We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for Blackpool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Preston West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Preston West Hotel
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Handy for Blackpool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

As luck would have it I spotted this place offering rooms for £29/ night on the website and booked in for 4 nights with the missus to see blackpools attractions. There are several Premier Inns in the area so that caused some confusion but we eventually found it and checked in successfully. The room was absolutely fine other than the fact it smelled a bit damp but this was unnoticeable after a time. We stayed in room 4 which was quite a big room. Had all the usual facilities like tea, coffee but no biscuits unfortunately. The room and shower were clean, overall it was quite adequate and it was very quiet. Never saw another guest the whole time we were there and only heard noise once when kids were getting ready upstairs in another room but wasnt too bad. We also ate twice at the hungry horse at nights. It was fine, nothing out of the ordinary really for the price. Other nights we went into kirkham which has a lots of shops and a few takeaways etc. also had food in preston itself one night which is just a stones throw away. The best part of the hotel was its proximity to blackpool where we drove daily. Its just a short distance onto the m55 and then blackpool is not far. There is a big tesco just off the motorway which was handy or supplies. The staff at the hotel were fine, didnt really need them for anything other than checking in. Yes we got a key for the room too but when out and about i just left it in the car as it was quite bulky. Overall it was fine apart from the minor damp thing. Im sure it wouldnt take much to sort it out though.

Room Tip: Room 4 was okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_riddle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    71
    49
    34
    30
See reviews for
127
62
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have stayed in quite a few Premier Inns now and this one has to rank the lowest that I have stayed in. It was ok, it was clean and tidy but compared to others that I have stayed in, it was dated and not the usual quality that I have come to enjoy from Premier Inn.

The staff were friendly and polite, so no complaints there.

Was surprised to get a key rather than a keycard, I don't like keys as they are so bulky and not so easy to carry around. The room was ok, the last few places I have stayed have nice big tvs on the wall so was surprised with the desk mounted smaller tv. The bathroom was small and pokey but overall ok. I would have liked somewhere to hang and dry the towel as I had a shower as soon as I got in and another one in the morning and the towel was still damp as no where to dry it and other Premier Inns usually have a towel rail. The bath had a few marks on the bottom that were a bit off putting but was just a bit on the tired side rather than dirty.

The room was really cold when I got in, but I put the heater on and it warmed up quickly.

I had a meal in the Hungry Horse next door, it was ok, not as good as I had expected from a Hungry Horse. I had a chicken skewer for starter which was good, the classic hot dog was ok, but really messy to eat but was edible.

I wont be booking here again, will try one of the other Preston Premier Inn's if I am back this way again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Podder1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We had 3 rooms booked. 2 we're on Tue south side of the building. The other was on the north. North side rooms are ALL damp. We know because we complained and ended up checking out many of them. Eventually got all our rooms on the south side. We were fortunate we were away from the wedding party so had quiet rooms but walking through to our rooms late that evening I did potty anyone sleeping in that area as it was very noisy. Breakfast wasn't too had but plates were dirty and the staff had problems keeping up with the demand, many items running out several times. Not the staff's fault as there were not enough of them on. Staff in the hotel were ok but we had to press hard to get the room sorted out. This is an older hotel and needs some serious work done on the place to deal with the damp. I do feel a little sorry for the staff there as it is their head office that should commit to improving the place. It was was very average affair in the end and not to the standards of other premier inns.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good points - nothing in particular unless it's handy for where you need to be, personally I would sooner travel than stay there again. Wi-fi which you have to pay for is very weak and drops out all the time. Showers have no pressure, breakfast is poor. There was a wedding party in when we stayed making a great deal of noise and the staff did nothing to prevent it. Don't stay in room 22 unless you want waking up every time someone has a shower in the hotel, the main boiler / drainage is next door

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foxwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Preston West Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our 2nd stay here and I was rather disappointed this time.

Check in was slow, and we were unable to pay cash for our room as we didn't have the ID required to pay by cash!!! Thankfully we had our card with us!

We stayed in a downstairs room and you could smell damp in the bathroom. we had to keep the bathroom door shut at all times to stop the smell from drifting into our room.

Apart from the bathroom our room was fine, large comfortable bed, flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities.

We enjoyed eating breakfast in the restaurant, it was very clean, the staff were very nice and the breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice. My only slight criticism is that you had to ask for more food to be put out once it had ran out - maybe once they see things are running low they could re-fill!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Not what we are used to from premier inn. We read some of the other reviews before going and felt confident as usual that the premier inn would be comfortable and clean as they always are. Maybe we just had a bad experience at this particular one but one of our rooms had damp carpets, a horrible damp smell, mould on the ceiling in the bathroom and the taps where difficult to turn on and off and kept sticking. The other was a bit better but when we leaned against the head board there was a sticky substance all over the it and my hair stuck to it, yuck! Also ants on the floor, no air con just a noisy fan and also not the usual comfortable beds, they were really hard and uncomfortable.

The breakfast was pretty good though and the staff were great apart from one man who was on reception in the morning who had a diva fit when I complained and kept saying 'Well it isn't my fault, I didn't put you in that room did I'. Not helpful!!

Room Tip: Definitely don't have a room down stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Preston West Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Situated on Blackpool Road at Lea, Preston, this Premier Inn is described as being within easy reach of Blackpool and its attractions. For shops and local amenities it states that Preston city centre is only 5 miles away and the hotel is conveniently located for Preston train station. However, when pointing out further on exactly how far the hotel is from certain places, it states that the train station is actually 3 miles away, so don't go expecting it to be on the doorstep. Maybe 'conveniently located' should be simply replaced with "Preston Station is 3 miles away" to stop any confusion about this.
As we were travelling by car, this wasn't something which mattered to us personally, but this reminds you that it is worth bearing in mind to always read everything carefully when choosing a hotel, so that it meets your needs.

We found the hotel fairly easily after around a thirty minute drive from Blackpool, following directions from Google maps. The hotel is situated on a main road but is set back, which minimises any noise from passing traffic. Adjacent to the hotel is 'The Lea Gate' - a Hungry Horse pub/restaurant. There are plenty car parking spaces in front of the hotel.

Check in was quick and easy. We were greeted by a friendly and very helpful man on Reception who explained about breakast times, should we want breakfast and the hotel's good night guarantee policy. It was a very hot summer day and he informed us there was a fan in our bedroom and if we required extra sheets to use instead of the quilt on the bed, just to let him know and he would get them for us.

The hotel has two floors and we were located up on the first floor. There didn't appear to be a lift that we could see, so we bumped our suitcase up the stairs. Our room was just a little way along the corridor and looked out onto the front of hotel and some outdoor seating from the pub restaurant next door.
The hotel appeared to be one of the older-style hotels, but has been refurbished and therefore looked much the same as many other Premier Inn rooms, which I personally like with their purple theme.
There was a large and very comfortable double bed, with a mixture of soft and firm pillows and it was made up with crisp white linen and a soft duvet. Open hanging space also housed the kettle and tea/coffee sachets, whilst a flat screen TV was on the workspace area. A large mirror also hung over the workspace area and a hairdryer was attached to the wall here too. There was plenty of space to move around and as well as a chair in front of the workspace area, there was a bucket-style chair and small table in the corner of the room.

The bathroom was small but adequate for our needs, with a decent power shower over the bath and large fluffy white towels. Hand soap and shower gel were provided via wall dispensers but I always prefer to take my own toiletries with me.
Everything was spotlessly clean throughout and we had no complaints.

The fan provided was a godsend as there was no air conditioning. It was a floor standing tower-type fan which we turned on right away as it was a very hot day and it did the job helping us to keep as cool as possible. We actually spent a very comfortable night, despite the high tempartures outside and we replaced the duvet with a sheet which was duly provided from reception as promised.

The Hungry Horse pub restaurant 'The Lea Gate' next door was a very nice place to visit and also very cool inside, but also had outdoor seating and a small children's playpark. We enjoyed a meal there and a couple of drinks and can recommend the food and the service which was very friendly.
On returning to the hotel, we did have a problem getting the TV to work as the reception was very poor, which may have been due to the weather I am not sure, but we eventually found that by sitting in a certain position near the TV, caused the picture quality to improve and so we were able to catch the highlights of Andy Murray winning Wimbledon without losing reception by not moving an inch, which to be honest we found more amusing than annoying at the time!

Apart from the slight niggle with the TV, we encountered no other problems and spent a quiet and comfortable night.
We checked out at 12 noon the following day and asked if everything had been okay with our stay and then wished a safe journey home.
I am happy to recommend Preston West Premier Inn and would definitely stay here again if in the area, don't forget by booking early and by booking online at PremierInn.com you can secure the best available prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Legacy Preston International
4.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Preston West Hotel
Address: Blackpool Road | Lea, Preston PR4 0XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample the best Preston and Blackpool have to offer or take in the nearby coastal plain of The Fylde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Preston West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Preston West Hotel Preston
Premier Inn Preston West Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing