We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating, kind and welcoming staff”
Review of Ashwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashwood Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very accommodating, kind and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Booked a cheap return train Preston to London, knowing we'd arrive back in Preston too late for a connecting train home so emailed Ashwood to enquire if we could check in early before our morning train, staff kindly agreed that we could do so. Unfortunately we were rushing around our Satnav got us lost down the one way street and we ended up rushing for the train so couldn't check in before the trip. I rang Ashwood to apologise and the very kind and helpful lady (really sorry I didn't get her name) waited at reception for us to arrive late at night. On our arrival she was friendly and asked how our trip was and then she was up in the morning serving us all our delicious breakfast. We are very appreciative and highly recommend the hotel. It's an excellent base near the train station and there was even hot chocolate in the room which went down a treat! Thank you Ashwood Hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigOldFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    43
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
30
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very clean and friendly place to stay. Close to the town and train station. Our room was very clean and spacious. There is a nice lounge area. Breakfast was fresh and hot with plenty of things to choose from. This is not our first stay and wont be our last.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zena176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Once again we stayed in the Ashwood hotel in Preston. Staff lovely and helpful as always, hotel clean and well maintained as usual. I have only praise for this hotel and the staff. The room is lovely, the staff can't do enough for guests, the food still fresh and of good quality, better quality than more expensieve hotel I have stayed in in Preston, the parking available is still the same as last time, not many spaces but any parking spaces in Preston hotels are a rare thing. The owner remembered us from our last visit. A really lovely experience.

Room Tip: If you like to look at trees and a garden request a room at the rear, if you like to look out of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leicestereve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay for the night in Preston, that was reasonably priced and close to UCLAN,as we were going to visit our daughter for the weekend who is studying there. We were after a family room as our son, who is 18 wanted to come with us, we tried several hotels but they wouldn't accept us all in one room. When we rang the Ashwood the lady was really friendly and had no problem accommodating us. We were made to feel very welcome on check-in, the room was just what we needed and clean. We had a very comfortable stay and breakfast was very tasty. Will definitely stay there again if we go and visit our daughter again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

One night stay only on 18/10/13.
As we had only booked this accommodation on the day we where travelling we where not anticipating very much for the £49 we had paid for the twin room. On arrival we where able to park up easily right outside the property. We where welcomed at the door by who we presumed was the owner who was extremely warm friendly, approachable and informative regarding any questions we had. We had booked a twin as it was less expensive but she offered us a free upgrade the the more expensive double which we appreciated. She personally escorted us to our room and told us about the later night card entry system and breakfast times before leaving.
In the morning the breakfast was delicious and was a combination of cooked full english and a choice of cereals yoghurts fresh fruits and croisants. A very impressive choice for the overall price of the stay. On checkout we asked if we could leave our car in the parking bay for a while whilst we went shopping and had lunch out. The owner was more than happy for us to do this and thanked us for our custom.
The property is within about 5 minute walking distance of the train station along the same stretch of road therefore very easy to find, and all the bars shops restaurants and theatres are again within minutes of there. We went to lofty bar which is more of an alternative music venue for a specific event they where hosting then on the saturday went shopping in the fishergate centre and had lunch at yates and we where able to walk easily from the hotel to all of these locations. All in all we found it to be a very pleasant place to stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosM1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I've stayed here now for several years, every time I come to Preston for my annual school reunion. I need a single room, and as I am a little handicapped they always give me a room on the ground floor. The owners - a family - are very nice and friendly and can't do enough for me. The breakfast is excellent and although it officially starts at 7.00 a.m. if I give them notice because I have to catch an early train, they will help. Because the room doesn't have a bath the cost is reasonable and the toilet is upstairs but there is also a toilet on the ground floor. Tea and coffee making facilities are available. The room is clean and as it is on the back of the house, it is nice and quiet, the bed is comfortable and there is plenty of room to hang up or place possessions. This year there are new chairs in the dining room. By the way, Wetherspoons in Friargate now stay open until 11 p.m.!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the house are very quiet and look onto the hotel garden. Those on the front...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stopped here during my girlfriends graduation in July. Room was clean, and supplied with good facilities but was spoilt by the temperature of the room. I do understand that this is england and that we only get temperatures above 20 a few months of the year but the heat was stupid, even at night with the window open. This is when I went down stairs to ask for a fan and got a response which I thought was quite rude and unprofessional " I don't even have a fan so we haven't got one for guests". I can only assume that this response was because the young lad looked like he was child of the owners, who didn't really want to be working or supporting his family business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#11 of 15 in Preston
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
3.1 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
693 reviews
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Hotel

Property: Ashwood Hotel
Address: 11-13 Fishergate Hill, Preston PR1 8JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashwood is a warm and comfortable family run guesthouse. Located just 5 minutes walk from the city centre and railway station, we are ideally situated for the university, local bus station and records office. With 25 bedrooms, we offer a high level of service and take pride in our accommodation. Parking is available to the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing