We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Southport UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had our daughters wedding ceremony/reception here last week and were not disappointed.
The staff were perfect, the food was delicious and the venue was lovely.
My wife and i stayed in the Westby room which was also used for the Bride and entourage to prepare for the ceremony.
Lisa our wedding coordinator was great and looked after our every need so thanks to her.
The waitresses and the way the food was served (taking care of the children and a couple of guests who had individual needs, ie vegy and diabetic) were great.
All our guests were very pleased and said how well we were taken care of and how professional the staff were. James, from the late bar also gets a special mention as he looked after a small group of us until 4.15am lol.
The grounds looked great and the Bride and Groom had some fantastic photos taken with the superb background of the Hotel.
We would defianitely recommend Bartle Hall to friends as we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience so thank you Bartle Hall

Room Tip: Book your favourite room when you book the wedding ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P5ety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind words following your Daughter’s wedding here at Bartle Hall Hotel. The Westby room with its four poster and roll top bath is one of our very popular feature rooms, and it was nice to read you like the room. Lisa was delighted with her mention as was James, who I have to say work very hard along with the rest of the team, and it is always nice to read when people leave comments here on Trip Advisor, and I will of course pass them on to them. We are also very proud of the grounds too, and we are currently working with or landscape gardeners, Barton Grange, to make sure that they are kept to a very high standard of presentation. It would be nice to see a few of the pictures taken posted on Facebook maybe, once again thank you for all your comments, and I hope to see you in the future.

Yours sincerely
Christopher Ashby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    84
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
139
149
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I've stayed at the hotel on a few occasions on business and after a travel from Kent, I cant think of anywhere I'd rather unwind and rest my head (we tried a few hotels in the area before we found this gem!). Beautiful rooms in a beautiful setting with even more beautiful food. The service is always friendly and welcoming and the staff are always happy to go above and beyond. Never a bad word from my colleague or myself, and would recommend Bartle Hall every time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyH1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor following you recent stay with us at Bartle Hall. It’s great to read that along with our many Wedding guest we can also accommodate the weary traveller too. I will of course pass on to all the team here your comments and I look forward in meeting you on your next stay with us, please just give me a call and I would be happy to take care of all the details, for both yourself and your colleague.

Regards

Christopher Ashby
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as I was having an operation nearby. We stayed in the elswick room. Was very grand. Beautiful clean and lovely bathroom. I preferred this to the marriott in preston. Shame I had to stay in hospital over night :( still went back for my lovely breakfast In morning :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcastle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Firstly may I start by saying on behalf of all the team here at Bartle Hall, thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we all hope you are feeling a little better now. It would be lovely to see you return in the near future, and if you would like to contact me personally I would be happy to make all the arrangements so you can stay in the Elswick room again, or maybe one of our Four Poster bedrooms.

Regards
Christopher Ashby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Myself and my husband returned to Bartle Hall on 30th March, so we could wake up at the wonderful place we got married at last year on our 1st wedding anniversary. It was lovely to spend more time in the Ivy Cottage this time around, which is a gorgeous modern bridal suite with a wonderful bathroom and your own private terrace area.
We didn't recognise any of the staff this year, (so not sure if they had all changed or just some of them) but all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We arrived at check in time and there was no waiting, the room was ready.
We booked for a meal later in the evening when we guessed less people would be eating and were able to have our own private dining experience by candlelight. The food was just as perfect as we remembered! Not sure if it is still the same chef- but please pass our compliments to the chef! My husband commented that the mash potato that accompanied his rump of lamp was the best he had ever had! We enjoyed every mouthful of our starters and mains and unfortunately did not have room for a desert. As it was our anniversary we were also given a complimentary bottle of Prosecco which was a lovely touch.
Alex looked after us before, during and after the meal in the bar area, and is a credit to the hotel. We love the comfortable, cosy bar area with a roaring fire. The standards in the hotel remain very high with the decor and cleanliness which is great to see.
We had a great nights sleep, followed by one of the best breakfasts we've ever had, the cooked breakfast is cooked to order and then there is plenty of other fresh options also of juices, yoghurt, fruit, cereals, pastries etc. We had a wander round the grounds a couple of times remembering our amazing wedding day and hope to return again for our next wedding anniversary. Thank you all at Bartle Hall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairemc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write it, and post it here on Trip Advisor. We do have a few new members of the team, and it is nice to read that they too are carrying on the great service you, your family and friends experienced during your wedding last year, how time flies. The Head Chef Rowan, who was on duty for both your wedding last year and your anniversary meal, would like me to pass onto you his and his teams thanks for your great comments about the food, also Alex our newly promoted Supervisor was pleased to see his mention in your review. It’s always nice to see people back at Bartle, which I know holds many great memories for lots of people.
Yours sincerely
Christopher Ashby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Seven of us enjoyed afternoon tea.
Originally we planned to have it in The Garden Room, but because it was such a sunny day we decided to have it served outside. Bartle Hall is set in 16 acres of grounds. The birdsong was lovely and added to the atmosphere.
The meal was served on cake stands and everything was delicious: tasty sandwiches, scones and cakes. The posset enjoyed by all of us. Excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Afternoon Tea what a lovely way to enjoy a spring afternoon, Thank you very much for your nice comments. As you properly know we serve traditional full afternoon tea here at Bartle Hall each Tuesday & Wednesday, and of course weather permitting we are more than happy to serve it outside in the garden. A note for your diary may be the afternoon tea, Soiree we are holding on both Sunday the 18th of May and Sunday 29th of June, both with live music it would be great to see you back then. In the meantime once again thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, and I will of course pass on your comments to the team here at Bartle Hall Hotel.

Kind Regards
Christopher Ashby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Our son and Daughter-in-Law held their Wedding Reception there on Sunday 23/3/14 excellent service from the day you book until the moment you have to leave. The day of the Wedding - could not have asked for more attentive staff and I think it was Lisa Hosley that was in charge and made the day run smoothly and without a hitch. The personal note ended a fantastic and memorably day. Thank you all for your hard work. You helped make the day, the setting is beautiful and we can't wait to see the professional photos, the ones taken by family all have a beautiful background. There are a number of rooms - ours had a beautiful 4 poster bed with lower level bath and shower - beautiful.
I would strongly recommend this venue for a Wedding. - Mother of the Groom.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
It was wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed your Son and Daughter-in-Law's wedding here at Bartle Hall in March.

Thank you so much for the lovely comments you posted here, firstly about the Hotel and then myself. I have to say it was a fantastic day and a pleasure to be a part of their special day. It would be great to see one of two of the pictures posted on our Facebook page, for all to see.

I will most certainly pass on your comments to all the staff.

Thank you

Lisa.
Front of House Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My friend had her wedding here and we stayed at the hotel . Cannot fault it. The day was extremely well organised food and service second to none! Would definitely recommend this hotel. A fantastic fairy tale wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments posted here after you attending your friend’s Wedding. It’s not only great to read that you as a guest not only enjoyed your stay with us, you also enjoyed your day and help to make your friends special day “fantastic”

Christopher Ashby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
978 reviews
3.7 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
711 reviews
13.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartle Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartle Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Address: Lea Lane | Bartle, nr Preston, Preston PR4 0HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Preston
#3 Family Hotel in Preston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartle Hall Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 16 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Bartle Hall is the perfect location for comfort and pure relaxation when away from home. Our guests enjoy award-winning cuisine, comfortable business facilities, luxury lounges, exemplary service and beautifully decorated bedrooms and suites. Ideally situated between its neighbouring towns of Preston and Blackpool, and only a short drive from the Lake District, we are the idyllic country retreat for your Lancashire break. With 15 en-suite bedrooms ranging from classic doubles to executive rooms, four poster suites and cottages, we offer the perfect base for all types of visitor including business travellers, leisure guests, couples and families. Enjoy stunning views over the hotel grounds and surrounding woodland, as we provide a warm welcome with complimentary luxury toiletries and a premium selection of teas, coffees and homemade treats on arrival to your room. The peaceful atmosphere together with our high exacting standards and attention to detail, mean visitors truly relax and forget the pressures of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bartle Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartle Hall Country Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing