getting another toilet block to help ease any queues - no one likes to queue for the loo :)

Also, as I mentioned on the review response below, the local cafe have agreed to do free deliveries to the site, meaning the kitchen will be less busy. Also, we'll buy taller fridges so more can be stored.

We hope to see you back again in the future,
Many thanks,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely pods nice cosy and clean just what we expected, but we found the facilities were not up to standard. The electricity was off when we arrived so no cup of tea we headed off into Blackpool instead and stayed there till about 8.30 on arriving back we headed over to use the tea & coffee that was supposed to be available the lodge was heaving lots of families cooking using the showers and kids running amok it was chaotic,we finally got into the kitchen no sugar and it was very dirty the sink being full of dishes not what we expected. We returned to our pod with our drinks and decided to have an early night. We found the games pod empty and the games in the lodge were not suitable as the were all mixed up the lodge was dirty the wooden tables were unsuitable the windows were filthy and as for the kitchen it could do with being twice the size for the amount of people staying when fully booked like on our first night, the toaster took an age to cook toast and it was a shame as we enjoyed our stay apart from these facilities

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 451AnjiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexYoung123, Manager at Stanley Villa Farm Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sorry to hear you weren't entirely happy with the facilities in the main lodge.

I agree, the kitchen could do with being bigger for the number of people trying to use it (especially when at similar times of the day). To help ease the use of the kitchen we've just done a deal with the local cafe (Cafe Whitmore) so they'll now do free delivery of breakfast and lunch items to the site. They've very reasonably priced and I can personally vouch for the great quality, especially the fry-ups!

I apologise if the lodge was in a messy state, it sounds like it was in full use at the time and it's very difficult to clean up when it's so busy and still in use. Being nice and clean is a top priority for us. We do have a very thorough cleaning schedule, including windows and tables. We've even got some nice new wooden tables and chairs recently.

The toys and children's games do get scattered around the site sometimes - we are getting new ones to replace some of the older ones.

I'm glad you liked the pods and the rest of the site and we hope to see you back again in the future :)

Many thanks, Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Stanley villa farm. We received a very warm welcome from Alex. Our pod was very clean and the beds were comfy. We pushed the two singles together to make a double. The pod was very warm at night, in fact too warm under our king quilt, even in October!

The lodge was well equipped and very warm. We sat one evening and played one of the many games available. The shower rooms were basic but just what you need. If you use your head and shower earlier or a bit later than everyone else then you don't have to wait too long. We had no issue with this.

The atmosphere at night was lovely as most people had a fire and there are fairy lights in the bushes. The area around the pods was well kept also.

All in all, we were very pleased and had a lovely stay. We would definitely recommend the pods.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexYoung123, Manager at Stanley Villa Farm Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your very kind review and good thinking getting to the showers before everyone else :)

We are having more toilets on site next year so hopefully no queuing at any times.

Hope to see you back again in 2014.

Many thanks,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
8.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
766 reviews
8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Birley Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
681 reviews
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
11.1 mi away
Ye Horns Inn
Ye Horns Inn
#1 of 2 in Goosnargh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Villa Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Villa Farm Camping

Address: Stanley Villa Farm Back Lane, Preston PR4 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Preston
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think about 'Where Do You Want To Be'? If the answer is: Relaxed, listening to the BBQ sizzle away in the background you've come to the right place... This quiet and peaceful location is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With a beautiful lakeside setting and a warm friendly atmosphere. We have firepits and BBQ's and allow campfires. We don't think camping would be the same without them! Our Glamping guests love our cute and cosy Camping Pods! And all of this, just 15 minutes from Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Stanley Villa Farm Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Villa Farm Camping Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing