We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to be a detective to find the staff”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You need to be a detective to find the staff”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Working down here for 3 months tried this hotel the first week , will not be coming back.
We booked bed and breakfast my colleague wanted a small omelette for his breakfast but was told they can't do that so he didn't have any cooked breakfast, if they have a problem with an omelette then I don't think we'll try the evening meal here!!!!!
Dirty shower room, coffee stains on the floor from previous guest still there after two days, carpet in bedroom needs a hover !!!
If you want a drink in the bar, it's time to play hide and seek with the bar staff .
The decoration needs some tlc

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chescombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for forwarding your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with elements of your stay and that these could not be dealt with and rectified whilst you were here. Although not on the menu supplied at breakfast, omelettes can be produced by the breakfast chef duty. I have this morning reiterated to the team that certain items not on the actual menu are readily available and should be made available when requested. I do hope that you consider staying at the hotel again so that we can provide a guest experience that exceeds your expectations. My apologies once again that we did not achieve this on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    130
    124
    130
    105
See reviews for
61
211
29
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

spent the weekend here and was glad to get home.
For some reason this hotel allows dogs in the rooms.Consequently we were woken by dogs (plural) yapping in the early hours. We went for a rest but didn't get one.
The breakfast was a disgrace as there was no bread left and no staff to ask. The rest of the food was bing kept warm in contaoners as usual but there were no utensils to get it out.Guests were using their fingers.
We needed to get away for 8:30 on the Sunday so went down for breakfast at 8:00.There was NO food available whatsoever available and it didn't appear till8:15.
All in all, I would describe the place as a total shambles in need of a decent manager.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel needs some attention. Bedroom had missing/ poorly fitting lampshades and poor plastering repair to bathroom left unpainted making the place look shabby.
Our room was surrounded with inconsiderate dog owners allowing dogs to bark and howl from 5.30 am on a Sunday morning and considerable noise of dogs running in the corridor, owners whistling and calling dogs at back of hotel. The place smelt like kennels the following morning.
I have a dog and would never allow my pet to disturb other guests like this.
Fire doors were left open to allow smokers to exit which meant smoke came in through our window and corridor.
We phoned hotel directly for best offer to be told they couldn't beat online deal but once there reception staff told us we could have got a better deal if we had booked direct with them!
On a positive note our teenage daughters had a lovely, large, quiet family room and the breakfast was good. They really enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: This hotel allows dogs so you may want to check you are not next to one to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for completing your guest review. I am sorry that you were disturbed during your stay and that this had an impact on your overall experience. Thank you for the comments regarding your daughters room and the breakfast, enjoyed by you all. I do hope that you decide to use the hotel again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights. Good parking facilities, comfy bed, very clean. The staff and service was excellent. Not suitable for disabled people due to steps and no lift, but that wasn't a problem for us. Could do with updating in parts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silveravon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. Your kind comments are appreciated and will be circulated around the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when in the area in the future. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We only stayed for one night and our room was a reasonable size. It was clean but the hotel in general could do with an update. We had little interaction with staff.we were in the bar an hour with no barman. However the breakfaast was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for completing your guest review. Your feedback will be circulated around the team at the hotel. The comment regarding the bar service experienced has been noted and will be acted upon. Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel must have been grand once but the quality is clearly slipping. There was no soap, shampoo or body wash in our room and the night staff could not provide it. The next day when we returned, our room had not been cleaned/serviced. We did leave a notice outside our room requesting for the room to be cleaned and the notice was still there on our return.

The reception staff could not offer any help except offer new/washed towels as the old towels were wet and lying in the bath where we left them. He offered to replace tea and biscuits but we declined (it was 10pm and we were leaving at 7am next morning). Fortunately we carried our own soap, shampoo and conditioner with us. The reception staff could not offer any cleaning at that time of the night (understandably) and promised to complain to the manager. The cleaners (presumably) had also left a black bin bag and some sheets in front of another room in the corridor.

We did not eat there and can not therefore comment on the quality of food. The bathroom door was chipped and the wall had botched paint areas as if no one cared about the quality and maintenance of the hotel.

On a positive note, there was a fan in the room (it was 29 degree C on both days) and the room size was decent. There was plenty of parking both at the front and at the back, and the hotel is not far from the town centre (if you are driving).

We stayed there as it was close to our daughter's house and we could attend her graduation ceremony. However we are sorry to say that it is unlikely we will ever return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tachyphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stay here with a small group (6 to 20) of mostly retired folk once or twice a year usually for two or three nights. It is reasonably priced, but deteriorating rapidly. The hotel can be confusing to find with front and back entrances and difficult to navigate inside, as it was quirkily cobbled together from separate terrace houses. It seems the owners are trying to extract as much revenue as they can while deferring maintenance. The location is good and the food generally excellent; the staff tries hard but are given little to work with.
All rooms are a bit different, and my single room this time was just dreadful. It was never made up. The towels were just placed over the radiator as there was neither towel rack nor warmer. No soap shelf in the stall shower and only a small bottle of what I guess was shower gel. Fortunately I bring my own!
Incredibly short-staffed for a supposedly *** establishment. Receptionist has to double as barmaid. While we were there the Murphys ran dry, leaving a choice of 2 lagers, cider and John Smith ale. Not even much in the way of bottled beverages.
Our group keeps saying we'll go elsewhere but we never do. Guess we never learn.

Room Tip: There really aren't any good ones, just some less bad. The ones close to reception are acceptabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. On going improvements are currently being made to the bedroom facilities at the hotel. The complimentary WiFi and Digital TV reception have already been upgraded. Restructuring and training within the Food & Beverage department has also been undertaken and improvements are already evident. I do hope that you consider a return visit so you can see for yourself that improvements are being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Property: Falstaff Hotel
Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing