We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more can you ask for!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
“What more can you ask for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having heard good reviews from friends we booked afternoon for myself, my husband and our 17 year old daughter and from the time we arrived to the time we left, we could not have asked for more. As it was such a lovely day we hoped that we could sit outside and they didn't disappoint, they gave us a table overlooking the lovely grounds! The food was lovely and the homemade scones and cakes were a delight. We would like to thank Jack and Jake for the attentive service and also for recommending a lovely wine that went exceedingly well with the afternoon tea. We will definitely be returning with friends for the next afternoon soiree.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
What a lovely review,

Thank you for taking the time to write it and post it here on Trip Advisor,

What a great way to spend a Sunny Sunday Afternoon, sitting in a garden enjoying one of our very popular afternoon Soirees with family. I will of course pass on your kind comments to both Jack and Jake, they will be delighted, and it’s always nice to get great feedback about the team they all work very hard. Also the kitchen team would like me to thank you for the fantastic comments about the home made scones and cakes. I am sure you will be on our mailing list, but also keep an eye on our web site for the next one, but don’t forget we do serve Afternoon tea during the week.

Once again thank you.

Christopher Ashby

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    80
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
133
143
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Hello!!!!! we thought this was brill ain't! Especially James behind the bar! Thank you so much for the great Time of night xxx. Hello!!!!! we thought this was brill ain't! Especially James behind the bar! Thank you so much for the great Time of night xxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Great Review, thank you,

I am please you enjoyed your short time with us here at Bartle Hall, I will of course pass on your comments to James he will be delighted with them.
Regards

Christopher Ashby
Bartle Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I had a Monday night break at Bartle Hall for our Anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a nicer way to spend it. Tucked away in a countryside location just out of Preston, stunning country house with very friendly and helpful staff.
We were treated to a glass fizz on arrival and our dinner was beautifully cooked and presented . Our room was stylish and had a balcony over looking the grounds.
Thank- you so much for our lovely stay!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the front or the lawn will be the sunniest and have the nicest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for such a nice review.
It was fantastic to read you enjoyed your mid-week special break with us here at Bartle Hall.
I do hope you got to drink your glass of fizz on the Balcony of your room or in the garden, if not next time. I will of course pass on all your comments to the team, and from all of us here at Bartle Hall “Happy Anniversary.

Christopher Ashby
Bartle Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have had afternoon tea at a few places but afternoon tea at bartle was very disappointing for the price of £18 per head. Usually you have a range of sandwiches, quiche, large scones ,cakes, savouries etc. The three tier plate was for two (£36) the sandwiches were fresh but boring ,8 small ones. The next plate had 4 very small scones, it was these that was the most disappointing. The scones were tiny and crumbled when you cut them in half. They were that small you could put them in your mouth in one go. You also had a very small jar of clotted cream and jam and a 2 small fairy cakes. The top plate had 4 very small (again) cakes and two brownies. I expected a more from Bartle but everything was dainty and boring a glorified picnic ! Unfortunately I would not recommend afternoon tea at Bartle Hall. Sorry Bartle !

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. From reading your comments I understand you must have been to one of our very popular Sunday Afternoon Tea Soirees, which is indeed priced at £18.00 per person, but does include live music, our full Afternoon Tea during the week is priced at £15.00 per person. All the dainty cakes and scones, served with the large selection of various teas are homemade and the sandwiches cut into finger style we think are in keeping with a traditional Afternoon Tea. I am sorry that the afternoon did not live up to your expectations, it may not have been your “cup of tea”. I do hope you might return to Bartle Hall in the future.

Yours sincerely
Christopher Ashby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had daughters wedding and reception at Bartle Hall ,wedding breakfast first class and well organised,rooms very nice but plumbing is a problem ,having a shower and water stopped but we put that down to water pressure,breakfast cookec to order and of a very good quality ,overall all would give 4 stars to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevep1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review here on Trip Advisor.
It was nice to read you enjoyed both your daughter’s Wedding and your stay on the whole, however I sincerely apologise of the water issue, I am happy to report that this has now been resolved by United Utilities after they found a problem with our mains supply.

Kind Regards

Christopher Ashby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My son and daughter in law recently had their wedding reception at Bartle Hall and I would recommend the venue for any one thinking of holding their reception here. From the day the wedding was booked the staff couldn't do enough to advise and help. The hotel looked beautiful and the food excellent. From arriving to going to bed at night the staff worked hard making the day one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I am very pleased to hear your wonderful comments about the hotel as a wedding venue, as you may know, we are one of the premier wedding venues in the North West and we pride ourselves on our staff and service here. Great to hear that you thought the food was excellent, perhaps you would like to come back and try one of our Afternoon Teas?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

There was an advertisement on British TV a while ago claiming that the product did exactly what it says on the can. It seems that the management of this hotel either can't read or are so desperate for revenue that they fear taking one of their rooms out of service for a little while would damage the bottom line. I'm sure they can read and I'm pretty sure that their bottom line is well taken care of.

The cans in question are filled with paint and like all good corporations it's manufacturers ensure the warning signs are written big and bold across the can. Make sure it's used in a well ventilated place, do not inhale the fumes otherwise you may be subjected to a lifetime of being high that no amount of California legal pot could hope to match. So what do the management do after repainting the room, they double check the security features of the windows are extra secure ensuring you can't open the window more than an a couple of inches and fill every other room so there is no alternative accommodation available. Perhaps the owners should spend a night in their own hotel to understand and have a little more empathy. I guess one saving grace was the smell of deep fried food drifting up the stairs, if you are going to drift off into a paint vapour induced coma you might as well go there dreaming of chips.

We were guests at a wedding and the hotel seems to only cater to weddings, the bedroom was clean (after all it had just been painted) and the breakfast excellent but it wasn't in the £120 a night category. Like several other reviewers I felt ripped off and it left a sour taste unfortunately.

Room Tip: Check before you book a room as some are above the kitchen, (quite smelly) and others are being deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher A, General Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we have indeed been re-decorating some of our bedrooms, which has improved their quality and standard.

I am sorry to hear that there was still a smell of paint in the room, however the paint used was non-toxic, so although it may have had a slight fragrance, it certainly would not have been harmful.

During a wedding, all of the 15 bedrooms are utilised. We certainly are a very popular wedding venue, however we are a working hotel through the week also; offering afternoon teas on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, with a restaurant opening in September.

Very pleased to hear that you thought our breakfast was excellent, our food offering is something that we are very proud of here at the hotel.

We would very much like to invite you back to the hotel and if you contact myself directly, we can organise this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
3.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
10.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartle Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartle Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Address: Lea Lane | Bartle, nr Preston, Preston PR4 0HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Preston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#3 Family Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartle Hall Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 16 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Bartle Hall is the perfect location for comfort and pure relaxation when away from home. Our guests enjoy award-winning cuisine, comfortable business facilities, luxury lounges, exemplary service and beautifully decorated bedrooms and suites. Ideally situated between its neighbouring towns of Preston and Blackpool, and only a short drive from the Lake District, we are the idyllic country retreat for your Lancashire break. With 15 en-suite bedrooms ranging from classic doubles to executive rooms, four poster suites and cottages, we offer the perfect base for all types of visitor including business travellers, leisure guests, couples and families. Enjoy stunning views over the hotel grounds and surrounding woodland, as we provide a warm welcome with complimentary luxury toiletries and a premium selection of teas, coffees and homemade treats on arrival to your room. The peaceful atmosphere together with our high exacting standards and attention to detail, mean visitors truly relax and forget the pressures of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bartle Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartle Hall Country Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing