We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best food”

The Stag at Offchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Stag at Offchurch philosophy is to provide country food and value for money. Our outstanding location being a 16th century thatched pub in the centre of the picturesque and historic village of Offchurch is just 3 ½ miles from Leamington Spa town centre. We use fresh seasonal produce, locally sourced wherever possible, to produce first class wholesome food on the premises by our fully trained chefs.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the stag on Sunday evening, have been before a few times and food had always been really good but this time the food we had was very bland and lacking we were also sitting right by the air con unit so had a cold breeze all the time we were eating.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    203
    67
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wendover
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice room, delightful food thoughtfully presented and two extremely charming young ladies running things highly efficiently. No boxes left to tick! More expensive than your average gastropub, but that's understandable since this is a few notches above your average gastropub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charming Village Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Stag at Offchurch is set in a charming country cottage. We had booked for an early dinner at 730pm and we were amazed that the car park was already full. Fortunately there is an overflow car park! The lounge and bar areas were delightful. We were led through to the dining area at the rear which was less attractive but well presented - a little boxy. Service and food were of high quality. The meal was accompanied with a lovely bottle of Cabernet Shiraz.
Whilst the service was polite and efficient, I found the staff to be a little brisk - barely waiting for our response on occasion. I was also a little disturbed by the wish of the staff to clear the table at the first opportunity. Also it became almost impossible to talk to our fellow diners due to the very high noise level from other customers - to be fair it was a Friday night and there was a birthday meal taking place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Took my parents to The Stag to celebrate mum's 92nd birthday. The staff were very accommodating as she has difficulty walking but we made it to the table with no trouble. An ambient setting, understated decor, superb menu choices and the food was excellent. Every plate was clean when we had finished. We will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“More than a Gastropub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great find. The whole family went for a special lunch for my Birthday. Very impressed with choice of food, service, and quality. First class. Very close to Fine Dining in a pub setting. We were in the elegantly appointed Conservatory overlooking pretty gardens, unfortunately it was raining all the time so one could not venture out but a pair of Mallards came up to the window to observe us much to the amusement of the children.

Wonderful choice of food, imaginatively presented. When my daughter whispered to staff that it was my Family Birthday Lunch my Dessert - a freshly made Pineapple Tarte Tatin with Pineapple crispy slice topping a splendid Gingerbread ice Cream - it arrived with a tiny round cake topped with cherries and sporting a lovely silver candle lit for the purpose. Served on a large plate with Happy Birthday written in Caramel. What a lovely surprise. Little ones insisted that it be re-lit so they could help me blow them out!

A very impressive pub that I can't wait to visit again when I am in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stag at Offchurch also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Stag at Offchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing