We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Preston West Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Park Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No.10 Preston(Preston)
US$223
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ashwood Hotel(Preston)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Claremont Hotel(Preston)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
103
83
61
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
83
61
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshungry horselea gatemain roadwe booked a family roomvisiting blackpoolcomfy bedwould stay againshort staysat navcooked breakfastcar parkexcellent value for moneyevening mealbartle hallemmapint
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Not what we are used to from premier inn. We read some of the other reviews before going and felt confident as usual that the premier inn would be comfortable and clean as they always are. Maybe we just had a bad experience at this particular one but one of our rooms had damp carpets, a horrible damp smell, mould on the ceiling in the bathroom and the taps where difficult to turn on and off and kept sticking. The other was a bit better but when we leaned against the head board there was a sticky substance all over the it and my hair stuck to it, yuck! Also ants on the floor, no air con just a noisy fan and also not the usual comfortable beds, they were really hard and uncomfortable.

The breakfast was pretty good though and the staff were great apart from one man who was on reception in the morning who had a diva fit when I complained and kept saying 'Well it isn't my fault, I didn't put you in that room did I'. Not helpful!!

Room Tip: Definitely don't have a room down stairs!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Preston West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Situated on Blackpool Road at Lea, Preston, this Premier Inn is described as being within easy reach of Blackpool and its attractions. For shops and local amenities it states that Preston city centre is only 5 miles away and the hotel is conveniently located for Preston train station. However, when pointing out further on exactly how far the hotel is from certain places, it states that the train station is actually 3 miles away, so don't go expecting it to be on the doorstep. Maybe 'conveniently located' should be simply replaced with "Preston Station is 3 miles away" to stop any confusion about this.
As we were travelling by car, this wasn't something which mattered to us personally, but this reminds you that it is worth bearing in mind to always read everything carefully when choosing a hotel, so that it meets your needs.

We found the hotel fairly easily after around a thirty minute drive from Blackpool, following directions from Google maps. The hotel is situated on a main road but is set back, which minimises any noise from passing traffic. Adjacent to the hotel is 'The Lea Gate' - a Hungry Horse pub/restaurant. There are plenty car parking spaces in front of the hotel.

Check in was quick and easy. We were greeted by a friendly and very helpful man on Reception who explained about breakast times, should we want breakfast and the hotel's good night guarantee policy. It was a very hot summer day and he informed us there was a fan in our bedroom and if we required extra sheets to use instead of the quilt on the bed, just to let him know and he would get them for us.

The hotel has two floors and we were located up on the first floor. There didn't appear to be a lift that we could see, so we bumped our suitcase up the stairs. Our room was just a little way along the corridor and looked out onto the front of hotel and some outdoor seating from the pub restaurant next door.
The hotel appeared to be one of the older-style hotels, but has been refurbished and therefore looked much the same as many other Premier Inn rooms, which I personally like with their purple theme.
There was a large and very comfortable double bed, with a mixture of soft and firm pillows and it was made up with crisp white linen and a soft duvet. Open hanging space also housed the kettle and tea/coffee sachets, whilst a flat screen TV was on the workspace area. A large mirror also hung over the workspace area and a hairdryer was attached to the wall here too. There was plenty of space to move around and as well as a chair in front of the workspace area, there was a bucket-style chair and small table in the corner of the room.

The bathroom was small but adequate for our needs, with a decent power shower over the bath and large fluffy white towels. Hand soap and shower gel were provided via wall dispensers but I always prefer to take my own toiletries with me.
Everything was spotlessly clean throughout and we had no complaints.

The fan provided was a godsend as there was no air conditioning. It was a floor standing tower-type fan which we turned on right away as it was a very hot day and it did the job helping us to keep as cool as possible. We actually spent a very comfortable night, despite the high tempartures outside and we replaced the duvet with a sheet which was duly provided from reception as promised.

The Hungry Horse pub restaurant 'The Lea Gate' next door was a very nice place to visit and also very cool inside, but also had outdoor seating and a small children's playpark. We enjoyed a meal there and a couple of drinks and can recommend the food and the service which was very friendly.
On returning to the hotel, we did have a problem getting the TV to work as the reception was very poor, which may have been due to the weather I am not sure, but we eventually found that by sitting in a certain position near the TV, caused the picture quality to improve and so we were able to catch the highlights of Andy Murray winning Wimbledon without losing reception by not moving an inch, which to be honest we found more amusing than annoying at the time!

Apart from the slight niggle with the TV, we encountered no other problems and spent a quiet and comfortable night.
We checked out at 12 noon the following day and asked if everything had been okay with our stay and then wished a safe journey home.
I am happy to recommend Preston West Premier Inn and would definitely stay here again if in the area, don't forget by booking early and by booking online at PremierInn.com you can secure the best available prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location wise not the best choice, but overall a comfortable stay at a budget price. Friendly and efficient staff in both hotel and restaurant. Last minute stopover whilst travelling up to Scotland. Obviously convenient for the coastal resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

On a holiday to Scotland we stayed at a Travelodge on the way up and a Premier Inn on the way back, the Premier Inn was much nicer. However the best thing is the customer service. Due to me double booking due to a slow PC, I called back in Feb and was assured that it would be sorted on the day. No note had been made so the lady on reception was very sorry, she couldn't help and we would have to pay for both rooms. After a bit of persuasion she called her manager who couldn't have been more helpful, sorted it out there and then. So a big thumbs up to the management! Also around 15 miles from Blackpool so a good place to stay if you can't get anything closer

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A lovely hotel, with a great Hungry Horse pub/restaurant next door. all the staff are very welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble. We did have a faulty tap in our bathroom, and within minutes of informing reception the hotel manager knocked on our door. He was more than helpful and even though they couldn't move us to another room(as fully booked over the bank holiday) he reimbursed us the cost of our breakfast and sent a complimentary bottle of wine.great Service by any standard of hotel.
There is a lovely little park outside for the kids to play on and plenty of seating for the adults to sit and watch them playing whilst enjoying a nice cold drink from the bar.
As it is only 20 minutes or so from Blackpool centre, it's ideal to get away from the hustle and bustle of the seaside attractions but close enough to take a short drive for a great day out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziespends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews