We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
barnoldswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed overnight following a works function and would defiantly return. On arrival we were greeted by lovely reception staff who couldn`t of been more helpful and friendly! We had the Fell room/suite. Loads of space and bags of comfort and pure tranquility. Decor was in great taste. All modern facilities like sky tv etc. Spa bath with extremely hot water. Warm fluffy, clean towels and dressing gowns. We paid £70 for the night and was worth every penny. Breakfast was fresh, fast and delicious! The surrounding grounds looked amazing but we didn`t have time to wonder around after departure. Loved all the information booklets and helpful maps and menus in our room. Were going to return to dine there soon as the menu appealed to us. Keep up the great work and thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lellxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    53
    47
    22
    23
See reviews for
81
98
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Enjoyed my first stay at this small hotel near Longridge. Although seen only on a winter's day, the drive up to Ferraris is very impressive through an avenue of trees and over a small stone bridge. The buildings are an amalgam of old and new, but the original part of the house is solid and characterful. The gardens are mock Italianate and contrasted with the lovely views of the fells beyond. On a very quiet Wednesaday evening in January, I was the only visitor but staff were most helpful. En suite rooms were good value for money - I've stayed at many grander establishments for a great deal more money but was quite satisfied. The menu was difficult to choose from as, for me, the better starters were on the prix fixe menu while the more interesting mains were a la carte. However, I chose from both with a slight adjustment to the bill, all of which was carefully explained. Decoration in bar area and restaurant is rather dated but appealed to my taste and is characteristic of many Lancashire hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldcrone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed overnight after a family wedding and were delighted with the fabulous garden setting and overall ambiance of the hotel. The food was great and with a coeliac in the family we were delighted to have her well-catered for with her own plate of pre-dinner nibbles plus the afore-mentioned fish and chips, and in the courses of the meal. Thanks for that.
However certain aspects of our stay needed more attention to detail. In the bedroom, the tea/coffee/kettle tray was set up on a small side table nowhere near an electrical socket to plug the kettle in. Why ? When I went to plug it in somewhere else, the socket behind the TV was too far away for the kettle cord to reach, and the one behind the dressing-table needed a contortionist to be able to plug it in. And even if you could, it's not very user-friendly to have the kettle on the carpet underneath the dressing-table ! So that must be the reason why, but if there were no options, wouldn't it make sense to have another socket put in ?
In the ensuite we had no towel rails for our towels, and no ledges to put our toilet bags on. That left the floor (urgh) or the small space on the toilet cistern. A glass shelf would be good?
Also, being an 'internal' room we had no windows, just a skylight in the roof which was covered by an opaque blind so I was left feeling rather claustrophobic. If I had known this when I booked, I would've asked for an external room with a window. Fortunately we were in the room for only 8 hours or I would've asked to be moved.
Breakfast was good but we felt so sorry for the sole member of staff serving the entire room of guests by herself. She was very apologetic and we wrongly assumed someone was perhaps off sick so they were short-handed, but on reading past reviews it sounds as though this is a permanent situation. Unacceptable, not only for her but also the guests who have to wait for their meals. Surely if there has been a wedding the night before, Ferrari's must know extra help for waiting on tables is needed at breakfast the next morning ?
In fact, it would help everyone all round if the Ferraris would read their reviews on TripAdvisor and make the necessary changes to make staying there a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa F, Owner at Ferrari's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your comments, we always like to hear when our customers have enjoyed there stay with us and if not tell us so we can improve our service. Since your stay room 14, which is the one you were staying in, has been completely refurbished with new decor, carpets etc Also in the bathroom all the things you mentioned have been rectified. The adjoining room has also been refurbished to complement, so now makes a lovely family suite of rooms each with its own bath/shower room. We hope to welcome you again to Ferrari's at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Me and my husband had our wedding here last week, I must say Ferrari's took care of everything!
They put up with me for months before the wedding and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was brilliant, they did everything we asked, catered for those in our family who have allergy's (my husband, his brother and uncle).

The only 2 things I would change if I could would be more staff on in the bar area's and more staff on in the mornings as the poor womans rushed off her feet.

Everything else was great. Will be coming back for meals in the future.

The bridal suite was beautiful, one of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaMarthaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We attended a wedding here recently and enjoyed our stay very much. There are beautiful gardens and surroundings – they even ordered fine weather for us after a day of rain elsewhere. There is plenty of car parking, with disabled access to the hotel at 2 points and a well-appointed disabled toilet with more grab handles than the norm, which was really appreciated. All the toilets were clean and well appointed.

The staff were attentive in the bar and function room and our overall impression was of good service. The food was great, from drinks and canapés (we all loved the mini fish & chips!) to the wedding breakfast then tasty evening toasties. Our friends with special diets were also very well catered for. There was a lovely atmosphere – nothing was too much trouble and everything went smoothly.

Our bedroom was very spacious, nicely appointed and comfortable, but the kettle had such a short flex that it was impossible to plug in unless it was balanced on the carpet close to the plug. Our bathroom was fine but friends said theirs had no towel rail so it was difficult to air towels.

Breakfast was ok, buffet service for cereals and juice and orders taken for a cooked breakfast (which was very tasty), but the shortage of staff did not impress us – the one lady who was serving did her very best but with about 20 people in at once it was impossible for her to serve everyone.

One other thing which made a slightly poor impression was that phones and voicemail went unanswered on several occasions when trying to make arrangements; we were, however, very impressed with a personal visit, when nothing was too much trouble. Many people have mentioned the family pictures everywhere, and I think you either love them or hate them – we enjoyed trying to work out which of the current staff were on the pictures looking much younger!

Overall Ferrari’s is a great place for a function and a nice place to stay – with a few improvements it could be fantastic all round.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are much larger and have outside views - cheaper ones can be in the centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackpoolBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We were attending a wedding so booked a room for 2 nights. The location is lovely and the public rooms and bedrooms are full of character. But it is the lack of organisation and service that lets this hotel down. The lack of appropriate staffing seems to be the problem. Reception is largely unmanned, telephone unanswered and voicemails not replied to. Despite a very hard working waitress breakfast is not staffed up for more than a few people which is a great pity. A few small organisational changes (e.g. coffee in a pot rather than served individually) would make a huge difference. We were there for leisure but being business travellers were intrigued to note that this hotel is also marketed as a business venue. The lack of reliable wifi and the poor organisation and staffing means that we would not recommend this hotel for a business function.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripsat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just got married to my beautiful bride and this venue was excellent,Susan and Louisa certainly know how impress their guests. Everything went perfect with even the weather managing to shine for us. We ended the night with fireworks which were also amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montycamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
5.7 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
624 reviews
5.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
947 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
433 reviews
7.7 mi away
Legacy Preston International
8.0 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrari's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Country House Hotel

Property: Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Address: Chipping Road | Thornley, Longridge, Preston PR3 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferrari's Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ferrari's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferraris Country Hotel
Ferrari's Country House Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing