We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting.Peaceful & relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley Villa Farm Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting.Peaceful & relaxing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent four nights from 9th June at Stanley Villa Farm Camping for a birthday surprise.We had Pod 2 which was assessible for the car & also for the toilet block at night time which saved us walking to lodge in the dark.The pod had two single beds and they were very comfortable.When we arrived I called Alex who came to the site to meet us.He told us all the information regarding the site & then left us to get settled in.
Our first night we went for dinner at the local pub 2 mins away at the Eagle & Child which was delicious and great value.We returned and got our fire going.We paid 5 pounds for firewood and we had brought our own firelighters/kindling but Alex kindly brought us some more
.Our stay was very peaceful & relaxed.The lake is beautiful during sunset and lovely to sit beside.The gentleman fishing on the lake were all friendly too.
The lodge its self is a short walk from the pod.It has a kitchen & three wet rooms and also a large communal livingroom area with tables/chairs and also two sofas.There are various plug sockets in the floor which I found difficult to access due to arthritis but my friend was able to access for me.The kitchen had two microwaves,a kettle and two fridges with one small freezer compartment used mainly for ice.There was tea,sugar,coffee & hot choc provided which is a really nice touch by Alex.The taller fridge has a wonky door which needs fixing as doesnt close properly unless u lift up the door.A problem that is easy to fix in few mins if someone can take the time.
Now for the bad bits :( Unfortunatly the kitchen wasnt very clean when we arrived.There was mouldy bread and biscuits lying about & the fridge was full of out of date food.The teatowels were disgusting.Im not sure if they had been left by previous users or what but non the less they needed throwing out or washing.I spent Monday late at night cleaning the worksurfaces and doing the dishes.I asked the other family staying if the mouldy bread was theres but they said it had been there since their arrival.And since there was no one else there I put this in the bin as well as curdled milk in the fridge.The fridge could also have done with a good clean out & wipe down.The 3 toilet/wetrooms in lodge were also dirty.The floors and actual toilets/sinks needed cleaning & the towels left in them were stained.Bins didnt have liners in them in any toilet & two out of the three locks on the doors dont work which is embarrassing as people walk in on you on the toilet or in the shower.
We didnt see anyone cleaning the toilets or kitchen during our stay.There was ample toilet roll stocked above on shelfs and handwashing gel in each toilet which is good.The toilet block beside the pods are also dirty & quite smelly.They could do with an airfreshner and a good bleach but again had toilet roll/handwash but nothing to dry hands on.
We did see someone taking out the rubbish from kitchen on Thurs/Fri and sweeping up the communal area and cleaning the pods that had been used however that was it.Kitchen/toilets were not touched.
On our last night we had also bought some nibbles and a few cans of beer and a bottle of wine to enjoy by the pod.Unfortunatly the next day when we went to collect these the cans & nibbles they had been taken by someone and we knew by whom.Unfortunatly you have to rely on peoples honesty /trust.This had not been an issue all week so we were very dissapointed that this was the end to our otherwise enjoyable week.
I think it would be an idea for each pod to have a compartment numbered or some sort of storage tub to put there items into the fridge so its then clear which pods food is which & what can be thrown out after someone leaves.Or perhaps bring some labels if your staying.I would also recommend that a cleaner comes to clean the kitchen area at least every two days.Obvioudly having to rely on other people staying doesnt work.Some antibacterial spray and perhaps some kitchen roll in a dispenser would help.Theres a somewhat stale smell in the kitchen
.I think the bathrooms could be bleached esp the floors which left my feet brown even after a shower and the toilets needed bleaching/scrubbed.Also some paper towels would be handy in the toilets rather than leaving dirty towels in bathrooms that smelt stale/wet dog.Bin liners in the bathroom bins and regulary changed would help too.
The pods themselves could do with a little table of somesort just to store stuff off the floor and a small dustpan and brush as the stones get kicked in and end up everywhere.
I think the site is beautiful and we enjoyed our stay, there is just a few improvments that could even better the place.We are experiended Glampers & Campers and can " rough it " but the kitchen/bathrooms need a good clean with the amount of people using them everyday.
We like to see/stay at new places & hope this site continues to do well.Alex certainly goes out of his way to make you feel at ease.I hope you take this review as honest feedback for our time at Stanley Villa and is in no way to offend anyone.We had a good stay with a few disappointments along the way but we do hope that the honest feedback helps with the business.You have a beautiful place Alex.We hope we can return in the future to see the improvements made. :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotus1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    36
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
halifax,west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for one night now wish I'd booked for two . superb setting. alex was so friendly and helpful my 4 year old loved it made lots of friends with the other kids.big grassed area for them all to play on Overlooked by the pods.just missing a little park area swings/slides etc but talking to alex it seems it may be in the pipeline. Great atmosphere at dusk when all the campfires are going. Perfect night away and cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev6867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for two nights, very clean and well maintained pods. Great amenities in the lodge, kitchen with tea and coffee, showers, toilets and wash basins with hand towels. Always well stocked with toilet roll. Pods well spaced out. Lovely friendly atmosphere. Beautiful scenery. Really friendly owner who checked regularly that everything was going ok and everyone was happy. Great location near Blackpool, Latham, st Anne's, etc. the whole family enjoyed every minute, it was a real adventure for them stating in the pod and it was lovely sat by the fire outside having a glass of wine once they'd gone to sleep!
Great experience and cannot wait to go back
All I'd recommend is some shelves and more hooks in the pods to be able to store clothes etc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just back from a great two days at the Camping pods.
Really enjoyed it and the kids had a blast.
Lovely peaceful location and plenty of space for children to play and explore.
We were given a warm friendly welcome by Alex the owner and he was on hand to answer any questions and help in any way. He also came round and said hi and checked we were all settled in a few hours later. Really nice touch. THANK YOU!!!!

The pods are nicely spaced out so you don't feel crowded but at the same time be friendly and sociable with other visitors.
The pods were clean and warm. Enough space for a blow up bed and a travel cot along with the two single beds so we all got in one pod together.
BBq's and firepits available on site and great wood for sale too.
Great location for exploring Blackpool and Lytham and St Annes. Really enjoyed St Annes the most, lovely pier and beautiful beach.
Would recommend for families and groups of friends. It would be nice and romantic too for the right type of couple.
We will be going again.

The bunk house was warm and clean with kettle (free tea and coffee), fridge to store your food in and microwave. The showers were hot and clean as were the loo's.

Both nights we were there our milk got drunk which was annoying, although imagine some people assumed it was free like the tea and coffee. Perhaps getting campers to lable their food might help?? Its not the fault of the place just a bit annoying in the morning with two thirsty toddlers. This was the only hiccup in an otherwise perfect two days.

Room Tip: There is some water behind pods 2-3-4 and so if you have adventurous young children like me then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worksop_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed as a family of four, 2 adults, 2 boys aged 9,10, Saturday till Tuesday over the Bank Holiday weekend. All was very positive as this was our 1st Pod visit. The pods are compact the double lilo and the bed took all the floor space, warm and cosy. The evening camp fire outside each pod was a great highlight and we all ate loads of marshmellows!! Entertainment was provided along with refreshments (a lovely touch )in the log cabin on Sunday and it provided a lovely atmosphere, no seating room in the lodge as it was full so we sat outside on the bench and took in views of the lakes whilst listening to a lovely voice - perfect relaxation. Would not hesitate in recommdending the pods... only wish there was room a shelf - just to store keys / phone etc...... and a dust pan and brush to swep up all the gravel!! I think if you have children any older I would recommend 2 pods. We did all the Blackpool attractions but also went into Lytham St Annes a beautiful little place well worth a visit. Not sure who the owner was but would like to say thanks and keep going, see you when we return with the dog in tow!!

Room Tip: We were put in a pod 9 which backed onto the woods which the boys loved, and this allowed us to pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amo048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

So grateful to friends who recommeded Stanley Villa Pods. We have had a fantastic time despite the weather being mixed.
We slept two adults and three sturdy 6,8,and 9 year old kids from 2 families in one pod. It was cosy but fine and we plan to come again. A Singer Guitarist played in log cabin on our last night whilst we cracked open cans provided courtesy of Alex and Claire the lovely owners, the kids had fun with the face paints. The night ended in a sing a long.
The site has such a great atmosphere, informal, child and dog friendly, the facilities are really clean, and the unlimited free hot drinks a nice touch.
Best seaside trip was Rossall Point in South Fleetwood -amazing view of Morcambe Bay all the way over to the Lakes, deserted beach, beachside cafe with ice creams, hot tea and bacon sandwiches at what seemed like 1950s prices, Its not a swimming beach but kids paddled and dug all day.

Room Tip: Not applicable really,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parsimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just came back from a weekend "glamping" here & would strongly recommend it!!!
Pods are compact but very cosy & clean, set within a lovely relaxing area with a lake & clean wood cabin with electricity, comfy seating area's, small kitchen which can get crowded at meal times, toilets & Showers (ideal when weather isn't to good)
Alex the manager is very friendly who was there 2 greet us, with lots of info about site & surrounding activities to do- couldn't of helped anymore & is always either on site or very close by if he is needed!
Overall a great weekend & Would go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.6 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,803 reviews
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Villa Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Villa Farm Camping

Property: Stanley Villa Farm Camping
Address: Stanley Villa Farm Back Lane, Preston PR4 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think about 'Where Do You Want To Be'? If the answer is: Relaxed, listening to the BBQ sizzle away in the background you've come to the right place... This quiet and peaceful location is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With a beautiful lakeside setting and a warm friendly atmosphere. We have firepits and BBQ's and allow campfires. We don't think camping would be the same without them! Our Glamping guests love our cute and cosy Camping Pods! And all of this, just 15 minutes from Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Stanley Villa Farm Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Villa Farm Camping Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing