We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sour grapes from previous reviews me thinks!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitburn House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I was also staying at this hotel the same night as the previous review guests, the hotel is nothing like they describe,I heard these foul mouthed guests shouting in the hotel and think management where quite right to get rid of them, how childish to go on a review site and try to ruin someone who is trying to make an honest living ?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monty516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

Had the misfortune to be checked into the Whitburn House hotel in Preston for one night in May 2011. The room was musty, some people in our group had dirty walls and the location is by a busy road and noisy. The £70 charge seemed excessive. I would not recommend the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank KNBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitburnHouse H, Manager at Whitburn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Yes you did check out, Only because you booked nine rooms for one night the receptionist from your company made the booking of the nine rooms, When the booking was made we told her 3 rooms would be standerd rooms shared toliet and shower floor below we did a deal with the woman who made the booking, all the rooms £35 each the lady at your end agreed and said some of you wouldnt mind sharing the bath room, Anyway you all turned up very smart, Went to your rooms came down and said bed & breakfast was not for you! Because some rooms had shared bathrooms and we didnt have a bar, So yes you checked out! It was obvious the lady who booked the rooms Did not consult the people who would be staying, The next morning the woman who booked the rooms rang us up and said ''we want our money back'' I Said no because you cannot turn up at 7pm and decied you are not staying, Because of lack of communcation on your side, So this is why you was all made to write a nasty review, Or face being sacked from your jobs, So next time you want to book a bed&breakfast get a new receptionist who knows what she is doing FACT!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

located alright, but would not walk the streets at night, the amenities were average.
The big downfall of thi hotel is that the room I stayed in was not clean and there were cobwebs still on the ceiling and walls and the room overall was dirty with crumbs on the chair, the bathroom was dated with mold in the shower cubicle. The bathroom was carpeted and was dirty enough said just dont go!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitburnHouse H, Manager at Whitburn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Yes you did check out, Only because you booked nine rooms for one night the receptionist from your company made the booking of the nine rooms, When the booking was made we told her 3 rooms would be standerd rooms shared toliet and shower floor below we did a deal with the woman who made the booking, all the rooms £35 each the lady at your end agreed and said some of you wouldnt mind sharing the bath room, Anyway you all turned up very smart, Went to your rooms came down and said bed & breakfast was not for you! Because some rooms had shared bathrooms and we didnt have a bar, So yes you checked out! It was obvious the lady who booked the rooms Did not consult the people who would be staying, The next morning the woman who booked the rooms rang us up and said ''we want our money back'' I Said no because you cannot turn up at 7pm and decied you are not staying, Because of lack of communcation on your side, So this is why you was all made to write a nasty review, Or face being sacked from your jobs, So next time you want to book a bed&breakfast get a new receptionist who knows what she is doing FACT!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I came to Preston on business but the shabby exterior of the hotel was immediately off-putting. The interior was no better. My room had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and the gritty laminated flooring was covered in fluff. The upholstry and furniture were also sprinkled with dust and the room was generally untidy. The dated decor was poor but the final straw was the grotty ensuite, broken tiles and mildewed. I decided not to stay. The photographs on the website and the reviews were very misleading and the room was not worth the rates as advertised. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitburnHouse H, Manager at Whitburn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Yes you did check out, Only because you booked nine rooms for one night the receptionist from your company made the booking of the nine rooms, When the booking was made we told her 3 rooms would be standerd rooms shared toliet and shower floor below we did a deal with the woman who made the booking, all the rooms £35 each the lady at your end agreed and said some of you wouldnt mind sharing the bath room, Anyway you all turned up very smart, Went to your rooms came down and said bed & breakfast was not for you! Because some rooms had shared bathrooms and we didnt have a bar, So yes you checked out! It was obvious the lady who booked the rooms Did not consult the people who would be staying, The next morning the woman who booked the rooms rang us up and said ''we want our money back'' I Said no because you cannot turn up at 7pm and decied you are not staying, Because of lack of communcation on your side, So this is why you was all made to write a nasty review, Or face being sacked from your jobs, So next time you want to book a bed&breakfast get a new receptionist who knows what she is doing FACT!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

we had the misfortune to be booked into this hotel, after 8 of us inspected the rooms we checked straight back out due to the general condition of the hotel which was very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitburnHouse H, Manager at Whitburn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Yes you did check out, Only because you booked nine rooms for one night the receptionist from your company made the booking of the nine rooms, When the booking was made we told her 3 rooms would be standerd rooms shared toliet and shower floor below we did a deal with the woman who made the booking, all the rooms £35 each the lady at your end agreed and said some of you wouldnt mind sharing the bath room, Anyway you all turned up very smart, Went to your rooms came down and said bed & breakfast was not for you! Because some rooms had shared bathrooms and we didnt have a bar, So yes you checked out! It was obvious the lady who booked the rooms Did not consult the people who would be staying, The next morning the woman who booked the rooms rang us up and said ''we want our money back'' I Said no because you cannot turn up at 7pm and decied you are not staying, Because of lack of communcation on your side, So this is why you was all made to write a nasty review, Or face being sacked from your jobs, So next time you want to book a bed&breakfast get a new receptionist who knows what she is doing FACT!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Arrived with seven colleagues and all agreed that the standards were not good - dusty staircase, stained walls, and generally shoddy entrance. Room standard only adequate when you consider the charge compared say to a nearby Ibis (almost the same) Response from management surly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank colinmacleod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitburnHouse H, Manager at Whitburn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Yes you did check out, Only because you booked nine rooms for one night the receptionist from your company made the booking of the nine rooms, When the booking was made we told her 3 rooms would be standerd rooms shared toliet and shower floor below we did a deal with the woman who made the booking, all the rooms £35 each the lady at your end agreed and said some of you wouldnt mind sharing the bath room, Anyway you all turned up very smart, Went to your rooms came down and said bed & breakfast was not for you! Because some rooms had shared bathrooms and we didnt have a bar, So yes you checked out! It was obvious the lady who booked the rooms Did not consult the people who would be staying, The next morning the woman who booked the rooms rang us up and said ''we want our money back'' I Said no because you cannot turn up at 7pm and decied you are not staying, Because of lack of communcation on your side, So this is why you was all made to write a nasty review, Or face being sacked from your jobs, So next time you want to book a bed&breakfast get a new receptionist who knows what she is doing FACT!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The cleanliness and standard of this hotel was so poor that as soon as we checked in we checked straight out. The internet is misleading as to the standard of this hotel , as is the price. We were told it was £70 for a double room and we wouldnt have paid £25! (this is advertised at the hotel).

We checked staright out as we could not stay in a hotel with this level of hygiene. If you like stains on the carpets, in the hallways etc then maybe this is for you!!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank ddw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#11 of 15 in Preston
139 reviews
4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
752 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitburn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitburn House Hotel

Address: 111 Garstang Road | Fulwood, Preston PR2 3EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: £40 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitburn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and run business, dedicated to excellent customer service. A stunning Victorian building, with modern facilities. Something for everyone, a variety of unique rooms to suit any need. For Business... Only 1 mile away from Royal Preston Hospital and the University of Central Lancashire. Good access to BAE Systems sites. Close to the city centre for public sector workers. Contractors and tradesmen welcome, on-site van parking at no extra cost. Long term workers eligible for special rate discounts and complimentary services. For Leisure... Excellent transport links - the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales, Wales. Convenient stop-over to the South. Train links to Blackpool for Pleasure Beach and other attractions. Close to major Preston shopping centres, pubs and restaurants. Preston North End football stadium is just across Moor Park, host to many festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whitburn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitburn House Hotel Preston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing