We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay No More”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night for a business trip. The hotel its self looked a bit tired. cracked paving stones on the way in, the room was small but had everything I needed. The staff i spoke to very helpful letting me borrow an staff umbrella as the weather was foul at best.

For breakfast not to start till 8 am on a Saturday i found a bit odd, especially as i had to leave at 7.45, however i managed to have some cereal thanks to the staff.

Overall for the one night the hotel did ok, however the other members of my group had much bigger issues such as not being able to check in for 30 mins as there was no staff around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is clean and the staff were helpful but the whole place needs a refurbishment. It is well past it best. Breakfast was OK but its the first place I have ever seen preprepared poached eggs, they didn't look good.


One tip is to park round the back - much better than parking on the front.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmilerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights not the usual best western standard. The room was ok for the short time we were there but needs some attention . The window was cracked window ledge rotting dirty net curtains . Reception staff could smile and give a friendly greeting as they are the first contact .
Would we stay again No.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently got married and we had our wedding reception here, the staff were fab, the food was excellent, rooms were clean and comfy beds!!! We had the bridal suite for free and got discounted rates for our guests who were staying!2 people stood out for myself and my new husband, Matt & Aaron!! Everyone was friendly and went out of the way to help all our guests. We had people from Australia, Wales, London & France come and were treated excellently. They ended up looking after over 200 people!! They let us put up a bouncy castle and catered for all the children that were there!! Overall they were brilliant!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Treaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Working down here for 3 months tried this hotel the first week , will not be coming back.
We booked bed and breakfast my colleague wanted a small omelette for his breakfast but was told they can't do that so he didn't have any cooked breakfast, if they have a problem with an omelette then I don't think we'll try the evening meal here!!!!!
Dirty shower room, coffee stains on the floor from previous guest still there after two days, carpet in bedroom needs a hover !!!
If you want a drink in the bar, it's time to play hide and seek with the bar staff .
The decoration needs some tlc

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chescombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for forwarding your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with elements of your stay and that these could not be dealt with and rectified whilst you were here. Although not on the menu supplied at breakfast, omelettes can be produced by the breakfast chef duty. I have this morning reiterated to the team that certain items not on the actual menu are readily available and should be made available when requested. I do hope that you consider staying at the hotel again so that we can provide a guest experience that exceeds your expectations. My apologies once again that we did not achieve this on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

spent the weekend here and was glad to get home.
For some reason this hotel allows dogs in the rooms.Consequently we were woken by dogs (plural) yapping in the early hours. We went for a rest but didn't get one.
The breakfast was a disgrace as there was no bread left and no staff to ask. The rest of the food was bing kept warm in contaoners as usual but there were no utensils to get it out.Guests were using their fingers.
We needed to get away for 8:30 on the Sunday so went down for breakfast at 8:00.There was NO food available whatsoever available and it didn't appear till8:15.
All in all, I would describe the place as a total shambles in need of a decent manager.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel needs some attention. Bedroom had missing/ poorly fitting lampshades and poor plastering repair to bathroom left unpainted making the place look shabby.
Our room was surrounded with inconsiderate dog owners allowing dogs to bark and howl from 5.30 am on a Sunday morning and considerable noise of dogs running in the corridor, owners whistling and calling dogs at back of hotel. The place smelt like kennels the following morning.
I have a dog and would never allow my pet to disturb other guests like this.
Fire doors were left open to allow smokers to exit which meant smoke came in through our window and corridor.
We phoned hotel directly for best offer to be told they couldn't beat online deal but once there reception staff told us we could have got a better deal if we had booked direct with them!
On a positive note our teenage daughters had a lovely, large, quiet family room and the breakfast was good. They really enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: This hotel allows dogs so you may want to check you are not next to one to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for completing your guest review. I am sorry that you were disturbed during your stay and that this had an impact on your overall experience. Thank you for the comments regarding your daughters room and the breakfast, enjoyed by you all. I do hope that you decide to use the hotel again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
477 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £62 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing