We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and lazy Sunday afternoon”

The Stag at Offchurch
Ranked #10 of 258 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Stag at Offchurch philosophy is to provide country food and value for money. Our outstanding location being a 16th century thatched pub in the centre of the picturesque and historic village of Offchurch is just 3 ½ miles from Leamington Spa town centre. We use fresh seasonal produce, locally sourced wherever possible, to produce first class wholesome food on the premises by our fully trained chefs.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant and lazy Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The Stag offered a good menu, and we were able to sit outside on comfortable sofas to have drinks whilst we waited for our table. The parasols kept us out of the direct sun and there was a happy atmosphere in the garden. The macaroni cheese and smoked haddock starter was delicious but a little too heavy for a starter, and I'm glad that I had two starters rather than a starter and main course. Everyone in our party was pleased with their food, and we'll return again for a lazy Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenhouse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    205
    68
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A treat above all treats”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been to The Stag many times over the years for drinks at the weekend mostly and enjoy the comfortable garden area. Last night I treated my friend to a birthday dinner. Everything from start to finish was beautiful. We were greeted with smiles and humor from the bar staff, enjoyed a drink at the bar before being shown to our seat. Beautiful airy surroundings & comfortable chairs, for us older bums. While we waited for our starters we were given a complimentary dish of olives, balsamic oil & breads which was a nice touch. We had starters of chicken parfait & the scallops (which melted in your mouth) main courses of pork medallions & duck, both dishes beautifully presented and tasted absolutely wonderful. We finished with a cheese board with some very tasty marmalades and chutneys served with crackers & breads..... yes far too much for one meal but it was her birthday!! Staff were very attentive and friendly. I personally do not like menu's that read like a book. This menu catered for all tastes I believe & there was a special's menu also. It was one of the best meals I have had in a long time and look forward to eating here again. If you are looking for something a little bit special, The Stag is it. Altogether an extremely lovely experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwellonsuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked a table for a Saturday evening meal and we were very pleased with the quality and service. The menu choice was good and the quality of the meats were excellent. Atmosphere friendly with a mix of customers; walkers, couples, friends and families. The garden was lovely for pre-dinner drinks. Clean and comfortable pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OreganoParsleyBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice drink in the sunshine”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After a pleasant walk around the Offchurch country side on a Sunday afternoon we decided to pop in for a quick drink on our way home. From the kerbside it looked like it had lots of promise, and we weren't disappointed once we got inside.

A friendly barman greeted us on our arrival and chatted with us as he poured our drinks, during which time we also surveyed the impressive and stylish interior. After paying we made our way out to the ample and well maintained outside area where we pitched up on a picnic bench and enjoyed a nice pint of Hooky in the sun.

From our time in the garden it seems that The Stag is very much geared to food, rather than just drinking, and while we didn't eat this time the quality of food coming out of the kitchen looked very good, and we'll certainly be coming back at some point to sample some of the offerings.

Lovely stuff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Saturday evening”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent a few hours of raucous fun with some friends in the garden of The Stag last evening. Attentive but not intrusive service from the staff. Good choice of food, which arrived promptly, although it was still too hot to eat much so we just ordered starters with a few extra side dishes. Reasonably priced too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1953Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stag at Offchurch also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Stag at Offchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing