We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant apart, I would stay away”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The room was quite small and dark (window facing a wall!) and freezing cold on arrival. The radiator in the bathroom wasn't working and we had to ask 3 times before someone finally came up the following day and had a look at it. The room was incredibly dusty behind the door and the bed, a sign that it hadn't been hoovered properly in ages and the sheets had blue stains on them. When it rained, water came down through the ceiling (which explained the already existing stains on the lining of the curtains), pooling on the window sill. After we left my partner realised that he had forgotten something behind. We had to make several phone calls to trace the item and noone from the hotel had the courtesy to call us back. My impression was that although members of staff were fairly professional they weren't fully involved and committed to running a place which otherwise has lots of potential like for example a really nice restaurant with good service and surprisingly very good food quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Falstaff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

The cold water tap on the bathroom sink would not work, the room was tired and the breakfast was dreadful.

At £72 it was not good value for money. The reception area was well appointed but it was downhill from there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricjackson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

£80 for a standard double. I feel I should have been paid £80 to stay there.

Words are wasted - just look at my photos.

A filthy, aged room with a disgusting bathroom.

The breakfast was equally tragic. Ran out of food half way through, and you could have built walls with the eggs.

Best Western? Best avoided. At all costs.

I selected the hotel for its convenient location for an event. That's the last time I do that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DPLW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Came here for a friends party and it was brilliant. Drinks were really well priced, great entertainment and good eats.

Everyone had a really good time and the location is excellent with big carparks round the front & back.

Staff were really friendly, loos were clean; what more do you want?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed you comments to the kitchen, house keeping and restaurant teams who would like to convey their thanks also. We are fortunate to have a very good reputation for holding events at the hotel, so it was very satisfying for the team to hear that you had an enjoyable evening. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My Partner & I stayed for one evening at the Falstaff for an event which was superb, & found the staff to be friendly & helpful, Breaky was lovely & tasty, its a small Hotel which was imaculate & a great location for the lovely spa town with parking which really helps, our room was modern & to a good standard, we would definately reccomend this Leamington Spa Hotel & will return.

Thanks for a lovely stay

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the front of the Hotel which was perfect & very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

On behalf of the team here at the Falstaff Hotel I would like to thank you for your recent review. Your comments have been circulated around the departments highlighted and are much appreciated. Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I've been staying off and on at this hotel for 4 months now. The staff are always friendly and go out of their way to help. The rooms are of mixed quality but overall the hotel is much improved with a lot of investment gone in to refurbishment. The food quality is great and I frequently eat in.
The WiFi is free, although a bit patchy throughout the hotel. I've found other reviews a bit dsingenuous... Its a 10 minute walk to the Town centre, and the same to the station (although you do ave to take the short cut through the park..).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P3scatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed your comments on to my colleagues here at the hotel who would like to convey their thanks also. Following a recent upgrade to the WiFi system the hotel does benefit from a much improved signal strength and coverage. Further improvements to the bar, restaurant and introduction of the new A la carte menu are also being well received. Our continued improvements to the bedrooms are ongoing, thank you for your acknowledgment. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Due to a cancelled flight, I was booked into this hotel by the airline company. I have stayed on the Parade in Leamington on a couple of occasions and, for the same price, this hotel was certainly superior, if a little bit far from the town centre. The room was very comfortable, clean and well-equipped, as was the bathroom. While I could close the window over, I could not shut it entirely. Also, the heating did not work and it was snowing outside. However, when I complained about the heating, the staff brought a little blow-heater immediately and the room warmed up nicely. I had a nice drink in the bar with my kids and the evening meal was delicious. While the hotel itself is very presentable, the real gem here is the staff. All those I met were extremely helpful, friendly and polite. It is located a good ten-minute walk from the Parade which is not really a problem if the weather is reasonable. However, when leaving for the station, it would be best to take a taxi. Would I return? Yes, definitely.

Room Tip: I was in room 31 and happy with it. However, there was a conference on at the time and one of the p...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmajo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I have circulated your comments around the team here at the hotel and ee look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area in the future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £62 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing