We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice conversion..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Preston Central
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Preston
peterborough
2 reviews
“Nice conversion..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Located in an old mill, this Travelodge is quite central and easy to find. The building is stunning and sympathetically converted, although the listed status mean that the car park is a test of true driving agility.
Overall the pace was as you would expect, cheerful, clean, and well kept up by cheerful helpful staff.
Best point: The bed was very comfortable. I was surprised, they never used to be so good.
Worst point: A personal niggle, but why charge for wifi. That annoys me, as does £3.45 for a pint of beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    111
    81
    62
    81
See reviews for
173
108
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

very clean and comfortable with excellent staff. easy to find and quite central. would definitely stay here again. the bed was so comfy and we had an excellent nights sleep. would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We used this as a convenient stop off on the way up to the Lake District. Up the ramp into the maze of a car park, no easy route through the pillars is indicated. The receptionist was very helpful and we got settled into our street facing room OK. Booked dinner else ware, thank you trip advisor ;)
The rood had no net curtains so no privacy without total black out. Road noise was an issue for me, the street outside was busy and a local shops alarm sounded for about an hour through the night, my husband did not stir at all,, so I guess its just my sensitivity to noise.
The bed was super comfortable and everything was fresh and clean. A refurbished site that only the car part really lets it down.

Room Tip: take ear plugs for a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped over here to break the journey after arriving at Manchester Airport. Typical Travelodge rooms so nothing to complain about. Thought that when it was called Preston Central that there would be restaurants close by, but nearest seemed to be over a mile away and we did not fancy driving again after traveling all day and we fancied a drink. Had dinner in the hotel and it was fairly basic, but filled the gap.
Our room was to the front but we did not get much road noise and slept well.
Breakfast was excellent. As there were few guests that night they did not put on the usual breakfast buffet, but cooked our breakfast to order. Could have had seconds but as portion was good had to decline.

Avoid the car park as there is a nightmare of a ramp to it and you have to maneuver between poles to park. I got parked ok, but trying to get out the next day I rubbed my mirror against one of the many poles. Fortunately the mark came off with t-cut.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ledgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Room clean and fresh. Food was okey.Just car park very annoing. The best Travelodge I have ever stayed. All staff very nice ,especially Receptionist Basia very helpful and polite. I will stay again and again in Preston Travelodge...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabrowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had originally booked to stay here for 2 nights, but left after the first night.
Had major issues with the car park - the car park entrance is very tight and when you finally do get into the car park, it is littered with poles everywhere - making it nearly impossible to park/turn a car that is any larger than a smart car.

Eventually we had to park the car in a side street (which was the advise of a member of staff after the issues we had with the travelodge car park) however we returned the next morning the car had been maliciously damaged, the 2 passenger side doors had been scratched right across them by a key and there was also damage to the bonnet.

Once we had finally checked into the hotel, it took us over 15 minutes to actually access our room due to the card not being "processed properly," after supposedly having the key card sorted, it still wouldn't let us into the room. The next morning the key card stopped working again so my partner went to reception to complain, to be met by a rude and abrasive lady.

Overall the room was clean and what I would normally expect from this chain, however the location is absolutely awful due to the amount of traffic passing from dawn to dust - it literally doesn't stop - causing us to spend most of the night awake due to the noise.

I certainly won't be recommending this hotel or returning to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_hufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston hotels

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had originally booked to stay here for 2 nights but decided not to stay the 2nd night for a number of reasons.

Things got off to a terrible start when trying to park the car, the car park should have a warning sign before you go anywhere near it as the entrance is extremely tight and the car park is littered with poles everywhere making it nearly impossible to turn a car larger than a smart car. Was driving an estate car and when trying to park the car and manoeuvre it scraped the paint work off the back panel. Due to not wanting to park here we asked a member of staff if there was any suitable parking close by and was told either the Lidl car park or on street. Couldn't get in to Lidl's when we came back in as bingo was on so parked on a side street. When we returned to the car in the morning it had been maliciously damaged, the 2 passenger side doors had been scratched right across them by a key and damage to the bonnet.

After checking in it took over 15 minutes before we could actually access our room. The first time the key card would not open any doors and after them supposedly having sorted it went back again and still wouldn't open the bedroom door. After over 15 minutes they finally got us into our room. The next morning again the card also stopped working and when I went to complain to reception the lady who dealt with me was rude and abrasive.

The room was clean and what you would normally expect from this chain but the location is poor due to the amount of traffic passing by at all times of the night, kept us awake most of it.

Decided before the 2nd night to just check out and find somewhere else to stay. This is certainly a hotel I wouldn't recommend or be returning to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambo4life1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
Legacy Preston International
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.3 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Preston Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Preston Central

Property: Travelodge Preston Central
Address: Preston Farmers Office, 47 New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Preston Central 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Preston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Preston Central Hotel Preston
Travel Lodge Preston
Preston Travelodge
Preston Travel Lodge
Travelodge Preston Central Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing