We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem.”
Review of Garden Cottage

Garden Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leamington Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Cottage
Ranked #4 of 11 Leamington Spa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Christine is a lovely lady, friendly and helpful. The cottage is delightful. Not your standard guest house full of character with a wonderful conservatory. Great location. Highly recommended. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinnymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lovely place to stay in Royal Leamington Spa.
The owner is very helpful.
Easy to get into town by bus (bus stop just outside) and it isn't even far to walk.
Rooms are clean and tidy, the house is characterful.
The garden is beautiful and the conservatory was a lovely place for a very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Double room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konarob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having landed from an 11 hour flight and driven to Leamington Spa, it was wonderful to be welcomed into a warm friendly home. Christine, who owns and runs Garden Cottage, is an excellent hostess and a great cook! Breakfast is second to none with everything you could possibly want. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Two lovely rooms, quiet and homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Highly recommended. Christine is a delightful hostess. She welcomed us with tea and biscuits, then left us to relax in the late afternoon sun in our private conservatory. Comfortable beds, a huge collection of books and magazines and a delicious choice of breakfasts served in the conservatory, made this a really lovely night away from home for us. If you are looking for something with a personal touch, you won't find better service or better value than this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was really nice to visit Garden Cottage once again and it was as special as I'd remembered.

Chrstine, the owner, is an exceptional hostess and seems to innately understand what her guests need. Her breakfasts are wonderful, freshly cooked and beautifully prepared and presented.

The flowers were coming into bloom in the garden providing a lovely backdrop to breakfast in the conservatory.

For anyone visiting the Leamington Spa area, I would highly recommend this B & B. It's also ideally located for Warwick university.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranardDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

i stayed with christine for 2 nights recently in a welll set up, privately situated double en suite on the ground floor. the bathroom had everything i needed, and breakfast was cooked just for me so was fresh and hot. personal dishes of yoghurt and fresh fruits and good bread toasted. all very yummy. good advice on places to eat in leamington too. a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

If you accept that you are staying in someone else's home as opposed to some faceless hotel, then you simply cannot beat Garden Cottage. Get over the fact that the wardrobe and (the bottom) drawers are full of Christine's things, and then everything else is a bonus, including the price, and especially the eclectic style, the huge amount of space - and the food. Breakfast was divine with the highlight possibly being rhubarb stewed with strawberries - you cannot image how good it is - but it ran a close second to the wonderfully creamy scrambled eggs, served with copious amounts of either smoked salmon or parma ham.
We chose to have the twin room because in addition to the large bedroom, one has sole use of a conservatory (where breakfast is served), which in turn gives on to the pretty garden and small courtyard (chairs provided). It is very quiet, because although Kenilworth Road is a main road, Garden Cottage is set well back behind the big house that fronts Kenilworth Road and this, and the trees, screen out all sight and sound of the traffic.
The bathroom is separate from the bedroom, but completely private as a thick curtain separates your domain from the hall. On the other side of the hall is the double room with modern en suite, and Christine lives upstairs. Our bathroom was not modern, but was amply provided with all the necessaries and had a bath with shower screen and shower over.
The ambiance is in no way modern, and there is more than a whiff of a colonial past, which only serves to increase the charm and character. If minimalism is your thing, then Garden Cottage is not for you, but if you thrive on character in your surroundings, and delight in having amazing books, lithographs and artefacts about you, then it might be your idea of heaven. Other pluses include free wifi, off road parking, tea (a wide range) and coffee making in the room with fresh milk, the provision of knives, forks, plates etc for a picnic supper and a friendly and helpful hostess.
Oh, and in case you were wondering, we hung our clothes on the large hatstand as in photo one, which was supplied with hangers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1.1 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
769 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tachbrook Mallory House
Tachbrook Mallory House
#2 of 11 in Leamington Spa
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage

Address: Garden Cottage 52 Kenilworth Road, Leamington Spa CV32 6JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leamington Spa
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Garden Cottage Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing