We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Preston”

Harris Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #6 of 66 things to do in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A great day out for all the family, the Harris Museum Art Gallery & Library is a treasure trove of fantastic art and fascinating objects for all the family. Come and explore our remarkable collections of fine art, contemporary art, fashion, textiles, ceramics, glass and history, all housed in a stunning Grade I listed building in the heart of Preston ... and we're completely free to visit! We're open seven days a week throughout the year (closed Bank Holidays). Relax in our cafe in one of the most stunning surroundings in Preston and buy an unique gift or memento of your visit from our shop. There is also a Makerspace for visitors to book onto our shared art, craft and technology workshops. There is free wifi, disabled access and baby-changing facilities.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
lancs
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in Preston”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to go any time of the day,They have lots of different exhibitions on through the year besides all the different floors of painting and pottery ornate vases, lots of beautiful glass perfume bottles in all shapes and colours,You could just spends hours there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fifi134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    91
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not much for kids”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this mueseum is a bit to adult for kids so go on your own if you want to slightly enjoy it,they do arts and crafts sessions which are okay but are in a small area and get too busy,the shop is expensive too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimberley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“History in the old fashioned way”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The pride of Preston is the best fit for this place. Ever since I was a child I have visited this place to see the paintings trinkets and the other Art, it also has a fabulous library.

The building would not look out of place in London and is a perfect place to take your kids to learn about the History of Lancashire all the way back to Prehistoric times.. If you have never been then make sure you try to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SlingP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Preston Exhibition”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My young son always likes a trip to the Harris Museum. We really like the Preston exhibition. It's got lots of different interactive pieces to keep little ones entertained and lots of interesting history of the local area. We visited when there was a display of different fashions and textiles through the ages. That was really good to look at aswell. The only reason this is a "very good" instead of "Excellent", is that the main art gallery doesn't seem to have changed it's displays for a long time, not for a few years. Still worth the trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great place to see art, visit the library and look at the great architecture of Preston and Lancashire.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JImmyP-FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harris Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Harris Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing