We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to eat in leamington”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarendon

The Clarendon
Ranked #51 of 256 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Clarendon is many things to many people. An income, a vocation, a noose; a front room to a motley crue of divorced career drinkers, and a place to drink, eat and enjoy the company of friends and strangers to Leamington's and Warwickshire county's more discerning good eggs.Independently owned since 2008, The Clarendon has catered to folk seeking great food, drink, a great soundtrack and a warm welcoming atmosphere for, well since 2008...and we have enjoyed the ride...hop on!
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“best place to eat in leamington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited here as a family with 2 young children & the staff were very friendly & said we could sit anywhere.

A lovely range of beers & wines & the food is out of this world!

I had the Mexican burger which was a good quality beef burger, chili beef with chunks of tender steak, sour cream, guacamole, tortilla chips ( handmade) & a onion ring. it was so good, it was a lot of food but it was all such good quality I easily demolished it. My husband had the pulled pork burger which was again amazing & my 2 children had a huge German sausage hot dog. I was such good value for money & burgers are just £5 on a Monday!!

We will be returning when we are next in Leamington!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    43
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Popped in on Sunday as we had liked the look of the Clarendon when passing previously and we instantly loved it! We found the staff to be very welcoming, helpful and pleasant We opted for a burger each: The Claz, and the Pulled Pork, both of which were excellent! The pork really was mouthwatering on top of an excellent burger that was juicy and beautifully cooked. The accompanying onion rings were lovely too, very crunchy in what I thought tasted half way between a tempura and pakora style batter. My better half enjoyed hers too, again with the burger being both beautifully cooked, juicy, and full of flavour. For the quality of the food, I think it was a fair price to pay and will happily be returning!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossenberg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday roast in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend visited again for the Sunday toast sharing platter. At £20 for the platter it's an absolute bargain. They do not scrimp on quality or quantity and there is always more than enough for us to eat. I've also had the pleasure of trying the Burrito bowl and the Claz burger, again both excellent. Would recommend to anyone! Keep up the roast sharing platter as it really is brilliant!!

Helpful?
Thank D4RKKN1GHT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Since moving to Leamington Spa, the Clarendon has really become our go-to pub, whether for a Sunday afternoon drink over the paper, a night out with friends or dinner out when we can't be bothered to cook.

- The staff are great.

- The well-priced, tasty food has never, ever disappointed in the 2.5 years we have been visiting (on about a weekly basis!)

- Good selection of beers and other drinks including "special" G&T and rum cocktail lists.

This truly is a cracking boozer - why would you go anywhere else?!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good pub, great burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

One of the few places I've found that'll cook a burger pink in the middle if you ask nicely, and they do them well. Ask for the fantastic hand cut chips on the side and you're in for the best burger based meal I've had in the UK. Their bbq stuff is very good too, particularly the ribs.

Food prices are very fair, drinks are a little dear, but it's what you expect in a good pub in Leamington.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clarendon also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing